Leo/newly dx

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like he went lower than he's used to last night, and is now bouncing. Many cats go lower at night. If you can, I'd try getting a before bed test each night, if it's at least 2 hours after the PM shot. Once we have an idea of his nadirs on this dose, we can suggest what to do next.
 
Looks like he went lower than he's used to last night, and is now bouncing. Many cats go lower at night. If you can, I'd try getting a before bed test each night, if it's at least 2 hours after the PM shot. Once we have an idea of his nadirs on this dose, we can suggest what to do next.

Thanks! Somehow our 12-hour interval went to 10am-10pm, so I'll need to set an alarm and get the midnight BG.
The other thing is if the shots I give miss (or don't go in properly); my daughter has given the pm shot the last few nights. :(
 
Last edited:
Dumb question about BG Curve process.
If feeding, as needed/more frequently than just two meals, how does this reflect a proper curve? Maybe I'm over thinking it. EX: Somehow we ended up on a 10am & 10pm BG/Feed/1U insulin, but if I feed him again at +3 hours, then the +4 BG is effected since it's only been one hour since last food? Should I not feed again until four hours after first meal of the day?
 
Dumb question about BG Curve process.
If feeding, as needed/more frequently than just two meals, how does this reflect a proper curve? Maybe I'm over thinking it. EX: Somehow we ended up on a 10am & 10pm BG/Feed/1U insulin, but if I feed him again at +3 hours, then the +4 BG is effected since it's only been one hour since last food? Should I not feed again until four hours after first meal of the day?

Even though you are doing a curve on 1-21-22 you need to get more tests in now just not @+2, +3 , and +4.
Also when you get a chance please read the 2 dosing methods you will want to followfor lantus/semglee each one will tell you when you need to increase or decrease Leo's dose.
I'll post the link below

Tagging @tiffmaxee
Thanks Elise


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
Even though you are doing a curve on 1-21-22 you need to get more tests in now just not @+2, +3 , and +4.
Also when you get a chance please read the 2 dosing methods you will want to followfor lantus/semglee each one will tell you when you need to increase or decrease Leo's dose.
I'll post the link below

Tagging @tiffmaxee
Thanks Elise


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Thanks, again.

At first I thought one of the dosing protocols required ketones testing, but turns out both do. I have two other kitties and this sounds impossible. (Of course I thought BG testing would be impossible, too!)

It appears the TR protocol has the most success. I'm just concerned with the ketones testing. ETA: But.... it looks like I'm beyond TR at this point, so SLGS seems to be the path. Help! If that's even possible.

I really cannot do the curve BG tests until Friday, but might be able to get a +6 and +8 tomorrow, Thursday. I missed the window today already.
 
Last edited:
You can get a meter that checks for ketones using blood or lock Leo in a room with his litter box when you know he might use it.

Any tests after amps and pmps you can get will be valuable. Testing between +4-8, a different time each day might help find the nadir. For many cats it’s mid cycle between +5-7 but for some earlier and others later. So move the test times around. Lantus onsets between +2-3 so if you get a test then and it’s lower than the pretest it’s likely his bg will continue to go down from there, especially if it’s an active cycle.

Feeding in between shots helps level out the bg and won’t influence the curve negatively. A working pancreas brings the bg down 3-4 hours after eating. When the bg drops too fast or too low it can lead to higher bg so if that happens food helps prevent a bounce. A lot about fd is counterintuitive so read the stickies and keep asking questions.
 
Last edited:
You can get a meter that checks for ketones using blood or lock Leo na room with his litter box when you know he might use it.

Any tests after amps and pmps you can get will be valuable. Testing between +4-8, a different time each day might help find the nadir. For many cats it’s mid cycle between +5-7 but for some earlier and others later. So move the test times around. Lantus onsets between +2-3 so if you get a test then and it’s lower than the pretest it’s likely his bg will continue to go down from there, especially if it’s an active cycle.

Feeding in between shots helps level out the bg and won’t influence the curve negatively. A working pancreas brings the bg down 3-4 hours after eating. When the bg drops too fast or too low it can lead to higher bg so if that happens food helps prevent a bounce. A lot about fd is counterintuitive so read the stickies and keep asking questions.

I'll get the ketone test strips.

What is the pretest?

I had Leo eat more today, though the last opportunity before bumping into the BG test time for PMPS, he was napping. Of course once into the two hours, he was acting ready to eat. Maybe I should have woken him up? Now it will be 4.5 hours since he ate last and the PMPS ensues.

Somehow our 12 hour cycle got pushed out little by little and now ends up at 10am and 10pm. Is there a way to slowly inch earlier?

As far as the vet, do I just tell her I'm following the SLGS dosing protocol or do I let her think she's prescribing the dose? This is all new to me. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
You can shoot 30 minutes every every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle. What is your preferred shot time?

As for your vet is concerned it depends on the vet. You could print a copy of SLGS and see the response. My vet is unique in that although he’s a diplomat in internal medicine he saw us as a team. Some vets want to be in charge and know very little about fd we have found.
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee
Thank you Elise :cat:
I totally forgot is that 30 minutes earlier once per day/ or 15 minutes earlier for each 12 hour cycle
@tiffmaxee

Thank you both.
So the time can be adjusted for earlier by 15 minutes only once per 12 hour cycle or by 30 minutes in a single day, correct? Discussing with my husband the timing. Since our daughter is here, for now, and eats at different times than us (with her fiance, Max), I want to set an understanding of what needs to happen and when. (And yes, I prefer to use the counter on the kitchen--prime real-estate!)

Thank you.
 
The vet is awaiting the curve and will be completed tomorrow, 1/21/22.

From the glossary:
CURVE: When a blood glucose curve is done to determine the cat’s reaction to the insulin/dosage, a blood glucose (BG) test is generally taken every 2 hours for a 12-hour period. The curve can also be a full 24-hour curve, an 18-hour curve with tests every 3 hours or a mini curve.

The most pokes we've done so far is three in one day. A 12-hour curve will consist of a total of seven pokes, correct?
AMPS
+2
+4
+6
+8
+10
+12/PMPS

yeah.... I'm a bit nervous Leo will avoid me after the 4th poke, and forever more. :nailbiting:

Please correct me where needed.
Thanks to all of you.
 
That’s correct. If you do an 18 hour one less poke. Are you giving a treat after each poke?

Absolutely, Leo gets a treat. Using the Pure Bites dehydrated chicken.

I see the 18-hour is every three hours.. I'll do the 12-hour, seven pokes because that's what the vet wants to see. Going forward, I prefer the 18-hour!

Thanks!
 
If he’s red or pink you could probably shoot an hour early but with the two blues at amps there’s a possibility you might need to set alarms for later in the cycle. Shooting an hour early can act like an increase.
 
BG/food/insulin a little early tonight at 9:45pm, but he was more than ready for dinner despite food at 10am, 12:40pm, 4:40, & 7pm.
After PM shot, daughter thought she felt something wet on Leo's fur, plus smelled the medical smell; I'm the one who gave both am and pm shots. :( I will say my daughter's sense of smell is still not back to normal after Covid in October--she can smell, but it's not quite right.

Does a BG +1 or +2 tell me anything tonight? Or just wait since the curve is tomorrow?
 
Last edited:
I always feel for wetness AND smell fur after shots to see if it went in. Lantus is super strong aou can tell right away if its in their fur. I think semglee is also strong? Hope this step helps a lil bit so u know if ur doing a FS if you find u keep doing FS it helps to really get in there and see the skin thru the fur if u can, it helped me when moving to a smaller needle length.
 
I always feel for wetness AND smell fur after shots to see if it went in. Lantus is super strong aou can tell right away if its in their fur. I think semglee is also strong? Hope this step helps a lil bit so u know if ur doing a FS if you find u keep doing FS it helps to really get in there and see the skin thru the fur if u can, it helped me when moving to a smaller needle length.
Thanks a bunch.
This is Day 12 of shots, so I've given about 20 shots, and my daughter, two. You would think I would have it down by now. I can easily give myself a SQ, but my kitty?! There's no fat on the boy and just not confident I'm doing it correctly, plus his BG numbers have been wonky, to date. Today is the BG curve data, so not hopeful it's even valid. :(
 
Thanks a bunch.
This is Day 12 of shots, so I've given about 20 shots, and my daughter, two. You would think I would have it down by now. I can easily give myself a SQ, but my kitty?! There's no fat on the boy and just not confident I'm doing it correctly, plus his BG numbers have been wonky, to date. Today is the BG curve data, so not hopeful it's even valid. :(
U will get used to taking blood, and Leo will too. Pretty soon doing a curv will b just another day. If feel ya, Ares was very underweight whn i began too! Skin n bones! YT has helped immensely, i watched videos over and over of how to get that grab and the tent...found some that got really up close. I will search them again and link in a moment. Could you create a new post in the lantus board so i can find you easier? This one is pretty long. If i have missed it and u have already done it, sorry. Just write "date Leo AMPS ##s" and i will try n find u there. If u dont hav time, ill link here when i find video
 
U will get used to taking blood, and Leo will too. Pretty soon doing a curv will b just another day. If feel ya, Ares was very underweight whn i began too! Skin n bones! YT has helped immensely, i watched videos over and over of how to get that grab and the tent...found some that got really up close. I will search them again and link in a moment. Could you create a new post in the lantus board so i can find you easier? This one is pretty long. If i have missed it and u have already done it, sorry. Just write "date Leo AMPS ##s" and i will try n find u there. If u dont hav time, ill link here when i find video

Thank you! Like I mentioned, the videos you mentioned are appreciated. I've seen a number of them, but maybe not the one(s) that helped you.

See if this works: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/date-leo-amps-s.258188/
 
ok, this one, the vet give some great details so if u want, watch the whole video, she is one of those GOOD vets apparently (that are so hard to find when it comes to FD)

this one has the one that might help ua lik bit on how to see the skin (helped me after my first fur shot!)

i hope these links work!!
 
This is encouraging....
AMPS=352
+2=357
+4=312
+6=307
+8=272
+10=275
PMPS/+12=269


Of course he gets a dehydrated chicken treats with the BG, but then some food with each two-hour BG. Excessive? Maybe, but his BG is going down each time..... I'll take a yellow over the pink, so maybe I'll see some blue before long, and one day, green! (Sorry, that yellow is hard to see.)

 
Last edited:
Can you please start a new thread with the above question. We try to keep the threads at a reasonable length. Just link this thread to the new one so there's context.

Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top