Korbel Hypo'd

Status
Not open for further replies.
63
I gave a bit more honey on the tongue and got her to eat another few bites of wellness + karo.
I'm going to run for more test strips while I can.
 
i'm sorry, i just can't help but think about this happening so unexpectedly if mommie were'nt home. it's the totally unexpected part and the extent of this hypo that gets me.
 
Okay, loaded up with more test strips!

Latest reading is 54 (10.5+hrs)

She's really not very hungry anymore. I got her to eat a little bit off of my finger, but not much. I put a little more honey on her tongue.
 
lori and tom said:
i'm sorry, i just can't help but think about this happening so unexpectedly if mommie were'nt home. it's the totally unexpected part and the extent of this hypo that gets me.


Yeah, and she's asymptomatic right now. If I hadn't seen her when she collapsed, I wouldn't have tested her and I'd probably be getting ready to give her another shot right about now, and most likely would NOT have tested before I did it.....
 
there's no reason to beat yourself up, Korbel will be ok so now you can just consider it a lesson learned.

Can you test in another 30 minutes?

You're doing a great job keeping her numbers up. I know it is a struggle.
 
Yeah, I'll test her again in another few minutes.
The good news is the dogs are finally leaving her alone, so I think we're safe from vomiting for the time being!

I have 8 or 9 strips left now in the old batch. Do I want to do anything to prepare for the switch? Should I do a few tests on both old and new strips to see how they compare?
 
Back down to 39

I gave her a bigger shot of honey directly into the mouth.
I couldn't get her to eat any food, so I gave her a few bites of sliced turkey meat. Hopefully she will keep that down.

What do I do if I can't get her to eat much anymore?
I could force feed her if necessary, I have a few syringes.
 
Is there any place nearby where you could get HC canned food -- stuff with gravy? Or could someone pick some up for you? Generally, a cat will eat the gravy and it's not all that filling.
 
She's really starting to get grumpy with me!
Back up to 80
Gave her another 2 bites of turkey meat and got her to eat a fingerfull or 2 of her actual food.
My thought is to skip the direct honey this time since I'd like to see how she holds without the sugar boost, or is it too soon for that yet?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Is there any place nearby where you could get HC canned food -- stuff with gravy? Or could someone pick some up for you? Generally, a cat will eat the gravy and it's not all that filling.

Not sure what you mean by HC canned food?
 
sure, give it a try. You should test in another 1/2 hour since this is probably just a sugar boost and might wear off again.

HC canned food - high carb canned food. Most people use the Fancy Feast varieties that have gravy. The gravy gives them a good carb boost without filling them up, and most cats LOVE it and will eat it even if they're full. If FF makes her sick, that might or might not be a good option.
 
Thanks
Pretty much any of the FF has always made her sick.
Other than wellness, I've got cheese and turkey slices that she would probably eat, but those are both more high protein.
I have some wellness dry dog food, which in a pinch would maybe be okay?
I don't have any of the dry crunchies left from earlier-but they made her sick anyways.
The grocery store is open for about another 2 hours or so if I wanted to get more crunchies. Maybe it was just the amount that she ate?
 
usually we stay away from crunchies and use wet food or wet food + syrup. There are some cats here who can't have wheat gluten (which is in most of the gravy foods) so they use low carb wet + syrup, just like you have been doing. I think you're fine, I was just trying to think of a way to entice her to eat a little more carby stuff.
 
Okay thanks
Out of curiosity, is it just wheat gluten or is it gluten in general (wheat, barley, rye) I actually have celiac disease and need to avoid gluten because of that...

Okay, it's been about 30min again, be back in a sec.
 
71
Got her to eat a few more bites of turkey and she ate a few bites of canned food on her own.
I'll test again in 30min.
 
You're doing great!

I don't know the answer to your gluten question. Most people avoid the Fancy Feast (or other food) that contains gluten -- but it's wheat gluten in FF -- because many cats are allergic. I've seen on various food labels that they contain other forms of gluten. Maybe someone with better information on nutrition can answer your question.
 
maybe she's leveling out a little, if that last test was after only low carb food. I hope she'll start to bounce soon.
 
The last test didn't have any honey directly onto her tongue, but it did have some of the canned food mixed with karo from earlier. Although, I didn't actually mix much karo into it.
If this next test is still up around 70 or 80, I'll try getting her to eat a bit of her canned food that has not been mixed with karo.
 
Hope + (((Baby)))GA said:
Does she like ice cream?

I don't know if they do or not, but I do! They do like yogart though.
I don't have either on hand though. Maybe another trip to the store is due...
 
If Korbel tends to vomit with new foods, I'd stick with the canned food that you know will stay down. I think trying just LC if numbers are staying in the 70s range sounds like a good plan.
 
LOL! It's not a bad idea to get a treat for yourself for once this is finished. :lol: Let's see what the next test is, maybe it won't be necessary to carb her up anymore (I hope, I hope!).

For future reference, next time you're shopping for Wellness, the Sardine Shrimp & Crab is 16% carb. If she'll eat that, it would be good to have on hand for low number situations.
 
67
We are now 12.5hrs post shot.
After the last test (30min ago), I gave her a few bites of turkey and some canned wellness with karo mixed in.
This time I got her to eat just plain canned wellness with no karo.
If in 30min when I test again, she's holding right around 70, would it be safe to say we're out of the woods or could she drop again yet?
 
if she's 70's at the next test, you can probably wait an hour to test again. I don't like to stop testing altogether until we have at least 2-3 rising tests in a row. The 67 is encouraging, though. At least she didn't drop this time.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
For future reference, next time you're shopping for Wellness, the Sardine Shrimp & Crab is 16% carb. If she'll eat that, it would be good to have on hand for low number situations.

I don't know if I've ever seen that flavor. I know both of my cats will turn and walk away from the salmon one.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
if she's 70's at the next test, you can probably wait an hour to test again. I don't like to stop testing altogether until we have at least 2-3 rising tests in a row. The 67 is encouraging, though. At least she didn't drop this time.

I was holding my breath on that one. The past few times she'd get to ~80, then drop to 70, then drop to the 30s.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
You're probably going to need to stick with this for a bit longer.

Have you eaten anything?

Yeah, I had dinner about 2hrs ago between tests. But ice cream reallly does sound good!
 
Okay so +13 is 52
So, she's dropping again, but not as fast as before. The last 2 times have been without any syrup.
She ate some plain canned food again after this test.
I'll check again in 30 min. If she drops more, I'll get her to eat the food/karo mix again
 
don't be afraid to use syrup if you need to. Remember, we don't want her to get too full because we don't know how long we'll have to keep this up.
 
+14 53
Since she's holding at about 50, I just put her in front of her food and she ate a mouthful. I'll check again in 30 min.

Here's a numbers recap if it helps at all. I might have missed some since the times don't match up-I know I was testing more frequently than this.

2units lantus + breakfast
+4.5- noticed symptoms and tested 41/46
+6 41
+6.5 80/84-vomited
+7 79
+8.25 42
+8.5 29
+9.5 64
+10 63
+10.5 54
+11 39-big dose of honey
+11.25 80
+12 71
+12.5 67
+13 52
+13.5 56
+14 53
 
I'm encouraged that she is staying in the 50's. Of course I would like 60's or 70's better, but it's better than 30's.
 
Sorry, I'm a little late posting this, computer is acting up.
So, it's time to switch to the new batch of strips.
14.5+
old strips-52
new strips-55
 
how are you feeling? I'm tired, so I know you must be. How do you feel about adding some Karo again, to try to get Korbel surfing in a range that is more suitable for sleeping? It might still take a while to get her to that range, so some syrup might help.
 
+15 62
I gave her a shot of honey like you suggested.
The 62 was without any syrup though!
Yeah, I'm getting tired. Glad tomorrow is Sunday!
She doesn't seem like she's dropping anymore. I'm thinking test in another hour-give her ear a break!
 
an hour sounds good.

One of these days the insulin has to wear off! We have seen this go on for a long time, though. It's that pesky overlap, it makes Lantus a great insulin for cats, but when you make a mistake it sure does take a long time to get past it.
 
That's what I keep thinking, it has to be almost done!
Thanks for hanging out with me, I really appreciate it! If you're getting really tired, I think we're over the worst of it. I just want to get one more reading for sure and then decide what to do next. If she's holding in the 60s I might call it a night. If she drops at all, then I'll keep going.
 
+16 84
So at +15 I did give her a tongue-full of honey, so I'm sure some of it is inflated from the sugar.
What do you think?
 
how about this - one more good scoop of food with Karo mixed in and test in 1/2 hour. Then I really, really hope we're done. She has pulled this 80's thing on us before. :roll: Though her numbers do look different now than last time so hopefully she'll stay up.

What time (and time zone) is your shot due tomorrow? Obviously you won't be shooting 2 units again. If she's shootable in the morning, I'm thinking maybe 1 unit.
 
I gave her the food with karo mixed in. You're right, 80's tend to be followed by 30s!

Normally her shot is 5 or 6 in the am (mountain time). Today I slept in and was late with the shot. She's due for her shot in 7hrs (6am MST). I'm tempted to skip the am and do a few random tests tomorrow and re-evaluate for the pm shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top