kitty sick now in ER with DKA ...COMING HOME!

Status
Not open for further replies.

nancy and payne

Very Active Member
My cat Payne was Dx 10/10 and has been on ProZinc until 3/9 when a new vet changed us over to
Lantus, which has been going well. She is very prone to ketones and has had DKA x3 but the Lantus
seems to be helping.

This AM we needed to find her to bring her for morning food/shot. Her BG was 228 but she looks as if
her stomach is upset and won't eat and we found two piles of throw up. Last night one of the kids gave
her sardines in water and that looks like it's in the throw up. With pzi I would just skip this shot and
try and get her to eat (we just gave her 1/4 pepcid) and resume with PM shot. But I am not sure what
to do with Lantus?

And it doesn't look like ketones, she looks like I do if I eat the wrong stuff ..... she won't pee so I
don't know about the ketones but she has none of the signs AND I know the signs! I see another post
called the Lantus people over, so I'm hoping for some advice.
Thanks,
Nancy
 
Re: New to Lantus kitty sick this AM what to do about shot?

No matter what in situations like this, kitty will need some insulin, maybe just not the full dose. Since 3u has not been taking you guys below 200, you can either shoot a reduced dose and continue to try to get her to eat (maybe 2u or 2.5u) or since you have not been seeing blues, you can shoot the full dose ONLY if you plan to be around today to test just in case. I doubt a full dose would take you down past the low 100s, but kitties like to throw us curve balls.

In the future, you now know sardines don't sit well with her. They are also very salty, which usually isn't good on kitty systems anyway. Do you have anything on hand that will entice her to eat, like forti flora, or tuna juice?
 
Re: New to Lantus kitty sick this AM what to do about shot?

She won't eat, tried everything ... don't want to give her insulin with no food, I could syringe feed her some and see if I can get some baby food in her. (she doesn't like tuna and I have no forti flora) no I haven't posted on the Lantus board.
 
Re: New to Lantus kitty sick this AM what to do about shot?

I think I would post over there also, Nancy. I will ask someone to come over but they do get busy over there. If you post be sure to post as a newbie to Lantus with a emergency question so your post doesn't get lost.

The syringe feeding sounds good. I know people who have put food on their finger to get the kitty to eat......I know it sounds crazy but sometimes it works....

As you probably know, once their tummy is upset, they really can go off food. If you can't get her to eat (syringe or otherwise) I would be testing for ketones often. You are well aware of how quickly ketones can happen.
 
Re: New to Lantus kitty sick this AM what to do about shot?

Steve and Jock always said that in instances like this you should always give *some* insulin. You don't have to give the full dose, but I would give something. Syringe feeding with either baby food or watered down pureed regular food would be a good option.
 
Re: New to Lantus kitty sick this AM what to do about shot?

Thanks everyone for your responses, this is being continued in Lantus land but I appreciate all the help,
she was soooo good yesterday.
 
Re: New to Lantus kitty sick this AM what to do about shot?

Been following you in Lantus. She will be good again. Just make sure your kids know she is not allowed any people food!
 
Re: New to Lantus kitty sick this AM what to do about shot?

What kids? cat(2)_steam :lol: Just gave her SQ .... cross fingers/paws!
 
Re: New to Lantus kitty sick now in ER with DKA .....

I hope this is a short stay since you caught the ketones in time. I also have a ketone prone cat . We need to do the ketone dance as well as the sugar dance. Cats that get DKA are at increased risk of getting high ketones or DKa again. However even if it does happen again the effects can be minimized. Nomad's first DKa bout was a week. The second time was only a one day stay because I was monitering for ketones like you did with Payne. There is light at the end of the ketone tunnel.
 
She is up, eating and talking to everyone! Just yesterday I thought, is she going to make it? She is an amazing cat! Funny how you love them but once they become diabetic, you build a deep bond ....4x DKA in only five months! she is some girl! Tests are good, everything almost back to normal, what happened? She went from "perfect" to almost dying in 12 hours and back to good in 2 1/2 days!????

I want to thank everyone who was there on Sunday morning when I put out my SOS .... I don't really ever panic but I don't know Lantus and was confused as to what to do with her not eating. If this was food related (which at this point I don't know) I just spent some of my kids college fund :lol: so kids, pay more attention next time and look for scholarships. :lol: I always start in health and I always get helped or pointed in the right direction! the Lantus people have been awesome!

How do people deal with all the questions about taking care of a diabetic cat? without a group of dedicated people to ask like we have? especially Sue, how are you always there? you are awesome! I went back over my old threads trying to find answers and on my first post five months ago, you were the first responder! and Hope you were the second! All of you! I am so thankful I have you! I have learned so much .... ketones and monitors, insulins and syringes, vets and "vets"! But I have learned more than stuff, I have found people who love their babies as much as I do and thrill in that love. Who counsel and feel for each of us on our journeys with our babies and are there to console us when the journey ends ....

Thanks to all of you! MY BABY IS COMING HOME!!!
Nancy and soon to be home Payne!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top