Leo's PMPS 192- Next steps?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yvonne & Leo

Member Since 2022
Hello! I took Leo's BG right before food and insulin it's sitting at 192. This is the lowest I've had on a meter so far so I'm not sure what the next steps are. He normally gets 2 units of lantus (pen w/ syringe). I have him eating now (some young again zero dry and a little bit of a can of fancy feast).


EDIT: I didn't realize I wasn't supposed to feed him. I still need help on what I should do next.
 
Last edited:
Do you have plenty of supplies (high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup, test strips) and can you test as often and as long as may be necessary tonight?

I have some maple syrup.. does that work? Otherwise I have some cans/pouches of science diet food that contain gravy. I have test strips.
 
I have some maple syrup.. does that work?

Yes, that's what I used! I was surprised that China actually liked it!

As long as you have plenty of supplies and can stay up as long as necessary to test, I'd shoot the 2U dose. We usually say if they're at 200, you should give the scheduled dose (and as you gain more experience and data, that number comes down)

If he were mine, I'd give the 2U and start with a +1 and a +2 and go from there

ETA....remember, all meters are allowed a 20% variance, so 192 is close enough to 200 to consider it 200.
 
You can remove the 911 from your title. It’s usually reserved for hypos and DKA type situations. Next time you can use the ? instead and add to your title ‘HELP, STALLING’ that should get some attention.
 
Last edited:
I'm almost an hour late from when I usually give him his shot. Is this still okay?

Can you adjust his shot time in the morning? You can work your way back to your chosen shot time by shooting 15 minutes early on each cycle or shoot 30 minutes early once per day.

So if you shot at 9pm instead of 8pm (your usual time), you wouldn't want to shoot earlier than 8:45 in the morning, then 8:30pm, then 8:15am and you'd be back to 8pm Sat night)

Or 8:30am/8:30pm, 8am/8pm Sat

(Just examples since I don't know what time you want to shoot)
 
If you shoot now you will need to shoot no sooner than 11 1/2 hours from now in the morning. Can you be off schedule?
 
Can you adjust his shot time in the morning? You can work your way back to your chosen shot time by shooting 15 minutes early on each cycle or shoot 30 minutes early once per day.

So if you shot at 9pm instead of 8pm (your usual time), you wouldn't want to shoot earlier than 8:45 in the morning, then 8:30pm, then 8:15am and you'd be back to 8pm Sat night)

Or 8:30am/8:30pm, 8am/8pm Sat
Awesome! Thank you so much for your help! I appreciate it more than you know!!

If you shoot now you will need to shoot no sooner than 11 1/2 hours from now in the morning. Can you be off schedule?

Yes I can! Thank you so much.
 
No need to delete this post. In fact we don’t want it deleted. You can start one on the Lantus forum and link this list to it. Or start posting here and start in Lantus tomorrow. It’s up to you. I will link the sticky that gives posting guidelines on Lantus to this one. We have a specific format there as it gets busy so it makes it easier for us to see who needs help.
 
Okay. I gave him his full 2 unit dose at 9:20pm.

Just a little housekeeping note....the time you ACTUALLY SHOOT is always the Pre-Shot....so if you stalled for an hour and he went from 192 to 275, you have a couple of choices. You can put 192 @ +12, 275 @ +13 in the PMPS cell (but you will have to do the color coding yourself) or you can put the 192 @ +12 in the +11 cell and then put 275 @ +13 in the PMPS cell. Most of us do choice #1. When choosing a color, choose the one that's most important....in this case since the 192 would be blue but the 275 would be yellow, you'd color code the entire cell with yellow since that's the more important number of the 2.

The cell will expand so that both numbers will fit.

This way the + cells still correspond to the number of hours since the shot. +1 is always 1 hour after the shot, +2 is always 2 hours after the shot, etc., etc.
 
Hi Yvonne
, if you plan on posting on the Lantus board from now on
Here is how you would do it
So if you start tomorrow morning you put the
Date, Leo ,AMPS # and any other tests you do after that like the BG number @+2 ,etc
To go back and add those tests to your title look to the right and you will see the word Thread Tools tap on that then tap on Edit Title , add those tests and tap save
You can continue with his PMPS numbers on the same title :cat:
We also link your previous days post to the new one
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top