Lola 1/29 PM

Elohelay

Member Since 2025
Lola's +4 was 177.

I'm going to give her ears a rest until PMPS, which will be later than usual today because she was dosed 2 hours late this morning. If she'll be okay, I'll do the PMPS and shot at 11.5 to try and walk her dose back to close to normal by Monday.

Edit: Link to previous thread.
 
Lola's +4 was 177.

I'm going to give her ears a rest until PMPS, which will be later than usual today because she was dosed 2 hours late this morning. If she'll be okay, I'll do the PMPS and shot at 11.5 to try and walk her dose back to close to normal by Monday.

Edit: Link to previous thread.
Okay. That sounds good. If she has gone really high by PMPS time you can probably shoot a little earlier than 30 minutes. But you can wait until tomorrow to see about shaving off any extra time.
 
Lola’s AMPS was 192. After yesterday, I feel good shooting this. I’ll give her 1 can of FF now, .5 at +2 and a BG check at +3. 🤞
 
Yikes! We would just be guessing because there were no tests last night to give us a clue as to whether she dropped low last night. If she stays fairly high today then it probably is a bounce.
 
Yikes! We would just be guessing because there were no tests last night to give us a clue as to whether she dropped low last night. If she stays fairly high today then it probably is a bounce.
I know, I’m kicking myself for not getting a +2 or a +3, but I fell asleep early ☹️
 
I’m not liking today’s numbers. ☹️

+8 is 328. She was fighting me a little bit, so maybe that raised her stress levels? I hope her PMPS isn’t red.
 
Not great numbers today.

She ate her way into the dog's bag of kibble last night. I don't know if she got to enjoy any, but I do know she tried really hard and was very upset when I moved her.

I'm also wondering if her vial of insulin is contaminated. I didn't realize you weren't supposed to push excess insulin back in to the vial, and I did do that two or three times early on before I read not to do that.

She is ravenous today and keeps bugging me for food. I'm trying not to give in, but it's very difficult!

Good news is that she weighed in at a flat 8 lbs today! She's looking better every day!
 
I'm also wondering if her vial of insulin is contaminated. I didn't realize you weren't supposed to push excess insulin back in to the vial, and I did do that two or three times early on before I read not to do that.
How is everything going? When she had a 70 the other day she earned a reduction down to .25 units as her regular dose. She eats some dry so she needs to follow the SLGS dosing method.

This is from the ProZinc dosing methods sticky:
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
She is ravenous today and keeps bugging me for food. I'm trying not to give in, but it's very difficult!
She should be eating at regular intervals. She should get a meal before each shot of course, but also the +2 and +4 snacks. If she’s starving, keep it the lowest carb food that you have. Don’t feed within the two hours prior to the AMPS and PMPS tests so those numbers are not food influenced. When is she getting most hungry? What is her feeding schedule? When has she been getting the snacks. Do you need her to gain or lose weight or neither?
 
How is everything going? When she had a 70 the other day she earned a reduction down to .25 units as her regular dose. She eats some dry so she needs to follow the SLGS dosing method.
I think it's going well! She's happy and active and filling out! I stopped giving her kibble a few weeks ago. I think that kibble and FF Beef were spiking her BG.

She should be eating at regular intervals. She should get a meal before each shot of course, but also the +2 and +4 snacks. If she’s starving, keep it the lowest carb food that you have. Don’t feed within the two hours prior to the AMPS and PMPS tests so those numbers are not food influenced. When is she getting most hungry? What is her feeding schedule? When has she been getting the snacks. Do you need her to gain or lose weight or neither?
I need her to gain weight.

She eats with AMPS, at +2, at +4, and +9 (with a +6 if she's awake and hungry), then PMPS, +2 and sometimes +4.
AMPS and PMPS are 1 can, all others are .25 or .5 can. She might be eating 4 cans a day or more?
 
I think it's going well! She's happy and active and filling out! I stopped giving her kibble a few weeks ago. I think that kibble and FF Beef were spiking her BG.


I need her to gain weight.

She eats with AMPS, at +2, at +4, and +9 (with a +6 if she's awake and hungry), then PMPS, +2 and sometimes +4.
AMPS and PMPS are 1 can, all others are .25 or .5 can. She might be eating 4 cans a day or more?
That sounds good. But is she still begging you for more food a lot. It sounded like she has been.
 
She’s been having better numbers these last few days. Any idea what caused her to go into the red by the evening PMPS for the nights of Feb 4-6? There’s minimal daytime tests on those days so it’s impossible to know what was happening from looking at the spreadsheet.

If she’s in the low 100s in the +3 range (as she has been a couple of times recently) you should test her again closer to nadir to make sure she isn’t dropping below a reduction point.
 
That sounds good. But is she still begging you for more food a lot. It sounded like she has been.
yes. She demands food at those times. I want to feed her more at AMPS/PMPS, maybe 1.5 cans? But in the past she’s been too excited over food, eaten too much at once and thrown up. I don’t want that to happen frequently.
 
A housekeeping matter:
You need to pick a dosing method— SLGS or MPM. Have you read the dosing method sticky notes? Since she is not eating dry food anymore, you can follow the Modified ProZinc Method now if you wish to. Reductions would be taken if the drops below 50. With SLGS, reductions are taken if she drops below 90 (and she would have already earned a reduction with that 70 she had recently.)
 
yes. She demands food at those times. I want to feed her more at AMPS/PMPS, maybe 1.5 cans? But in the past she’s been too excited over food, eaten too much at once and thrown up. I don’t want that to happen frequently.
oh, I understand that. I have cats that do that as well!
 
If you want to follow MPM, the only other requirement for safety, in addition to an all low carb wet food diet, is to get at least one mid cycle test for both the a.m. and p.m. cycles. In the evening it could even be the +2 or +3 before bed test.
 
If you want to follow MPM, the only other requirement for safety, in addition to an all low carb wet food diet, is to get at least one mid cycle test for both the a.m. and p.m. cycles. In the evening it could even be the +2 or +3 before bed test.
Okay. I will take the time to reread the sticky tonight and decide on my dosing method.

Thank you! 💖
 
Lola’s AMPS was 129. I stalled for 30 mins and now she’s at 128. I’m going to wait another 30 and see if she starts going up before I give a .25 dose.

Edit: her +1 was 162 so I stalled a little more and gave her .5 at +1.5 with a BG of 201.
 
Last edited:
Okay. No worries.

Just for future reference, I would not have stalled that long. No longer than 30 minutes. She was extremely stable in her BG which you verified with the 30 minute stall and test —so it was a good opportunity to give the insulin and see some better BG numbers. As long as you are with her and can monitor the cycle, you are in control and can keep her safe. Remember that the ProZinc will take about two hours to onset so she had two more hours where for her BG to rise (as it did in the 1.5 hours while you stalled) before it goes back down.
 
Okay. No worries.

Just for future reference, I would not have stalled that long. No longer than 30 minutes. She was extremely stable in her BG which you verified with the 30 minute stall and test —so it was a good opportunity to give the insulin and see some better BG numbers. As long as you are with her and can monitor the cycle, you are in control and can keep her safe. Remember that the ProZinc will take about two hours to onset so she had two more hours where for her BG to rise (as it did in the 1.5 hours while you stalled) before it goes back down.
Okay that makes sense. Is that why her +2 from shot time went up (341) after eating?
I had to run errands today and could not stay with her all morning. I’ll check her +5 or +6 when I get home.

This may be a dumb question, but when I put the cgm (libre) on her, I won’t have to do ear testing at all unless the numbers seem way off, right?

She weighed in at 8.2 lbs yesterday, so I think in the next week or two she’ll have gained enough that she has some fatty areas again.
 
I’m wondering if today was a fur shot. I feel like the insulin didn’t do much for her.
 
This may be a dumb question, but when I put the cgm (libre) on her, I won’t have to do ear testing at all unless the numbers seem way off, right?
If you are using a Libre sensor then you will need to do less testing. Most of the time you will need to test if she is below 100. Also, we will probably want to make dosing decisions on the meter and not the Libre (especially reductions because the Libre will read too low and try to make us think she needs a reduction when she may not and then she potentially won’t be getting enough insulin.)
 
Hard to say. Did you smell insulin on her? Or see any moisture where you inject?
It has a smell? I didn't see anything on her skin afterwards, so I don't think I stuck the needle through her skin, or that it seeped out. it's kind of shimmery, so it's easy to see on her skin.
What was her PMPS tonight?
Just got all of that taken care of! 269. so she was pretty consistent in the 200s...or I missed any dips into the 100s. I probably missed it.
 
Okay. No worries.

Just for future reference, I would not have stalled that long. No longer than 30 minutes. She was extremely stable in her BG which you verified with the 30 minute stall and test —so it was a good opportunity to give the insulin and see some better BG numbers. As long as you are with her and can monitor the cycle, you are in control and can keep her safe. Remember that the ProZinc will take about two hours to onset so she had two more hours where for her BG to rise (as it did in the 1.5 hours while you stalled) before it goes back down.
Just so I’m clear, I stalled for 30, she was stable, so I should have given her…a full dose? A half dose? Just in case it happens again tomorrow.
 
Just so I’m clear, I stalled for 30, she was stable, so I should have given her…a full dose? A half dose? Just in case it happens again tomorrow.
Yesterday yes — a full dose. That was because she was stable in the low to mid-100s. Now if she had been in green, I would possibly think differently because we don’t have data on her starting out in green yet.
 
Yesterday yes — a full dose. That was because she was stable in the low to mid-100s. Now if she had been in green, I would possibly think differently because we don’t have data on her starting out in green yet.
I'm not going to lie, even the idea of shooting on a green makes me realllllly nervous!
 
She’s not coming down 😩
I don’t understand her trends yet. I had to leave her, but I made sure to get another ear poke in +7 is 369
She does tend to go higher for a bit after a blue number. We have to be patient.
She is almost due for an increase. Is she definitely getting snacks at +2 and +4?
 
An automated feeder will be helpful to dispense snacks when you aren’t home. We can’t be home all the time!
I have one for kibble, but I need to be able to dedicate the time to find out if Dr. Elsey’s causes a BG spike or not. Maybe I can do that Tuesday.

If I remember correctly:
I would test, feed her kibble, wait 30 mins, and check her BG to see how drastically it went up after eating?
 
I have one for kibble, but I need to be able to dedicate the time to find out if Dr. Elsey’s causes a BG spike or not. Maybe I can do that Tuesday.

If I remember correctly:
I would test, feed her kibble, wait 30 mins, and check her BG to see how drastically it went up after eating?
Yes. You can give her the kibble and test in an hour. Especially with kibble you should probably wait an hour.
 
Do you think I should try after PMPS today, or wait until her numbers seem less weird?
I wouldn’t worry about it today, but if you would like to find out then go ahead. It’s pretty straightforward so you should get a good idea. Of course, she is always going to get a small amount of a food bump. If you measure how much of a bump she gets from LC wet food (testing 30 minutes after feeding) you can compare the two bumps.
 
I wouldn’t worry about it today, but if you would like to find out then go ahead. It’s pretty straightforward so you should get a good idea. Of course, she is always going to get a small amount of a food bump. If you measure how much of a bump she gets from LC wet food (testing 30 minutes after feeding) you can compare the two bumps.
That sounds like a better plan. I’ll test her after her PMPS meal tonight and then compare Monday or Tuesday
 
I was busy at 30 mins, so I tested at +1 and now she’s at 334. Lola noooo 😩
 
Back
Top