SaraMV
Active Member
I apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum to post this, and I can move it if so. Taz was diagnosed on Sunday, and has been at the Emergency vet's with Pancreatitis since Monday. There's a possibility that he'll be coming home tonight.
He was originally prescribed lantus at 1unit. But since he's been at the vet's, they had him on an IV insulin drip until yesterday. They started him on Lantus on Tuesday but his numbers were still high, so from what I understand, he was getting both insulins at the same time until he stabilized in numbers. Yesterday his BG dropped down to 86, so the IV insulin was stopped. They currently have him on 3 units of lantus twice a day, and I believe the vet said he's been in the 300-400 range today. They still have a reading to do at 4 and then 7, to see how his numbers are before we pick him up.
He is being fed at 10 (morning and night) at the vet's, but I need to move his feedings to 7:30. He has been fed 3 times daily for years, so I'm still deciding if 2 or 3 feedings will be best for him/us. If they gave him insulin at 10 this morning, he'll be due for another shot at 10 tonight. How do I change his feeding time and shot schedule? I work and am not home for a 10am schedule. Do I skip a dose of insulin to get him to the right feeding time?
He was originally prescribed lantus at 1unit. But since he's been at the vet's, they had him on an IV insulin drip until yesterday. They started him on Lantus on Tuesday but his numbers were still high, so from what I understand, he was getting both insulins at the same time until he stabilized in numbers. Yesterday his BG dropped down to 86, so the IV insulin was stopped. They currently have him on 3 units of lantus twice a day, and I believe the vet said he's been in the 300-400 range today. They still have a reading to do at 4 and then 7, to see how his numbers are before we pick him up.
He is being fed at 10 (morning and night) at the vet's, but I need to move his feedings to 7:30. He has been fed 3 times daily for years, so I'm still deciding if 2 or 3 feedings will be best for him/us. If they gave him insulin at 10 this morning, he'll be due for another shot at 10 tonight. How do I change his feeding time and shot schedule? I work and am not home for a 10am schedule. Do I skip a dose of insulin to get him to the right feeding time?