Talonstorm
Member Since 2011
AMPS - 121, no shot given
PMPS - 106, no shot!
PMPS - 106, no shot!
Tina,
Although it might not seem to be doing anything, the insulin IS working on Loki. Hard to see with just 2 tests a day, but when you do the curve this weekend, you'll see how his BG goes down about 5-6 hours after the shot, and then starts to climb back up. And that is when you will start to see things start to make a bit more sense. This is a marathon, not a sprint. You will get frustrated (we all did) and don't let that get you down. Everybody says this, and every new person is told this - this DOES get easier. And it won't take forever before you realize "hey yeah, this isn't as bad as I thought a couple weeks ago..."If he is:
Peeing less and drinking less
Eating more
Somewhat more active
Purring
Preening
Then that improvement is due to the insulin starting to work, and his appetite giving him some energy. And due to the fact that he's starting to eat food that's better for him. So there IS progress.
If your observation is that he seems to be feeling a little better, then he does. You, more than anyone, know YOUR cat. Trust what you see.
Also, bookmark this thread. In about 3 weeks, go back and read it again. That's when you'll know you're on your way.