Kitty to ER and Chewy Surfs 3/18 +38 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

Kitty has been "off" all week. Her BGs have been high, which I was not sure if it was due to me trying to lower her dose after catching the low numbers last weekend and early last week, or if it was due to an underlying problem. I have known since Thursday that she was really "off". Yesterday, on her midcycle, I actually shot at +6.5 because her numbers were rising so fast. I tested throughout that cycle and did not like the response. THEN last night at her PMPS she was 581 and was HI at +1. This morning her AMPS was 351, but she didn't want to eat and she just seemed "off" and I knew she was dehydrated. So, to the ER we went!

Here are the findings...A month ago her kidneys were holding their own, but today both the CRT and BUN were much worse. The CRT was 3.7 (last month 2.3) and the BUN was 107 (last month 52). Both of these numbers can be affected by dehydration--so, the hopes are that both will reverse in a day or two. The CRT is the truest indicator of kidney function and for the last year she has remained in the 2.3 range, so I am hoping today's high is due to the dehydration. She has Pancreatitis--AGAIN! Her Lipase was off the chart. She has an infection--of some type. The vet could not get urine from her, but she suspects some type of urinary or kidney infection. I am not certain I think it is urinary, as she has had none of her usual symptoms that normally accompany her UTIs. Since the vet could not confirm the type of infection, she gave her a broad based AB (zenniquin at my request) to attempt to knock whatever it is out. Her white blood cells were very high.

The Vet did not have a blood ketone meter, so the only way they could test for ketones was by urine. As I said, Kitty had no urine, so they could not test. I am very worried about ketones, as she has all the stars lining up.......low appetitie, high BGs and infection. They gave her fluids, so I am hoping she will urinate soon and I can test.

She is bright and alert and she is a trooper, so hopefully she will fight back once again. But, she is old.


Chewy +38 127
I can't say much more....he is surfing along. I am hoping his BGs will continue to go down, but for now I am monitoring and prepared to shoot when necessary.

Wishing everyone a Great Day from Kittyville.......She deserves the naming rights today!......
 
reiki.jpg

Sending prayers and healing reiki to sweet ms. Kitty.
 
Oh kim, i am praying for kitty right now!!! Sure hoping she gets better very, very soon! How old is kitty?

So glad to see Chewy doing so well!

You are doing a GREAT job!!!

Lori
 
Oh Kim I'm so sorry! Kitty is a fighter! plus you take such good care of her .... I will stop and light a candle for her today. My thoughts are with you.
Nancy .....
 
Thanks to everyone for the good vibes. A little good news...Ketones are negative. At least the ketones did not sneak up on me! She has eaten a little since we have been home, but she is moving very slowly! Hopefully, this is just a severe bout on Ptitis and the kidneys will revert back to better values. It is so obvious how sore she is in her abdomen.

Once again, Thanks to everyone!
 
Glad to see the ketones are neg. Will send continued good vibes and light and love your way.
(((((hugs)))))
:YMHUG:

ps: go Chewy!!!
 
Kim
I have a nova max Plus blood ketone meter that you can have. I don't have strips but if you want it it's yours. Just pm me a mailing address and I can mail it tomorrow.
Carl
 
Oh Kim,
I am so sorry about Kitty,
I hope she starts to feel better soon
Thank goodness no ketones!
you are both in my prayers today!
 
Kitty Midshot Preshot 371 shot 3.2

At least it is not 500+! She actually ate her food at shot time! :-D

We have the fireplace going and the door open to the porch so she can choose between her two favorite places. She loves to lay in front of the fire or on the porch-- so, I am giving her both options. She is secluded away on the porch at the present time. She doesn't want much to do with anyone, anything or any cat!

Chewy

+46 131 Still waiting and watching!
 
Kim, I am so sorry Kitty isn't feeling so well. I hope she starts feeling better very soon!
Hugs for both of you! :YMHUG:

And a :RAHCAT for Chewy.
 
Glad to hear the ketones were neg. Now just need to get rid of the UTI infection i guess. You are doing such a good job in taking care of her and she knows it! She will get better soon!
 
Sorry to hear this news about Kitty but I'm so happy that she tested negative for ketones. I'm sure this will all turn around as she is in the best possible hands.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top