Loki 01/06 +7.5~103, PMPS~41(39)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kacy and Loki

Member Since 2009
So we expected to be home from our road trip with Loki earlier today, but we are stranded 4 hours away from home in a hotel due to copious amounts of snow. We had pretty rough numbers the first half of the trip (amps~415). Loki was also really stressed the first half of the trip, until we realized that if we let him monopolize our laps, he is content, purry, and doesn't make a peep.

At +7.5 when we got to the hotel his BG was 103, I thought, cool, very nice number. Loki explored the room, and has been sweet and purry all night, and wasn't begging to be fed early, nothing like that. Imagine my surprise that his PMPS~41. Retested, was sure it was a fluke, ~39. He has absolutely no symptoms of hypo. He is bouncing off the walls; leaping off beds and tables and the tv and is now chowing down on his low carb mixed with 2 fork fulls of high carb FF. He is ravenous. What should I do? We aren't at home, and have been without sleep for 2 1/2 days. I'm out of my element and delirious from lack of sleep. I don't trust my own brain right now. I'm afraid that his higher numbers were due to car ride stress, but this low number!? I'm not sure how to proceed. confused_cat
 
Re: Loki 01/06 +7.5~103, PMPS~41(39) Help!

It's been 15 minutes since we tested and fed him. His number is 38. I'm giving him another spoon of high carb. *Then I gave him more low carb. He is super ravenous. I'm thinking he probably hasn't been eating quite as much on the trip. He eats, but he doesn't eat it all like he usually does.
 
Re: Loki 01/06 +7.5~103, PMPS~41(39) Help!

the numbers should be coming up very soon since it's been 12 hours since the last shot.
question: did loki eat the normal amount of food today?
 
Re: Loki 01/06 +7.5~103, PMPS~41(39) Help!

He ate a little less than usual today, but still pretty healthy portions. Though, usually he eats a larger portion at shot time, a spoonful at +2,+4, and +6. Today he ate 3 medium sized portions at preshot +3, and +7.5.
 
Re: Loki 01/06 +7.5~103, PMPS~41(39) Help!

hmmm, he *could* be lower just because he didn't eat as much as usual, but i think the dose should be reduced anyway. we can always take it up again if necessary. please do not shoot anything tonight until we see the numbers and have a chance to talk about it. we may just skip tonight's shot and call it a fur shot. it sounds like you need sleep more than loki needs insulin tonight...
 
Re: Loki 01/06 +7.5~103, PMPS~41(39) +30 minutes~77

Phew. That's better. Should we still probably skip the shot tonight? Or should I test him again in a few, and then see?
 
Re: Loki 01/06 +7.5~103, PMPS~41(39) Help!

what you're seeing is a food spike from the hc. we *could* make sure he levels out before shooting because he'll most likely bounce from here, but that would involve some monitoring for awhile. honestly, given the same circumstances, i would skip tonight's shot and reduce the dose to 1.5u in the morning.
if you haven't had sleep in 2.5 days, i think it's in loki's best interest to skip tonight. skipping the shot is not the end of the world. however, that's just my opinion... what i would do if i were in your shoes. i usually don't recommend skipping a shot, but these are unusual circumstances.
your decision...
 
I'm inclined to agree. I am going to test him once more tonight just to alleviate my nerves. I appreciate your advice very much. Getting Loki home is my number one priority, after getting his numbers up, and more sleep will accomplish that the most quickly. I will also reduce the dose in the morning. Thanks again.
 
no problem. good catch!
you can always shoot earlier than usual in the morning if he's high (he probably will be) since you're skipping tonight's shot.
hope you get some good sleep and travel safe...
 
Oh. Thank you for the heads up! We will be leaving the hotel relatively early, so if he is high in the morning we will definitely shoot early.
 
I know that PS must have come as a shock - Sasha loves to throw me some of those really low ones just for fun. ;-)

I skipped a shot once in a similar situation not too long ago. I was drained of all energy and needed sleepus, and her PS was 41. I'd usually never tell someone to skip a shot either, but sometimes you just have to do it. Gives you a chance to recharge and not worry for a little bit. Loki's shed will refill quickly. :smile:
 
It did come as a shock for sure! I was sure he was playing tricks on me. :) I am reluctant to skip his shot, but know it is for the best in this situation. I'm also so thankful for you lovely ladies, and your experience with issues that would blow my mind if I had to go it alone. Also it has been 1 hour since his 41 and his now up to 98. Probably from that 2nd scoop of high carb I suppose, but high enough that I can feel safe snuggling him to sleep, and not worry too much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top