I don't know what to do and it is shooting time! you can see in my ss it is just low compared to other pre shot values!Hi! that seems plenty high for shooting per protocols.. But perhaps I don't know your previous history. Is there a particular reason you think you shouldn't shoot?
yes we had lowered the dose and rose it againyou shot lower than this on the third of may....
123 is a very safe number. Normal bg is 50-120.yes we had lowered the dose and rose it again
what should I do? two days ago it was 487 pre shot and then went as low as 123
I think I understand what your concern is, so perhaps I can help reassure you by saying that's not how Lantus works. While you did see a 350 point drop on that cycle, when she went from 487 at preshot to 123 by +5.5, that doesn't mean if you start at a preshot of 380, she'll drop again by 350 points. As the preshots come down, the cycles will tend to flatten out.yes we had lowered the dose and rose it again
what should I do? two days ago it was 487 pre shot and then went as low as 123
She is on 258 at +2,5!Great job shooting!
We understand how you feel as we have all been there. It can feel scary when you first start out. I see on your spreadsheet Lisa is 345 @+1. So she is staying flat so far. Let's see what happens at +2.
Thank you so much for your informations!!she is on 258 at +2.5I think I understand what your concern is, so perhaps I can help reassure you by saying that's not how Lantus works. While you did see a 350 point drop on that cycle, when she went from 487 at preshot to 123 by +5.5, that doesn't mean if you start at a preshot of 380, she'll drop again by 350 points. As the preshots come down, the cycles will tend to flatten out.
You are doing a great job with testing, and as you gather more data, you will become more comfortable with understanding how the insulin is working for Lisa and how carbs from the food you feed (and when) affect her cycles. Have you seen these basic concepts yet?
Many people on Lantus find that getting a +2 can be an early indication of how the cycle may go. If it is significantly lower, it means you'll need to continue to monitor , but if the +2 is higher than preshot, it usually means that you can take a break from testing.
- Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
- Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
- Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
Does this help?
Liza at +4 she is on 186!!is this ok;Do I wait for +5and +6;is this necessary;thank you!!