Leaving Tomorrow for 4 days Robbie care ?'s

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
Hi all
Been working ridiculous amounts - haven't been able to read much here or post - just spent a while charting out his numbers to update SS and will post before end of night tonight- he's going to the Vet for fructosimine (sp?) test and a check up on other things before we leave.
Basically the cisapride continues to keep him regular and his numbers are pretty stable - not great numbers but not lots of moving around like before. Until of course last night when I was trying to train my friend on his testing and shots - he was 190 at amps +11 HUH? I have NO idea where that came from but we didn't shoot 5 (of course) by shot time pmps he was 270 and we shot 4 - of course than he wanted to eat all night and ended up at 416 amps today.... anyway...
One of his caregivers is EXCELLENT at the shots - just a natural but can't and won't test him - she freaked out with the blood etc. and the other caregiver (who I thought would be great) did a partial furshot this morning and was a DISASTER but was willing to get the testing down and tried a couple of times and can probably do it - not sure what I'll do with this yet. The good shot giver is staying here Sun-Wed but won't test - the one who will test doesn't want to have to come here if someone else can shoot him but said she'll come test him mid day if that helps... I'm kind of wanting to not go at this point - but have to figure this out today/tonight after a crazy work day ahead.
Any thoughts, input, whatever is appreciated. thanks all hope everyone is doing well-
 
Recently I left Poopy in the care of DH, who previously would not have anything at all to do with testing or shots. DH finally agreed to give shots, but still no testing.

I lowered Poopy's dose by .2u (I know not a lot but it helped put my mind at ease that Poopy wouldn't drop too low based on past history). For me, it was worth having Poopy run higher for the weekend due to less insulin than to chance him going too low. And Poopy was still getting enough insulin to help keep his numbers low enough to where he could still process food.

If you sometimes shoot 4u instead of 5u, perhaps Robbie should get 4u (or less) while you are gone if testing isn't feasible at PSs. Worth a thought anyway. :smile:
 
Teresa - thanks I was planning on lowering his dose but not sure how much - until yesterday was going to put him at 4.00 (since he has been getting 5.0 regularly) but than yesterday he had an Odd ball low number which threw me. Going to process this all today and hope for some input here and see where we land.
 
If it's been a while since you've shot as low as 4u, I'd think he'd be fine at 4u while you're gone...but maybe have her shoot 3.5u to feel less stressed about it all? Not too much of a drop but still enough to avoid trouble going too low.

I know how one worries when leaving and not having testing done. nailbite_smile
 
I'd say your probably safe with 4u, but that one low +11 number makes me hesitate. Do you know how low he may have gone on it? I'm also thinking that if the shot-giver is staying at your place while you're gone, she could make sure he has enough food mid-cycle so he doesn't drop too low?

Carl
 
Yes, after Saturday one care giver is staying here - and the one who's taking care of him Saturday CAN test him - she's LOUSEY at giving the shots (one furshot one partial furshot today) but she's OK at testing and willing to do it - she's also right around the corner so she said she'd come test him mid-day even when she's not giving him the shots - so I think I'm kind of covered. I'm going now to update the SS so there's some thing to go on if I need to ask you all for some help While I'm away
 
OK the SS is updated to about 5 days ago - that's as far as I got and it's so late I'm falling asleep doing this - just thougth it would give some info. he gets fed as he gets his shot most times but also gets tested before he's fed
 
Ellen,
My wish for you and Hubby is to have a great time on your trip. Y'all need the break, and Robbie is going to still be doing well when you get back. Post here if you have any concerns or issues, or PM one or more of us to get our attention. :-D

Have some fun!

Carl
 
Oh ellen, i felt the same way. i went away with my family for a week camping and didn't really want to go at the last minute. Had a neighbor come and stay with him and test and shoot him. She would txt his shot numbers and would confirm the dosage. She did great and copper did too! So glad we went on our trip camping. We all had a wonderful time and it was a GREAT break! Enjoy the time away and relax, he will be ok!!!

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top