Lola 1/29 PM

Elohelay

Member Since 2025
Lola's +4 was 177.

I'm going to give her ears a rest until PMPS, which will be later than usual today because she was dosed 2 hours late this morning. If she'll be okay, I'll do the PMPS and shot at 11.5 to try and walk her dose back to close to normal by Monday.

Edit: Link to previous thread.
 
Lola's +4 was 177.

I'm going to give her ears a rest until PMPS, which will be later than usual today because she was dosed 2 hours late this morning. If she'll be okay, I'll do the PMPS and shot at 11.5 to try and walk her dose back to close to normal by Monday.

Edit: Link to previous thread.
Okay. That sounds good. If she has gone really high by PMPS time you can probably shoot a little earlier than 30 minutes. But you can wait until tomorrow to see about shaving off any extra time.
 
Yikes! We would just be guessing because there were no tests last night to give us a clue as to whether she dropped low last night. If she stays fairly high today then it probably is a bounce.
 
I’m not liking today’s numbers. ☹️

+8 is 328. She was fighting me a little bit, so maybe that raised her stress levels? I hope her PMPS isn’t red.
 
Not great numbers today.

She ate her way into the dog's bag of kibble last night. I don't know if she got to enjoy any, but I do know she tried really hard and was very upset when I moved her.

I'm also wondering if her vial of insulin is contaminated. I didn't realize you weren't supposed to push excess insulin back in to the vial, and I did do that two or three times early on before I read not to do that.

She is ravenous today and keeps bugging me for food. I'm trying not to give in, but it's very difficult!

Good news is that she weighed in at a flat 8 lbs today! She's looking better every day!
 
I'm also wondering if her vial of insulin is contaminated. I didn't realize you weren't supposed to push excess insulin back in to the vial, and I did do that two or three times early on before I read not to do that.
How is everything going? When she had a 70 the other day she earned a reduction down to .25 units as her regular dose. She eats some dry so she needs to follow the SLGS dosing method.

This is from the ProZinc dosing methods sticky:
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
She is ravenous today and keeps bugging me for food. I'm trying not to give in, but it's very difficult!
She should be eating at regular intervals. She should get a meal before each shot of course, but also the +2 and +4 snacks. If she’s starving, keep it the lowest carb food that you have. Don’t feed within the two hours prior to the AMPS and PMPS tests so those numbers are not food influenced. When is she getting most hungry? What is her feeding schedule? When has she been getting the snacks. Do you need her to gain or lose weight or neither?
 
Back
Top