Linus-things are looking better

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dragonfly229

Member Since 2012
So with the dental done and a new vial of insulin and a small dose increase, I'm seeing more yellows, including this morning's pre shot :-D and blue this afternoon. I'm going to hold for a few days and then possibly slide up another .2 and see what happens.

On a different note - I took Linus on a car ride tonight to town to drop Alec off for baseball practice. 20 miles roundtrip. I didn't put him in the carrier, just put his harness on and let him wander all over the car and howl. When we got there, I took him out for a little bit with a leash on. Then we came home. He was a tiny bit calmer coming home, and then jumped out of the car when we got home like nothing happened. 1 hour later, PMPS was a little high, at 385, but not extreme.

We also have a vacation planned, and I'm thinking it will be easier to take him with us, but 2 days in the car with a cat who doesn't like riding sounds like torture for all of us. The vet will board him and give meds for free, and it's only $16.00 a day, but no testing, and I hate to do that to him for 10 days. So I'll keep working on it, and see if we can get him more comfortable in the car.

The spreadsheet is finally up to date with the pretty new colors!
 
This sounds good, Sue. The vet sounds like a good alternative, but why won't they test? Can you pay a vet tech a little more to test before each shot? Wonder if a few more trips in the car and he would settle in?
 
Believe it or not, you CAN train your cat to be better than The Howler for trips. I just took Poopy on a trip and it was better than I expected.

Tip: Take Linus everywhere you can for trips between now and vacation. Don't forget a special treat for being a good boy. ;-)
 
While you are doing the little trips for practice, include music. It might calm him. Amazingly, Bob seems to like the exact same type of music I like! And, he seems to enjoy the volume too. When I'm riding with him, he starts crying in his carrier, and I swear he's saying "crank it up Dad!!!" SO I do. And I'm pretty sure he quits whining, because I can't hear him any more. :lol:
Seriously though, he seems to get it out of his system on the trip to town, because he's a lot more subdued on the way home. Cries once or twice to let me know he isn't pleased, then curls up and takes a nap.
He's never been on a longer trip than maybe half an hour one way, so I don't know how he'd do on a day trip.

Ask Kim what her secret is. Her kitties love the open road.

Carl
 
Linus has only ever been to the vet and back, and that's no fun! I'm going to try to let him know that there are other interesting places you could end up instead of the vet.
 
Hi guys. Sue it sounds like you are doing the right thing about training Linus to ride in the car & going places other then the horrible mean man in the white coat. Keeping me fingers crossed he will get use to it.
On the other note about Linus numbers. I haven't looked at Linus SS...but blue...I don't think you have ever had blue. Hey it means Linus isn't at IHop doesn't it?

Good luck with the training!


Hi Linus...mom said I could come on here & say hi. It's been a long time. Hope you are doing well. Your mom said you are going on a trip. Where are you going? You will have fun...don't be scared & cry the whole way there. I better go good to see you here. See you soon, but not at IHop. :lol:
 
Hey, Baxter, I've missed you and Grayson. Mom has been so busy the computer is turned off most of the time. Maybe I can get her to leave it on when she goes to work. I got to go for a ride in the car today. I was hoping we would go to IHop and get pancakes, but Mom just stopped so Alec could get out and then she let me get out and check out some grass and a big rock. I was kind of afraid because it wasn't my house, but nothing bad happened. Then we got back in the car and came back home. I guess maybe I could try it again. How have you been? I hear you are afraid of lightning and having lots of people in your house. Don't worry about the lightning. I go outside in the rain and pretend I'm a tiger. Tigers like water, you know. Just be a tiger and it will be ok.

I have to go, Mom is turning off the computer again. We'll talk again soon, okay?

yur frend,
Linus
 
Hi SUe
I have found with Shakes that he HATES the car...BUT
if I let him out of the carrier, he lays down on the seat and he is fine with driving then
I know it is not aas safe, but it calms him down to see and undertand where he is
 
Hi Sue -

Good job taking him for short trips! Grayson's was about 2:15 and he was NOT happy. But on the way home, I let him out of the carrier and he was fine. Even had low BGs. I'm sure a few more trips and he'll find his "sea legs"... or whatever they would be in a car! It's been helpful for Grayson to go different places with me... my friend's house we stayed at, my office. Nice safe places with closed doors, windows to look out of, litter box, food & water, and a place to test. He really relaxed here, this being his SECOND time to come in with me.

Hi friends! Linus, I've missed you - Hi Baxter, good to see you here too! Hey Linus, mom said we're coming out near your house. Thought maybe we'd get to meet - hope I'm not too sleepy! If I am, maybe at least our moms can! I can't wait to see your mountains! I thought they had lions in the mountains, but you're a brave TIGER! Cool!!! I'm still not so excited about the car, but mom says I'm gonna learn how to FLY! Now she used to play "airplane" with us and toss us on the bed, but I don't think that's what she's talking about, cuz she could do that ANY day! Anyways... Baxter - come join us... there's an IHOP across from our hotel!!! :lol: and yes, you can get the fruit plate :o :shock: :lol: See you guys REAL soon!
Your pal,
Grayson
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top