Lily +2.5 BG 247 ( continued)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Sally,

Just on the rounds before I hit the hay.

Ok, at +5 she is 277 [...] she is at 244 at +8. Can I feed her and give her .5 insulin ?
You need to keep 12 hours between doses, Sally. Also, I recommend you stick with the 0.25IU dose for at least this cycle (and possibly the next depending on where Lily is tomorrow morning at AMPS).

At the moment Lily's BG is still being affected by the higher carb dry food she ate last night. If you look at the readings for this AM cycle, you'll see that they are still drifting downwards. It's only when those carbs clear that you'll get a better picture of Lily's insulin needs now she's back on her low carb food again.

More to follow in a few minutes...


Mogs
.
 
Hi, I added it. It’s Vetsulin. I was just thinking Mogs might be out of pocket since she is in another time zone. Maybe @JanetNJ can help me. Thanks all!!!
Hi Sally can I get you to add your insulin type to your signature?
If you like I can tag Mogs for you;)
I haven’t heard from any one are you
Hi Sally,

How late were you this morning giving the dose after you got back from the supply run?



Mogs
.
I fed her and gave her insulin at 11:30 which is about 4 hours late
 
Thank you, Sally.

Few things:

First up, I should have been clearer earlier about the dose. From last night's PM cycle taking Lily down to 91 on 0.25IU Vetsulin, it showed as clear as a bell that a 0.5IU dose would be too high for her current insulin requirements (when all the extra carbs from last night clear the system). Indeed, for safety it looks like she'll need close monitoring on even the 0.25IU dose. I'll go into this more with you tomorrow.

Considerations for tonight's decision (in no particular order):

1. No history of ketones.
2. Prior to last night's carb fest, all indications point to Lily only needing a small dose of insulin now she's on low carb food.
3. FDMB is very quiet tonight and I've not been able to find someone with the right experience to support you this evening.
4. You're 4 hours behind your ideal schedule.

Based on the above considerations, my suggestion is that you skip the dose tonight and start up again in the morning at your regular scheduled time - with a dose no higher than 0.25IU Vetsulin. This course of action would be the safest and it would quickly get you back on schedule.

What are your thoughts, Sally?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Thank you, Sally.

Few things:

First up, I should have been clearer earlier about the dose. From last night's PM cycle taking Lily down to 91 on 0.25IU Vetsulin, it showed as clear as a bell that a 0.5IU dose would be too high for her current insulin requirements (when all the extra carbs from last night clear the system). Indeed, for safety it looks like she'll need close monitoring on even the 0.25IU dose. I'll go into this more with you tomorrow.

Considerations for tonight's decision (in no particular order).

1. No history of ketones.
2. Prior to last night's carb fest, all indications point to Lily only needing a small dose of insulin now she's on low carb food.
3. FDMB is very quiet tonight and I've not been able to find someone with the right experience to support you this evening.
4. You're 4 hours behind your ideal schedule.

Based on the above considerations, my suggestion is that you skip the dose tonight and start up again in the morning at your regular scheduled time - with a dose no higher than 0.25IU Vetsulin. This course of action would be the safest and it would quickly get you back on schedule.

What are your thoughts, Sally?


Mogs
.
YES! That sounds perfect to me! ❤️
 
Cool. :)

If you can manage it, grab the test that would have been the PMPS for tonight. It would throw a bit of light on how long the HC dry food feeds into Lily's numbers on later cycles - all data are good data!

Remember for the morning that if you get an AMPS test that is lower than 200, DON'T FEED, STALL and post for help. Wait 20 minutes and test again to see whether BG levels are rising or falling. Within that time hopefully myself or other members with the right experience will have responded to your thread and will help you with the AM dosing decision.

Heading off now, Sally. Please give Lily some fusses from me, and I'll catch you on the morrow.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Cool. :)

If you can manage it, grab the test that would have been the PMPS for tonight . It would throw a bit of light on how long the HC dry food feeds into Lily's numbers on later cycles - all data are good data!

Remember for the morning that if you get an AMPS test that is lower than 200, DON'T FEED, STALL and post for help. Wait 20 minutes and test again to see whether BG levels are rising or falling. Within that time hopefully myself or other members with the right experience will have responded to your thread and will help you with the AM dosing decision.

Heading off now, Sally. Please give Lily some fusses from me, and I'll catch you on the morrow.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Thanks Mog! Sleep well.
 
That's the sort of news I like to hear. :)

I'm same as ever, but poor Lúnasa (aka The Noodle) has a GI upset from the antibiotics she's on at the moment. :(

How long till your AMPS, Sally?


Mogs
.
 
That's the sort of news I like to hear. :)

I'm same as ever, but poor Lúnasa (aka The Noodle) has a GI upset from the antibiotics she's on at the moment. :(

How long till your AMPS, Sally?


Mogs
.
Oh no hope the Noodle feels better soon. She was at 210 this morning so I fed her at 7:30 and gave Her .25 Vetsulin at 8:00. I will test her again at 9:00 in about 20 minutes. I am not home, I have a diabetic father in law that I help my husband take care of so I am there testing and breakfast. Hopefully I will be home in 20 minutes.
 
That's grand. Your FIL is lucky to have you to look after him. :) :bighug:

I'll be tied up for a while so I'm tagging @Panic and @JanetNJ to ask them to look in on you if they're online.

I recommend you test as soon as you get home and post the result here.

Just in case there's a bit of a delay in answers:

* If Lily is below 100, give her a small amount of one of your higher carb foods (preferably one of the wet ones) and test again in 20-30 minutes. Rinse and repeat.

* If Lily were to get nearer 50 give some of the gravy food with a little honey.

Will check back in with you as soon as I'm free.


Mogs
.
 
That's grand. Your FIL is lucky to have you to look after him. :) :bighug:

I'll be tied up for a while so I'm tagging @Panic and @JanetNJ to ask them to look in on you if they're online.

I recommend you test as soon as you get home and post the result here.

Just in case there's a bit of a delay in answers:

* If Lily is below 100, give her a small amount of one of your higher carb foods (preferably one of the wet ones) and test again in 20-30 minutes. Rinse and repeat.

* If Lily were to get nearer 50 give some of the gravy food with a little honey.

Will check back in with you as soon as I'm free.


Mogs
.
Sounds like a good plan, thx.
 
oh noooooo Is she taking a probiotic?
She's going to be gunged with kaolin and probiotic paste a little later on (waiting to administer her BP med first). Poor creatúir. (((Noodle)))

The paste has worked well for her before, including a few weeks ago when she was on the previous course of antibiotics (UTI issues, and she's IRIS stage III).
Sorry, just a little late. She is 223 at +4


Mogs
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top