? Levemir questions

JoM

Member Since 2023
Hi I just want to know if anyone here is using Levemir. My vet wants to change Karamelles insulin from Lantus to Pro-Zinc, but one, its more expensive and two, its a U40 insulin and Id have to get all new syringes. Id rather try Levemir first. I know I have to get it from Marks Marine in Canada. I just wondered if anyone has switched from Lantus to Levemir and what to expect. Are the pens like Lantus? Do they keep in the fridge until they are gone?
 
I used levemir and loved it.
It comes in vials like Lantus and kept in the fridge.
I found it has a later nadir than Lantus sometimes around +8
I found Sheba was happier on levemir.
 
The Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info answers some of these questions, including options for buying Levemir. I think Marks is only selling the Pens or cartridges (Penfill). You store them the same way you do Lantus and they also last to the final drop. There is a formula for switching doses, you don't go to the same dose right away, for caution.

I also switched from Lantus to Lev, and loved it. So did Neko as she was feeling a bit of sting from Lantus. Instead of walking away during the shot, she purred.

The onset is later, typically +4 (plus or minus 1) and nadir later. Neko's was +9-+12, but I did see a +15. Nadir at preshot is not uncommon. You have to get used to shooting lower numbers. The upside is you are usually home for nadir. Neko's later onset was a bonus, I could feed and shoot and go out for dinner or a movie before she onset.
 
Hi Jo, I just wanted to say hi.
I’ve missed seeing you around. Hope Karamelle is doing well. Good luck if you do the switch.
:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
The Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info answers some of these questions, including options for buying Levemir. I think Marks is only selling the Pens or cartridges (Penfill). You store them the same way you do Lantus and they also last to the final drop. There is a formula for switching doses, you don't go to the same dose right away, for caution.

I also switched from Lantus to Lev, and loved it. So did Neko as she was feeling a bit of sting from Lantus. Instead of walking away during the shot, she purred.

The onset is later, typically +4 (plus or minus 1) and nadir later. Neko's was +9-+12, but I did see a +15. Nadir at preshot is not uncommon. You have to get used to shooting lower numbers. The upside is you are usually home for nadir. Neko's later onset was a bonus, I could feed and shoot and go out for dinner or a movie before she onset.
Thanks Wendy. I was hoping there was some info somewhere about the dosing. I'll look for it. I hope my vet agrees to try it. The office had called back and wanted me to switch to ProZink, but I want to try Levemir first. It sounds like it might be the right choice.
 
Hi Jo, I just wanted to say hi.
I’ve missed seeing you around. Hope Karamelle is doing well. Good luck if you do the switch.
:bighug::cat::bighug:
Thanks Ivy :bighug:. Ive gotten lax about posting. Not much to report as well as shes just the same most the time. Up down up down.
 
The Sticky Note on Insulin Care and Syringe Info answers some of these questions, including options for buying Levemir.
I just looked and I cant find some of this info in this thread, unless Im missing it. Specifically , do I keep the same dose as Lantus and just switch. I have the link to Marks.
 
From the Dosing Methods Sticky Note:

How to determine an initial starting dose for glargine or detemir when following the Tight Regulation Protocol:
  • the formula is 0.25 unit per kg of the cat's ideal weight
  • if kitty is underweight, the formula frequently used is 0.25 unit per kg of kitty's actual weight
  • if the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be determined by taking prior data into consideration as indicated below:
    • If the current insulin is another depot insulin (e.g., switching from glargine to Levemir or vice versa), drop the dose by 30% since some cats can have a marked response to a change in insulin.
 
From the Dosing Methods Sticky Note:

How to determine an initial starting dose for glargine or detemir when following the Tight Regulation Protocol:
  • the formula is 0.25 unit per kg of the cat's ideal weight
  • if kitty is underweight, the formula frequently used is 0.25 unit per kg of kitty's actual weight
  • if the cat was previously on another insulin, the starting dose should be determined by taking prior data into consideration as indicated below:
    • If the current insulin is another depot insulin (e.g., switching from glargine to Levemir or vice versa), drop the dose by 30% since some cats can have a marked response to a change in insulin.
Oh ok thanks. So drop the dose 30%. So from 2.25, drop it down to 1.5. Which comes out to about the same as her weight in kgs x 0.25. Shes 13lbs.
 
My vet approved Levemir, and I just ordered from Marks, so hopefully we will see some improvement from this insulin. Strangely her BG is staying steady at the moment. ;)
 
Hi I just want to know if anyone here is using Levemir. My vet wants to change Karamelles insulin from Lantus to Pro-Zinc, but one, its more expensive and two, its a U40 insulin and Id have to get all new syringes. Id rather try Levemir first. I know I have to get it from Marks Marine in Canada. I just wondered if anyone has switched from Lantus to Levemir and what to expect. Are the pens like Lantus? Do they keep in the fridge until they are gone?
I loved using Levemir so much more than Lantus. It made a big difference for Gracie. She got amazing duration with it. As long as you can continue to get it, I believe it is a good move.

Good luck & remember to drop the starting dose back as Wendy posted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
I loved using Levemir so much more than Lantus. It made a big difference for Gracie. She got amazing duration with it. As long as you can continue to get it, I believe it is a good move.

Good luck & remember to drop the starting dose back as Wendy posted.
Thanks for this reassurance! :bighug:
 
Back
Top