? Lily 2/21 AMPS 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Lily

Member Since 2015
Not really sure why Lily is doing alright on a dose decrease. Its not much of a decrease considering the amount of insulin she is on, but I will take it.
Should I be more aggressive and try to keep her in mostly green #s, or are blues and greens ok?
 
I always ask "where do you want her nadirs". Today's 75 is a nice number and the depot back to the 52u isn't quite filled yet. I think she looks good personally Karen. Understandably you've kind of hopped around on the dose a bit the last several days although not sure how much it affects the depot of this size. I'd see what she dose over the next few days with the 52u. Hope she's feeling good too.

Hopefully Wendy will stop by sometime today as she's the most experienced.
 
Have you ever tested Lily to see where her renal threshold is? You can get Ketodiastix to figure that out. I didn't do that, but rather tested Neko's BG's before going for urinalysis at the vets, and managed to figure it out from that. For Neko it was around 220ish. For some cats is mid/upper blues.

The reason I'm asking is that a good goal is to try to maximize the time your acrocat spends under renal threshold. The IM vets at CSU where Neko had her SRT told me that should be a good goal in dosing. Acromegaly can be hard on kidneys, and is often a complication for acros. Neko had CKD, so keeping her below renal threshold as much as I could was to give her kidneys a break.

So for me, as long as most of Neko's time was below 220, I was happy. For her, it meant nadirs around 70's to achieve that goal. Kitties can feel better in greens, and it does give their pancreas a break, but I'm always aware of the larger depot. The acro tumor can pulse up, or pulse down at any time. It's not a fast process, so no worries that way. But at some point Lily could earn a reduction and at that point you'll want to be cautious about the size of depot.
 
Have you ever tested Lily to see where her renal threshold is? You can get Ketodiastix to figure that out. I didn't do that, but rather tested Neko's BG's before going for urinalysis at the vets, and managed to figure it out from that. For Neko it was around 220ish. For some cats is mid/upper blues.

The reason I'm asking is that a good goal is to try to maximize the time your acrocat spends under renal threshold. The IM vets at CSU where Neko had her SRT told me that should be a good goal in dosing. Acromegaly can be hard on kidneys, and is often a complication for acros. Neko had CKD, so keeping her below renal threshold as much as I could was to give her kidneys a break.

So for me, as long as most of Neko's time was below 220, I was happy. For her, it meant nadirs around 70's to achieve that goal. Kitties can feel better in greens, and it does give their pancreas a break, but I'm always aware of the larger depot. The acro tumor can pulse up, or pulse down at any time. It's not a fast process, so no worries that way. But at some point Lily could earn a reduction and at that point you'll want to be cautious about the size of depot.
 
I purchased ReliOn Ketone test strips at Walmart when we first started this journey. I believe I started testing Lily in April 2016 when her #s were mostly in the 200s and 300s. She always tested negative for ketones. I checked her recently and she is negative. Are Ketodiastix the same thing?
 
Ketone test stripe (Ketostix) are different than Ketodiastix -- the latter test for both ketones and urinary glucose. With renal threshold, the goal is to keep the blood glucose low enough that you're not seeing glucose in the urine. It's the spilling of glucose into the urine that makes diabetes (or acro) hard on the kidneys. Ketones are an entirely different issue since they are a product of metabolism and throw off electrolyte levels. The change in electrolytes is what makes ketoacidosis a life threatening issue.

 
Ketone test stripe (Ketostix) are different than Ketodiastix -- the latter test for both ketones and urinary glucose. With renal threshold, the goal is to keep the blood glucose low enough that you're not seeing glucose in the urine. It's the spilling of glucose into the urine that makes diabetes (or acro) hard on the kidneys. Ketones are an entirely different issue since they are a product of metabolism and throw off electrolyte levels. The change in electrolytes is what makes ketoacidosis a life threatening issue.
Thank you so much for that info. I had no idea there was such a thing as Ketodiastix. Can you suggest where I might buy them? In person or online?
 
You might be able to get them at people pharmacies. I just did a search on line and came up with one of my local pharmacies as a source.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top