kse
Very Active Member
Good Morning!
Kitty has been "off" all week. Her BGs have been high, which I was not sure if it was due to me trying to lower her dose after catching the low numbers last weekend and early last week, or if it was due to an underlying problem. I have known since Thursday that she was really "off". Yesterday, on her midcycle, I actually shot at +6.5 because her numbers were rising so fast. I tested throughout that cycle and did not like the response. THEN last night at her PMPS she was 581 and was HI at +1. This morning her AMPS was 351, but she didn't want to eat and she just seemed "off" and I knew she was dehydrated. So, to the ER we went!
Here are the findings...A month ago her kidneys were holding their own, but today both the CRT and BUN were much worse. The CRT was 3.7 (last month 2.3) and the BUN was 107 (last month 52). Both of these numbers can be affected by dehydration--so, the hopes are that both will reverse in a day or two. The CRT is the truest indicator of kidney function and for the last year she has remained in the 2.3 range, so I am hoping today's high is due to the dehydration. She has Pancreatitis--AGAIN! Her Lipase was off the chart. She has an infection--of some type. The vet could not get urine from her, but she suspects some type of urinary or kidney infection. I am not certain I think it is urinary, as she has had none of her usual symptoms that normally accompany her UTIs. Since the vet could not confirm the type of infection, she gave her a broad based AB (zenniquin at my request) to attempt to knock whatever it is out. Her white blood cells were very high.
The Vet did not have a blood ketone meter, so the only way they could test for ketones was by urine. As I said, Kitty had no urine, so they could not test. I am very worried about ketones, as she has all the stars lining up.......low appetitie, high BGs and infection. They gave her fluids, so I am hoping she will urinate soon and I can test.
She is bright and alert and she is a trooper, so hopefully she will fight back once again. But, she is old.
Chewy +38 127
I can't say much more....he is surfing along. I am hoping his BGs will continue to go down, but for now I am monitoring and prepared to shoot when necessary.
Wishing everyone a Great Day from Kittyville.......She deserves the naming rights today!......
Kitty has been "off" all week. Her BGs have been high, which I was not sure if it was due to me trying to lower her dose after catching the low numbers last weekend and early last week, or if it was due to an underlying problem. I have known since Thursday that she was really "off". Yesterday, on her midcycle, I actually shot at +6.5 because her numbers were rising so fast. I tested throughout that cycle and did not like the response. THEN last night at her PMPS she was 581 and was HI at +1. This morning her AMPS was 351, but she didn't want to eat and she just seemed "off" and I knew she was dehydrated. So, to the ER we went!
Here are the findings...A month ago her kidneys were holding their own, but today both the CRT and BUN were much worse. The CRT was 3.7 (last month 2.3) and the BUN was 107 (last month 52). Both of these numbers can be affected by dehydration--so, the hopes are that both will reverse in a day or two. The CRT is the truest indicator of kidney function and for the last year she has remained in the 2.3 range, so I am hoping today's high is due to the dehydration. She has Pancreatitis--AGAIN! Her Lipase was off the chart. She has an infection--of some type. The vet could not get urine from her, but she suspects some type of urinary or kidney infection. I am not certain I think it is urinary, as she has had none of her usual symptoms that normally accompany her UTIs. Since the vet could not confirm the type of infection, she gave her a broad based AB (zenniquin at my request) to attempt to knock whatever it is out. Her white blood cells were very high.
The Vet did not have a blood ketone meter, so the only way they could test for ketones was by urine. As I said, Kitty had no urine, so they could not test. I am very worried about ketones, as she has all the stars lining up.......low appetitie, high BGs and infection. They gave her fluids, so I am hoping she will urinate soon and I can test.
She is bright and alert and she is a trooper, so hopefully she will fight back once again. But, she is old.
Chewy +38 127
I can't say much more....he is surfing along. I am hoping his BGs will continue to go down, but for now I am monitoring and prepared to shoot when necessary.
Wishing everyone a Great Day from Kittyville.......She deserves the naming rights today!......