Loki 9/6/11 (new results at bottom)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Talonstorm

Member
Scroll to bottom to see most recent test results!

*************************************
Yesterday he was 75 AMPS and 57 PMPS - no shots.
This morning he was 81, no shot.

The 57 last night made me a little nervous, but I put out an extra can of food over the night. I think the other cats kind of bullied him away from the food, he is a pretty big mush.
 
Re: Loki 8/29 - 8/30

Looks excellent to me! If I was the jealous type, I think I'd be turning green about now. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Loki 8/29 - 8/30

Tina,
This is great!
Do not sweat the 57. Or a 45 for that matter. Loki hasn't had insulin in days, so if his BG goes low, it is not the insulin pushing it down. His pancreas is doing its job. Since going OTJ, Bob has ranged at random test times from 51 to 79. The only thing I sweat is just before the meter goes "beep" when I crosss my fingers to not see a 3-digit number! I don't know if that anxiety will ever go away. But you'll be able to tell from the way Loki is acting if things aren't quite "right" with him. If you see like a 120, just let it ride till the next test. At this point, his BG is being controlled by what he eats and when, and his body is regulating itself. Loki is getting better!

Carl in SC
 
Re: Loki 8/29 - 8/30

Well I am the jealous type!! :mrgreen:
I am so happy for the both of you!
I will keep everything crossed for you both!

Denise and Shakes
 
Re: Loki 8/29 - 8/30

I'm jealous too!!!! :mrgreen:

Looking good! Don't worry about low numbers as long as you are not giving insulin.
 
Re: Loki 8/29 - 8/30

Me three :mrgreen: Harley has been teasing me with almost OTJ for a long time now.

Don't worry about low numbers, Loki can't go too low without any insulin on board.

I'm so happy for you both. :-D :-D
 
Loki 8/31 - 9/1

We are still getting numbers in the green! :-D

8/31/11 - AM: 79 PM: 73

9/1/11 - AM: 85

I want to give it at least a full week of no shots before I say he is OTJ. I am so pleased for my big kitty!!
 
Re: Loki 8/31 - 9/1 (new results at bottom)

I am pleased for you and your BIG Kitty too!

Here is hoping we will be having an OTJ party for you and Loki next week! dancing_cat
 
Re: Loki 8/31 - 9/1 (new results at bottom)

I could sure use a good party!!
wine for the mommies and boiled chicken for the babies!

looking good!!I am still prayin for you both!

Denise and Shakes
 
Re: Loki 8/31 - 9/1 (new results at bottom)

Great numbers for Loki! Must have been that special bowl you made him! :smile: He sure is a pretty boy!
 
Re: Loki 8/31 - 9/1 (new results at bottom)

Yay, I'll start dusting off the party hats. I don't want to burst your bubble but we usually wait 14 days to call it official but after that we can have a great party for Loki :RAHCAT
 
Re: Loki 8/31 - 9/1 (new results at bottom)

Well, I waited for 14. But I KNEW after just 7. GO LOKI!
Awesome job, Tina.

Today I reread your very first post. You got some really awesome advice on the first few days you were here. That was Aug 5th. On Aug 10th, you posted this:
I will try testing part way over, I am sure I am hitting the vein, he bleeds a lot. Anyway, he tested at 448 tonight, pre-shot. I gave him 3 units pro-zinc tonight. Is it possible that the insulin is doing nothing for him? He seems to be feeling better, and he is drinking and peeing less, but his blood glucose doesn't seem to be changing at all. I guess the curve I am going to do over the weekend will tell more. The only dry food down now is Wellness Core. He is getting canned Innova (not evo) before his insulin shots. This is frustrating!
Some really bright and wise mind ;-) then posted this to you:
Everybody says this, and every new person is told this - this DOES get easier. And it won't take forever before you realize "hey yeah, this isn't as bad as I thought a couple weeks ago..."
If he is:
Peeing less and drinking less
Eating more
Somewhat more active
Purring
Preening
Then that improvement is due to the insulin starting to work, and his appetite giving him some energy. And due to the fact that he's starting to eat food that's better for him. So there IS progress.
If your observation is that he seems to be feeling a little better, then he does. You, more than anyone, know YOUR cat. Trust what you see.
Also, bookmark this thread. In about 3 weeks, go back and read it again. That's when you'll know you're on your way.
Yesterday was the 3 week mark. In case you didn't bookmark it:
viewtopic.php?t=49299
I'm thrilled for both you and Loki!
Carl
edit bc the link wouldn't work
 
Re: Loki 8/31 - 9/1 (new results at bottom)

Go Loki! This is very exciting!!!!!
:mrgreen:
 
Thanks to everyone who helped me through this! I am still testing Loki twice daily, it is easy once you have your routine down. We had 2 numbers just out of double digits, but nothing terribly worrysome. I am ready to say that he is OTJ! He didn't have to have insulin for long, and I am elated that things worked out this way. I know eventually he may need to be on it again, but I am counting this as a blessing for now. :-D :thumbup flip_cat

I will keep checking in here. I don't post very often as I don't feel I have many value added comments to folks here with so much more knowledge than me, but I do enjoy reading about how everyone else is getting by with their kitties. :smile:

Big thanks again, I couldn't have handled this with no support and the messages here helped me more than you know!
 
Tina and Loki
I have sooooooo been looking forward to this message!!!!
Congrats on a job well done! Very very happy for you,
Carl and Bob
 
I am so happy for the 2 of you I am crying! (could be some jealousy mixed in!)
Congrats and please keep in touch!
and dont be afraid to chime in whenever you like!
Its not the knowledge that gets us through this it is the support and new family I
think we have all created here in PZI land..

\M/
 
Congratulations.

Please do keep in touch. You do have valuable comments to add, especially to newbies who are scared and overwhelmed, your experience can give them hope.
 
So very happy for you and Loki!!! I've been busy this summer and not on the forum as often but I still like to keep track of the PZI kitties. dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Talonstorm said:
I will keep checking in here. I don't post very often as I don't feel I have many value added comments to folks here with so much more knowledge than me, but I do enjoy reading about how everyone else is getting by with their kitties. :smile:

Don't feel that way! I've been here since April & still can't figure this dance out! You could be great encouragement to others, letting them know that sometimes it's possible to go OTJ!

Way to go Loki!!

party_cat :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top