Little Mr. Bounce Around Nanner

Status
Not open for further replies.
I haven't been able to update the spreadsheet (and don't have my list here at work) and can't from this computer but:

7/5/11 AMPS 220 - .5/ PMPS >340ish
7/6/11 AMPS 360ish - .6 /PMPS 79 (double checked and yep it's around that) - no shot
7/7/11 AMPS 240 - @.45

I chickened out on the .6 this morning. I was too afraid he'd go hypo. Hmm, just now occured to me, looking at that, DH gave Nan a lunch snack with the other kids on 7/5, I was worried about shooting with him at 220. Wonder what he fed them? He split a 5.5oz can between the 5 of them. Nan usually is restricted to no more than 2% carb food, Sophisticat brand Turkey and Giblets, Mixed Grill, or Chicken and Liver, Nan will eat ANYTHING. Wonder if DH grabbed one of the cans of 4-5% carb food we got before I realized how sensitive Nan is to carbs, and took upstairs for the civvies to eat.

We got a number around 60 late last week too, but then Nan got ahold of a little kibble two days in a row and blew his numbers back over 300 for several days.

With Pro Zinc I know no shot under 200, but at what point should I lower the dose? I'm worried about him going hypo with me at work. DH is around during the day, but has a big landscaping project going outside and sometimes doesn't see Nan except at lunch. Nan is bouncing around like crazy, but the box is a LOT better, he's not gulping water like a dog anymore, and he seems to be more relaxed, but I don't really know what normal is for the little guy. When he came home with us he'd just spent a month at the vet, and somewhat less than a week at the shelter. I don't know how much of his "talking" is him being nervous and how much is just being siamese, I've never had anything but alley cats before. Ok rambling. Back to work.

Paula & Nan
 
Hi Paula,

I think one of the issues for you is that you are trying to make good decisions without having enough data. Can you get a few nadir numbers? If not during the day, some people set the alarm at +4-6 at night and get a number then. If he is going low, the ps can be bounces. If he is flat, then the solution would be different. If he has a late nadir or early nadir, that also changes the picture. If you have enough data, you can shot under 200, but you need more than you have to be safe.

I had a Siamese and they do seem to talk alot. Just have lots of stuff to discuss with you. :mrgreen:
 
I agree that some nadir tests will tell us alot more.

My crew have some siamese in them and they are talkers too. Meezers just have more to say.
 
You want to lower the dose if you get PSs under 150, nadirs under 50, or a number too low for it's time in the cycle, like say a 90 at +2. Sometimes there is an oddball number and that doesn't hold, but that's the general rule. So I would lower from the 0.6 based on that one low PS you have. Not chickening out, just good practice!

I might try 0.4 and see what data you get. Your PS this morning really isn't bad at all for no shot last night, in fact it's lower than the PSs you got after you shot 0.5s, so I'm thinking it's possible 0.5 is too high. Hard to say really w/o more data, but if it were me I would probably go to 0.4 and try to get some nadir tests in over the next couple days.
 
nannersfriend said:
With Pro Zinc I know no shot under 200, but at what point should I lower the dose? I'm worried about him going hypo with me at work. DH is around during the day, but has a big landscaping project going outside and sometimes doesn't see Nan except at lunch. Nan is bouncing around like crazy, but the box is a LOT better, he's not gulping water like a dog anymore, and he seems to be more relaxed, but I don't really know what normal is for the little guy. When he came home with us he'd just spent a month at the vet, and somewhat less than a week at the shelter. I don't know how much of his "talking" is him being nervous and how much is just being siamese, I've never had anything but alley cats before. Ok rambling. Back to work. Paula & Nan

I've got a Siamese mix here too that loves to talk (his mom was Persian, but you'd never know it by looking at him or based on how he acts!). It's the breed. Like Sue said, they have a lot to discuss with you. :)

I think Joanna's suggestion is a good one. She's got much more experience than I do, but my cat is also a bouncer and tends to be sensitive to even tiny changes in dose, so even though 0.1U seems like nothing, it can make a huge difference. Try 0.5U or even 0.4U for a few days and see what happens. If you could get some midcycle numbers that would help too so you could see the patterns better. Knowing how low Nanner goes on a dose and when would be useful information. I never realized how important they were until I started tracking things better. Just having pre-shot numbers really isn't enough. If I'm unable to do mid-cycles, then I at least try to test twice, about 15-20 min apart before feeding so I can be sure she's rising before I feed or give insulin. Sometimes she's surprised me and was falling even though I expected her to be rising.

PS: I just love Nanner's sweet face! Any leads on finding him a forever home? Does he have to be placed locally?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top