Sally and Lily GA
Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lily-diagnosed-today.236186/ @JanetNJ when should I test her again??
Wow she dropped a lot in just 2.5 hours. I’d probably test at 4.5-5 hours.https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lily-diagnosed-today.236186/ @JanetNJ when should I test her again??
Great, thanks!Wow she dropped a lot in just 2.5 hours. I’d probably test at 4.5-5 hours.
Thanks Mogs! I am doing better thanks to your expertise. Her blood was always smearing because I didn’t wipe the Neosporin off. Now it pools much better.Hi Sally,
Well done getting the +2.5 test. As you can see, Vetsulin can drop numbers quite quickly.
Mogs
.
Excellent!Thanks Mogs! I am doing better thanks to your expertise. Her blood was always smearing because I didn’t wipe the Neosporin off. Now it pools much better.
Ok, at +5 she is 277.Wow she dropped a lot in just 2.5 hours. I’d probably test at 4.5-5 hours.
Hey Mogs, she is at 244 at +8. Can I feed her and give her .5 insulin ?Just seen the latest test on Lily's spreadsheet. Nice 'n' steady. I'd suggest grabbing the +8 again if you can, Sally.
Mogs
.
Hi, I added it. It’s Vetsulin. I was just thinking Mogs might be out of pocket since she is in another time zone. Maybe @JanetNJ can help me. Thanks all!!!Hi Sally can I get you to add your insulin type to your signature?
If you like I can tag Mogs for you![]()
You need to keep 12 hours between doses, Sally. Also, I recommend you stick with the 0.25IU dose for at least this cycle (and possibly the next depending on where Lily is tomorrow morning at AMPS).Ok, at +5 she is 277 [...] she is at 244 at +8. Can I feed her and give her .5 insulin ?
Oíche mhaith, Jeanne.I'm shutting down for the evening. Y'all have a good night!

Hi, I added it. It’s Vetsulin. I was just thinking Mogs might be out of pocket since she is in another time zone. Maybe @JanetNJ can help me. Thanks all!!!
I haven’t heard from any one are youHi Sally can I get you to add your insulin type to your signature?
If you like I can tag Mogs for you![]()
I fed her and gave her insulin at 11:30 which is about 4 hours lateHi Sally,
How late were you this morning giving the dose after you got back from the supply run?
Mogs
.
YES! That sounds perfect to me!Thank you, Sally.
Few things:
First up, I should have been clearer earlier about the dose. From last night's PM cycle taking Lily down to 91 on 0.25IU Vetsulin, it showed as clear as a bell that a 0.5IU dose would be too high for her current insulin requirements (when all the extra carbs from last night clear the system). Indeed, for safety it looks like she'll need close monitoring on even the 0.25IU dose. I'll go into this more with you tomorrow.
Considerations for tonight's decision (in no particular order).
1. No history of ketones.
2. Prior to last night's carb fest, all indications point to Lily only needing a small dose of insulin now she's on low carb food.
3. FDMB is very quiet tonight and I've not been able to find someone with the right experience to support you this evening.
4. You're 4 hours behind your ideal schedule.
Based on the above considerations, my suggestion is that you skip the dose tonight and start up again in the morning at your regular scheduled time - with a dose no higher than 0.25IU Vetsulin. This course of action would be the safest and it would quickly get you back on schedule.
What are your thoughts, Sally?
Mogs
.

Thanks Mog! Sleep well.Cool.
If you can manage it, grab the test that would have been the PMPS for tonight . It would throw a bit of light on how long the HC dry food feeds into Lily's numbers on later cycles - all data are good data!
Remember for the morning that if you get an AMPS test that is lower than 200, DON'T FEED, STALL and post for help. Wait 20 minutes and test again to see whether BG levels are rising or falling. Within that time hopefully myself or other members with the right experience will have responded to your thread and will help you with the AM dosing decision.
Heading off now, Sally. Please give Lily some fusses from me, and I'll catch you on the morrow.
Mogs
.
Yes me too! Thanks for all your help today.I think that a good plan. Take care.
We are wonderful, thanks Mogs. How are you?Hi Sally,
How are yourself and Lily doing this morning?
Mogs
.
Oh no hope the Noodle feels better soon. She was at 210 this morning so I fed her at 7:30 and gave Her .25 Vetsulin at 8:00. I will test her again at 9:00 in about 20 minutes. I am not home, I have a diabetic father in law that I help my husband take care of so I am there testing and breakfast. Hopefully I will be home in 20 minutes.That's the sort of news I like to hear.
I'm same as ever, but poor Lúnasa (aka The Noodle) has a GI upset from the antibiotics she's on at the moment.
How long till your AMPS, Sally?
Mogs
.

Sounds like a good plan, thx.That's grand. Your FIL is lucky to have you to look after him.![]()
I'll be tied up for a while so I'm tagging @Panic and @JanetNJ to ask them to look in on you if they're online.
I recommend you test as soon as you get home and post the result here.
Just in case there's a bit of a delay in answers:
* If Lily is below 100, give her a small amount of one of your higher carb foods (preferably one of the wet ones) and test again in 20-30 minutes. Rinse and repeat.
* If Lily were to get nearer 50 give some of the gravy food with a little honey.
Will check back in with you as soon as I'm free.
Mogs
.
Noodle
Thanks Elizabeth, yes, I think she is doing well and my anxiety has eased a bit. Have a great day! SallyGood morning Sally! Nice to see her hovering this morning. I would give her a bite of food and test again at +2. I am leaving shortly and won't be around to monitor but fingers crossed all goes well!
Lily is at 194 at +2. I gave her a couple tablespoons of her canned DM food right before taking it.@Panic - Thank you, Elizabeth! Keep safe when you're out and about.
Back again now, Sally. Will keep an eye out for your +2.
Mogs
.
Great stuff. Please can you test again at +3, Sally.Lily is at 194 at +2. I gave her a couple tablespoons of her canned DM food right before taking it.
Oh no hope the Noodle feels better soon.
Thank you, both.Noodle
![]()

silver linings and small victories they ALL count.Thank you, both.
My little Noodler has another three weeks to go on the antibiotics. I wish that they wouldn't upset her system so. At least they have a positive impact on her blood pressure. Silver linings an' all that...
Mogs
.

Faecal incontinence does not fall into this category.small victories
oh noooooo Is she taking a probiotic?Faecal incontinence does not fall into this category.
Mogs
.
Sorry, just a little late. She is 223 at +4Great stuff. Please can you test again at +3, Sally.
Mogs
.
She's going to be gunged with kaolin and probiotic paste a little later on (waiting to administer her BP med first). Poor creatúir. (((Noodle)))oh noooooo Is she taking a probiotic?
Sorry, just a little late. She is 223 at +4
Nice and safe. I'd suggest next test at +6.Sorry, just a little late. She is 223 at +4
Good to know! Yes, I think she and I both are doing good today. Thanks for your help and will talk to you at +6.Nice and safe. I'd suggest next test at +6.
For info, Vetsulin typically works at its strongest between +3 and +6 (mileage may vary depending on the cat).
Mogs
.
Hi, Lily is at 229 +6Nice and safe. I'd suggest next test at +6.
For info, Vetsulin typically works at its strongest between +3 and +6 (mileage may vary depending on the cat).
Mogs
.