Leo/newly dx

Status
Not open for further replies.

La-La Leo (GA)

Very Active Member
Hello! I've been posting on Feline Diabetes FB group since suspecting, and then through bloodwork and UA, our 11 year old Leo is diabetic.

Bloodwork results from Monday's tests show, 419. That was close to the BG test my daughter completed last week, 411, but we thought the results were compromised since Leo's big blood drop landed on ourndaughter's hand (top, not palm). I apparently got into the big vein due to new user mistake.

Then yesterday, Wednesday, UA shows sugar....
The original vet was not in and not available until Monday. This will give everyone time, meaning, 1) maybe the diet change will show signs of improvement, and 2) the vet can review my email about Semglee. The vet assumed I would go with their solution of Vetsulin while she was out. Nope... The FB group taught me well! The vet office is familiar with Lantus, and maybe prescribes it, too, so once they realize Semglee is the generic of Lantus, it shouldn't be a big deal.

Meanwhile, we're in a holding pattern for a few more days, but I need to get more comfortable and adept at BG testing! It's partly my fear of poking my kitty, plus the fact he is not keen on any of this and doesn't stay still.... not even for me to firmly hold/apply pressure afterwards. He runs away. I keep getting Er4 errors (not enough blood with ReliON meter). The ONE time we got enough (daughter was helping), it was the incorrect spot--in the vein! I haven't tried since then which was six days ago. Also, clipping his nails is always difficult/tricky, and never gets done all at once. While Leo was getting bloodwork on Monday, I asked if they would clip his nails. $25 pedicure later, they are clipped. My manicure is less than that. Anyway.....

The food change... I realize now the FF pate I got is the fish variety. Ugh. I know now. Since we have two other cats, I purchased some 9Lives Seafood and Poultry Favorites Variety Pack, 24 5.5-Ounce Cans (UGH--fish again), plus another carton of the FF Pate Wet Cat Food Variety Pack, Seafood Classic Pate (more fish! ). They all need to eat the same food. Separating them is not ideal. I don't want any chance of contraband food around.

Leo was doing fine on the new FF pate, but late last night I fed the 9Lives to all three cats, so no more "Grain-free" Blue Buffalo is avail for anyone.... feeding times need to change--especially if Leo gets on Semglee. 5pm and 5am will no longer work. It was my husband who would get up for the 5am-ish breakfast. There's probably no way he will/can do a BG test or insulin shot if/when that time comes. So changing the times is important. I never even heard the kitties meow for the 5am time.... ALSO, my husband's memory is really going... I told him last night, no feeding them at 5am--time needs to change. I even wrote a note indicating this and for him to go back to bed. BUT, he didn't read it! And fed them anyway, of course, as it's his habit.

All I know is that Leo has thrown up several times this morning. Not sure if it's the 9Lives or just because he ate too much. One of the other cats is withdrawing from the kibble and wet food and barely touched his new food last night or this morning. In fact, it was this 3rd kitty who I adopted from my step-sis three years ago that didn't appreciate the raw food we were feeding the other two kitties, so we switched to half dry kibble and half wet canned food. THIS IS LIKELY THE BEGINNING. So the food issue is going to be difficult... on top of my newbie status getting a BG reading.

I know I said a lot. Just introducing the situation with Leo. I have MS for almost 32 years, and strive for less stress to avoid aggravating a scary exacerbation.
All this will settle down to a smooth routine eventually, I know, but it's rocky right now.

Thank you, in advance.
 
Welcome to FDMB!

It sounds like the FB group got you off to a good start. I'm curious about the raw food. Most raw diets are low in carbohydrates and there would be no need to change your kitties' diet unless it was Leo who was unhappy with raw. I'm assuming you're feeding the 9 Lives pate styles as they are the only low carb options. Leo may be reacting to the amount of fat in both the FF and 9Lives.

If Leo is challenging to test, you may want to try burrito wrapping him so he's not as squirmy. I'd also highly recommend giving Leo a treat every time you test regardless of whether it's a successful test. In fact, play with his ears and give him a treat so he associates handling his ears with a reward.

I'm linking a post on helping us to help you. It provides information about a lot of the basics along with instructions for setting up a spreadsheet to track Leo's progress and how to set up your signature. The signature will give us information about Leo so we don't keep asking you the same questions over and over again.

Please let us know how we can help. The members here are very generous with their time and knowledge.
 
Thank you for your kind reply.
Leo got a brother, Andy, Nov 2014. These two ate Pet food (raw) from Burgundy Pasture Beef and some kibble.
When we adopted Andy's brother, Isaiah, from my step-sis, Oct 2018, this 3rd kitty did not like the 'burger meat,' so we ended up changing to half kibble + half wet (canned). It's actually been in the last year, Isaiah started having problems by straining to urinate and as a newbie homeopathy user, I treated him with Cantharis 30C. It worked! Anyhow, I'm sure if we were checking the pets' weight more closely, we would have noticed Leo's weight loss sooner. I've become anti-medicine and anti-vet for awhile now.... (MS for 31+ years). So Leo's blood sugar levels went unnoticed until I could feel how lightweight Leo's become and bony!

I'm using my mobile phone to write back to you, so likely have typos and left off an answer you asked. My apologies!
 
I sure was hoping Chewy would let me donate the food our kitties can no longer eat.... unfortunately, we have seven flats of it. I was purposely staying ahead of the supply due to issues. They said this:

"I've sent you emails with 4 prepaid return-shipping labels. Please print the labels out, tape them to the shipping box (making sure to cover any old labels) and drop it off at your local FedEx facility. We can even call FedEx to schedule a pick-up for you. Once the warehouse notifies us that your order's been received, we'll provide you with a full refund. :) Since there are 7 to return, you can do 2 to a box and then for the very last shipping label, you can just have 1.
Follow the instructions below to make sure your return arrives to us safe and sound:
-Use your original box or any plain, unmarked cardboard box.
-Remember to remove any pre-existing labels or stickers from the shipping box.
-Attach your new return label to the shipping box.
-Seal your box completely.
-Drop it off at your local FedEx facility.
Let me know if there is anything else I can help you with today! "

I don't have the shipping boxes.
 
Super bummed!
1) tried to do BG, but again, ER4!
Grrr. Protein treats and all. Leo is so cagey.
2) Costco is out of kitty canned food, but should have a shipment early next week. This is what DH said. I asked WHAT is coming in...

ETA: it was asked on FB, but I DID forget to use Vaseline!! That might have made a difference!
 
Last edited:
I could contact Chewy and let them know you don't have the original boxes. They may have a solution. Their customer service is generally very good. Alternatively, if you order more food from them, use the boxes they send the new food in for the returns.
 
I could contact Chewy and let them know you don't have the original boxes. They may have a solution. Their customer service is generally very good. Alternatively, if you order more food from them, use the boxes they send the new food in for the returns.

They are sending boxes! I guess times are tough and they are not donating as others have experienced when a new diet is needed. I added some new low carb items from the list to replace some of our 'inventory.' So freaky to not have things, especially food, easily and plentifully available.
 
I guess times are tough and they are not donating as others have experienced when a new diet is needed

The last time I had 22 cans out of 24 (tried getting the cat to eat it twice) they made me return it too so I'm thinking the good old days of Chewy telling us to just donate it are going away.

The 2nd case was a different food they no longer carry so they told me I could donate that one.
 
Tested BG from ear successfully today--finally. [373] And that was even after my first failed attempt at blood from a pad.) Argh! Still not anything. Not willing to give up, I went for his ear. Obviously warmed it sufficiently this time!
Though the Semglee hasn't been started, I still want to go through the motions with the BG test first before feeding.

I notice I'm not filling his water bowl nearly as much, and take this as a good sign.
 
Last edited:
How do I figure a kitty's ideal weight for dosing purposes?
I was just reading comments from another kitty situation who uses Lantus. One of the Admins said, "Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) starts cats at 0.5u providing your cat is eating a low carbohydrate canned food diet or 1.0u if your cat is on dry food or a high carb diet. With TR, your cat must be on a low carb, canned food diet."

My kitty has been switched to a low carb canned food diet for about a week now (minus one mishap when old food was snacked on when DH mistakenly fed the other cats the old food and Leo was caught eating their left-overs. I thought it was fine until I realized it was the old food!

I would like to have an idea of how much Semglee to use before the vet appointment, 1/4/22. It was this group's FB counterpart social media that Vetsulin is not for cats, but use Lantus or Semglee. Vet tech wasn't aware of Semglee, so I sent info to them. Fortunately, this vet is open to changing her usual stance/protocol for Vetsulin and will prescribe Semglee pen. Oh, that's the other thing, she is accustomed to the vial, not the pen. I understand a vial, but I do not know either the differences with a pen.
 
I'm excited to see today's BG #s as they are lower than they were seven days ago of 411 & 419;
373 B4 breakfast today &
276 B4 dinner tonight.
I hope this trend continues!
 
Hello and welcome.
How do I figure a kitty's ideal weight for dosing purposes?
Ask your vet, they can usually tell you what they think is an ideal range. Sounds like yours has lost weight recently? As for starting dose, if all low carb wet or raw it's 0.5 units per dose if following SLGS for dosing, TR uses a cat weight based formula, which often ends up around 1 unit, but depends on the cat.

Good news on the BG trend, that is promising! It can take a few days for the higher carbs to work their way out of the system.

A request on the spreadsheet, any change you can turn those lime green cells back to white? If not, I'll tag someone to help you. We reserve lime green for dangerous low numbers, so it's startling to see it.
 
Hello and welcome.

Ask your vet, they can usually tell you what they think is an ideal range. Sounds like yours has lost weight recently? As for starting dose, if all low carb wet or raw it's 0.5 units per dose if following SLGS for dosing, TR uses a cat weight based formula, which often ends up around 1 unit, but depends on

A request on the spreadsheet, any change you can turn those lime green cells back to white? If not, I'll tag someone to help you. We reserve lime green for dangerous low numbers, so it's startling to see it.

Thank you! Vet appointment tomorrow at 10am to get script and learn how to do shots.

Seems his weight loss has been occurring before our eyes and not quite realized until he was rather boney. We have three kitties which is no excuse. I came across a video I sent to a friend earlier this year, and Leo zoomed across the floor and was playing chase & hide 'n seek with the third cat. He definitely had energy then, so this diabetes shows up after that--just not sure when. Too bad I didn't notice sooner.

The SLGS appeals to me. I know from the phone conversation last week with the Vet Tech when advised of the UA & sugar, that Vetsulin is what is prescribed, but I did send the office info on Semglee and my preference for that in pens. After the Vet returned after a day off, the Vet called me and said she'll write it for Semglee/pens, though she was accustomed to vials.

I corrected the worksheet, so it won't be so confusing. I don't know how that happened since you have to deliberately highlight and change a color. ‍‍

Thanks, again.
 
Last edited:
Sounds like the vet is on board and you are all set to go! Just make sure you have the right syringes, U-100 for Semglee/glargine vs. U-40 for Vetsulin. Take a read of the Sticky Notes at the top of this forum Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars for more info.
 
Vet prescribed Semglee pen, 1U every 12 hours. I realize now the words, SLGS or TR were not used, but by the looks of it, it's TR dosing. She's wants me to do a curve next week, and for a follow-up visit next week. Do I really need a follow-up appointment?
 
Generally, you want a syringe with a thinner needle -- 30 or 31 gauge (U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings).

SLGS is something that was developed here. It's not something your vet would recognized. Please make sure that what the vet suggested is actually the TR protocol. As long as Leo is eating ONLY a low carb, canned food diet, TR is an option. If you're giving him any dry food or high carb treats, you would need to consider SLGS.
 
Do I really need a follow-up appointment?
Did the vet say why the appointment? Even when I started out listening to the vet for dosing, I'd drop off the spreadsheet at the office (back in the day, now I'd email), and follow up by phone call. No need to take the cat in.
 
So, it looks like all I need, besides the prescription, are the Insulin Syringes U-100 31 G x 5/16-in 1/2 Unit Markings, 0.3-cc.
Is that right? I want to make sure before I click for the syringes order.
 
Did the vet say why the appointment? Even when I started out listening to the vet for dosing, I'd drop off the spreadsheet at the office (back in the day, now I'd email), and follow up by phone call. No need to take the cat in.

Exactly. I agree with you.
 
Generally, you want a syringe with a thinner needle -- 30 or 31 gauge (U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings).

SLGS is something that was developed here. It's not something your vet would recognized. Please make sure that what the vet suggested is actually the TR protocol. As long as Leo is eating ONLY a low carb, canned food diet, TR is an option. If you're giving him any dry food or high carb treats, you would need to consider SLGS.

Wet food only from the list of seven carbs and under, so this is TR, correct? I'll have to ensure the vet and I are on the same page.

Thank you for your help.
 
Low carb is below 10% so you can go a bit higher on the food if needed. TR requires all low carb wet or raw food.
 
Oh, no! I need to find where I can get this Semglee Pen script filled. As posted on the FB group, where can I get it without spending $342.25 (GoodRx Pet price!) for Semglee Pens.) Walgreens let me down after promising Tues the script cn be picked up at 2pm. Promises for next day, next day and now I find out who knows when it will come in. Walgreens supplier doesn't carry it or something. Now it's Tues and Leo's BG was higher than when he was diagnosed. Mark's Marine Pharmacy doesn't even list Semglee Pen.
 
I don't know if you have Publix in Texas. I'm in Alabama and I got 1 carton of 5 3ml prefilled pens back in September at the Publix Pharmacy at the GoodRx price of $154 plus tax. I see in the GoodRx app that other pharmacies near me have it at similar prices: Costco, Kroger, and Walmart. Publix did have to order it and I had to wait a week or so for it to come in. Bama was on another insulin [ReliOn Novolin N] at the time so I was not totally without insulin.
 
I don't know if you have Publix in Texas. I'm in Alabama and I got 1 carton of 5 3ml prefilled pens back in September at the Publix Pharmacy at the GoodRx price of $154 plus tax. I see in the GoodRx app that other pharmacies near me have it at similar prices: Costco, Kroger, and Walmart. Publix did have to order it and I had to wait a week or so for it to come in. Bama was on another insulin [ReliOn Novolin N] at the time so I was not totally without insulin.

The problem with GoodRx is that there are eligibility checks before getting the discount; the first eligibility requirement:
- I am not filling a prescription for a pet

The only one without any restriction was Walgreens, so I went there first. After promises they could get it, they could not. I've lost 2.5 days without the script, and now Leo's BG was higher this morning than the BG that first diagnosed him. :(

But, I went to Costco and they might have the script tomorrow--maybe--since it was so late in the day when I dropped it off. Yay! The syringes I ordered probably won't arrive yet, so I'll need to find these locally.
 
The problem with GoodRx is that there are eligibility checks before getting the discount; the first eligibility requirement:
- I am not filling a prescription for a pet

The only one without any restriction was Walgreens, so I went there first. After promises they could get it, they could not. I've lost 2.5 days without the script, and now Leo's BG was higher this morning than the BG that first diagnosed him. :(

But, I went to Costco and they might have the script tomorrow--maybe--since it was so late in the day when I dropped it off. Yay! The syringes I ordered probably won't arrive yet, so I'll need to find these locally.
I use the ReliOn brand of syringes from Walmart. $12.78 for a box of 100. No one has ever mentioned anything to me about the fact that I'm filling the prescription for a pet and I've used GoodRx for other meds for Bama.
 
Costco sells 1/2 unit marked syringes.

The Costco gal looked and the box said nothing about half unit so I passed, but still need the syringes. Yay, though! The insulin pens were in, finally, but the syringes I ordered will not arrive until Monday. Sure was hoping Costco had the correct syringes. While initial dosage is 1 Unit, a full box of 100 not half-unit? I was hoping I could find the correct ones at another local store.

Thoughts?
 
Last edited:
I use the ReliOn brand of syringes from Walmart. $12.78 for a box of 100. No one has ever mentioned anything to me about the fact that I'm filling the prescription for a pet and I've used GoodRx for other meds for Bama.

Cool! Are these half unit as well? I know I've been told before and all wound up over everything, especially since it took five days to get the prescription properly filled. Prescription in frig, but no needles, though we do have these for DH SQ Testosterone shots: Easy Touch 29 G, .5mL, 1/2" Not sure if these are half-unit or not, but all I need is 1 unit 2X/day. If a picture helps, let me know.
 
A lot of the Costco staff don't know they are half unit syringes. Take a look at the Relion box yourself.

Sorry! Just don't have the experience/knowledge yet.

All the pieces are here, I know. Trying to find what I know I found before on HOW to use the pen as a vial and get the I unit drawn into the syringe (wherever I can find it. I just didn't want a box of 100, if I didn't know where/what to look for... and the Saturday Costco Pharmacy line was long!)
 
Cool! Are these half unit as well? I know I've been told before and all wound up over everything, especially since it took five days to get the prescription properly filled. Prescription in frig, but no needles, though we do have these for DH SQ Testosterone shots: Easy Touch 29 G, .5mL, 1/2" Not sure if these are half-unit or not, but all I need is 1 unit 2X/day. If a picture helps, let me know.
I use the 31 Gauge, 8mm (5/16") Length Needle, 3/10mL Syringe which does have the half unit markings. Sorry I don't have a photo of the box. ReliOn is Walmart's brand so you won't find them in other stores.
 
You can get syringes with half unit markings at a Walmart. Their ReliOn Brand syringes of 0.3 cc (30 unit) capacity come with half unit markings. Cost $12.58 for a box of 100
This is what the packaging looks like: either box
:
upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9-jpeg.62508
 
Last edited:

Thank you, for all these details. It's becoming more clear to my dense brain. I've personally had experience with whole unit syringes and never the half-unit. Thank you.
 
You are welcome. :cat: Just be sure to keep the pens on the middle shelf in the fridge.:cat:
Just keep asking questions :cat:

Thank you!

Out of four injections, I suspect one or two were fails and didn't properly go into Leo. :( This morning's BG is up there, so last night was a fail. I shot today and I'm not confident.

Today's appointment with the Vet was for ME to show HER how the pen is essentially used as a vial to use with a syringe/needle, not a pen needle. I think she had a big aha! Wow, she was willing to let me use a pen needle! UGH. I don't think that's a good idea for animal or human! So I'm thankful she was/is willing to go outside her comfort zone.
Curve at home will be done next week.
Do you think Leo is safe to forego BG until then? That's pretty much the vet's input. But I want to run this by you.
 
Do you think Leo is safe to forego BG until then? That's pretty much the vet's input. But I want to run this by you.
Hi are you asking if you can give him insulin without testing? You don't want to risk Leo having a hypo situation

If so no, you need to test him in the morning AMPS and at least 2 tests after that, maybe @+2 and @+6 , more would be better
to see how the insulin is working and how low his BG is dropping.

Same goes for the night cycle PMPS

I was looking at your spreadsheet why do you have 2 of the same dates lusted for each day?
Are you putting his PMPS BG there?

His PMPS BG test would go in the PMPS cell (square) and the units you are giving

Can you add what food you are feeding to your signature please
Is it low carb wet? Are you feeding any kibble at all?

@Mom of 3 Fur Babies

Have you read about the 2 dosing methods for lantus , semglee , ?
Which ever one you will follow will let you know when to increase or decrease Leo's dose
Whenever you decide please add that to your signature.
Here are the 2 dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
I was looking at your spreadsheet why do you have 2 of the same dates lusted for each day?
Are you putting his PMPS BG there?

His PMPS BG test would go in the PMPS cell (square) and the units you are giving

Can you add what food you are feeding to your signature please
Is it low carb wet? Are you feeding any kibble at all?

Have you read about the 2 dosing methods for lantus , semglee , ?
Which ever one you will follow will let you know when to increase or decrease Leo's dose
Whenever you decide please add that to your signature.
Here are the 2 dosing methods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

I realized the error of my SS and edited it.:oops: Now it makes sense! Once a good full week of Semglee is used, I will be doing a curve at home; maybe one or two extra days because I felt there were some new-user errors in the beginning and maybe even still! Suspect Leo's fur was given the shot vs into a fat layer--which is difficult to find on him for two reasons: 1) He's so thin and bony now, 2) he has so much fur!

I know the vet wants to be in charge of dosing, but she wasn't even familiar with HOW to use the Semglee pen (as a vial) with a syringe/needle vs pen needle, AND they were originally going to prescribe Vetsulin, but I quickly requested Semglee pen--and I had to explain it was generic Glarnine for Lantus. She knew about Lantus. I am grateful she is willing to use a different med than their practice is accustomed. Sooooo, I need to understand the two dosing methods. I hope the link above helps me understand which dosing method to use.

Thank you!
 
You need to be testing during each 12 hour cycle to see how the insulin is working and to see how low Leo's BG is dropping in case you have to intervene with food to bring his BG up. You need to test his BG during the night cycle also
Let us know if you understand the dosing methods
Not a bad AMPS this morning, please check him around +3 to see how the insulin is working and depending on that I would suggest getting a +5 or +6 test

Looking at your SS I see you are feeding Fancy Feast Pate, you can just put FF Pate in your signature and get rid of 100% food from 11 page list of 7 carbs or less

The food from Burgungy Beef Pasture what is that raw?
 
Last edited:
You need to be testing during each 12 hour cycle to see how the insulin is working and to see how low Leo's BG is dropping in case you have to intervene with food to bring his BG up. You need to test his BG during the night cycle also
Let us know if you understand the dosing methods
Not a bad AMPS this morning, please check him around +3 to see how the insulin is working and depending on that I would suggest getting a +5 or +6 test

Looking at your SS I see you are feeding Fancy Feast Pate, you can just put FF Pate in your signature and get rid of 100% food from 11 page list of 7 carbs or less

The food from Burgungy Beef Pasture what is that raw?

Just now seeing your message this morning, 1/18, so didn't see the +3 BG suggestion. I'll do that today. Does it matter if Leo eats some extra an hour after his breakfast for the +3?

I was planning the curve for tomorrow (Wed), but have a Dr appointment that day and just realized it today. I thought the appt was today, so today (Tues) might be the better day for the curve. Then blood labs on Thursday. Best days for the curve is today or Friday. I'm concerned my shot yesterday morning was a miss--look at the PMPS of 425! That's the highest it's ever been. Leo started insulin at dinnertime, 1/9/22, so it's been nine days of shots 2X/day, IF they were properly administered. Yet yesterday he was more alert and sat on the couch with me; I could tell he was even grooming himself (wet fur), so I expected a better BG than 425. What a disappointment.

While Leo is busy with starting his food, I get the shot ready and while he is eating, I give him the shot. But today, he stopped eating shortly after the shot, but he didn't eat that much. While getting his attention back to his bowl, he threw up a little. Not his normal way, at all, especially when it comes to eating breakfast or dinner. I lured him back to his bowl with nutritional yeast flakes (he loves this). It worked and he ate. I'll put out some of the raw food. I just did and he ate some.

Yes, the Pet Food is raw and consists of 100% grass fed (no antibiotics or hormones), 80/20 ground beef and a mixture of organ meats--liver, tongue, heart...

Oh, and I weighed him yesterday and he was 9.2#, which is more than two weeks ago: we weighed him at 9#, but vet office weighed Leo at 8.95#. Anyway, he feels more solid after nine days insulin than before.
 
Let us know if you understand the dosing methods

I forgot to say I cannot see that TR would work with three kitties and ketone testing, but now we are on Day 9, so how to incorporate SLGS at this point. From the vet's point of view, the dose is 1U; after a week, do a curve and send her the results.
 
Last edited:
I forgot to say I cannot see that TR would work with three kitties and ketone testing, but now we are on Day 9, so how to incorporate SLGS at this point. From the vet's point of view, the dose is 1U; after a week, do a curve and send her the results.

Oh, wait! Both says, "Test regularly for ketones." :banghead:
 
Just now seeing your message this morning, 1/18, so didn't see the +3 BG suggestion. I'll do that today. Does it matter if Leo eats some extra an hour after his breakfast for the +3?

I was planning the curve for tomorrow (Wed), but have a Dr appointment that day and just realized it today. I thought the appt was today, so today (Tues) might be the better day for the curve. Then blood labs on Thursday. Best days for the curve is today or Friday. I'm concerned my shot yesterday morning was a miss--look at the PMPS of 425! That's the highest it's ever been. Leo started insulin at dinnertime, 1/9/22, so it's been nine days of shots 2X/day, IF they were properly administered. Yet yesterday he was more alert and sat on the couch with me; I could tell he was even grooming himself (wet fur), so I expected a better BG than 425. What a disappointment.

While Leo is busy with starting his food, I get the shot ready and while he is eating, I give him the shot. But today, he stopped eating shortly after the shot, but he didn't eat that much. While getting his attention back to his bowl, he threw up a little. Not his normal way, at all, especially when it comes to eating breakfast or dinner. I lured him back to his bowl with nutritional yeast flakes (he loves this). It worked and he ate. I'll put out some of the raw food. I just did and he ate some.

Yes, the Pet Food is raw and consists of 100% grass fed (no antibiotics or hormones), 80/20 ground beef and a mixture of organ meats--liver, tongue, heart...

Oh, and I weighed him yesterday and he was 9.2#, which is more than two weeks ago: we weighed him at 9#, but vet office weighed Leo at 8.95#. Anyway, he feels more solid after nine days insulin than before.


Hi , I'm going to tag a few members for you to take a look at your SS.
You really don't know what Leo's nadir (the lowest point in the cycle )is because you do not have enough data.
You need to be getting some tests in during both 12 hour cycles to see how the insulin is working for him and see when his nadar is.
We adjust the dose by his nadir not pre shots
It's important to get at least a before bed time test in, say around +3, more would be better.
If you plan to follow SLGS please add that to your signature and spreadsheet so members are aware of it

@Wendy&Neko

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Chris & China (GA)

@tiffmaxee

Hi ladies I know that @Mom of 3 Fur Babies doesn't have much data yet but can you please look at her SS , I see she plans on doing a curve soon.
I advised her to get more tests in for both 12 hour cycles Also see #47 and #48
I see this morning his pre shot was 166 she shot 1 unit, yesterday was 185 ,no test after the 185 and so far nine after the 166.
I know for new member they should not shoot if the pre shot is under 200 ,stall ,don't feed and post for help
Do you think she should move over to the lantus board?

Thank you :bighug::cat:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top