Kitty & Chewy 3/21

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning!

I am anxiously waiting to hear from the vet this morning. Kitty would not eat her FF this morning, but did decide that a can of tuna would be okay! She seems about the same. Her AMPS was 266 this morning--I am happy to see the preshots coming down. I am hoping that the lower preshots might be an indication of her being in less pain. I am giving sub qs daily and the fluids have always lowered Kitty's BG, so I am not sure what is influencing the lower BGs. She still is wobbly and weak in her back legs-- maybe due to pain-- I am not sure. I do not suspect neuropathy. Kitty has been licking a concrete planter that I have on my porch-- I am thinking she has a calcium deficiancy , which is possible with both ptitis and cancer. I read a lot last night about Ptitis and Cancer-- I can convince myself that either of these are what she is suffering from. She has all of the classic Ptitis symptoms, so as bad as Ptitis can be....I am hoping that is the final diagnosis.

Chewy
+114 105
How I wish he would drop down into the greens! I am so glad to see the lower numbers without insulin, but I think he needs to be lower. I just am not sure how to influence the numbers---I cannot shoot into these readings.

Wishing Everyone a Great Day from Kittyville......
 
Re: Kitty & Chewy 3/21 +114 105!

Kim - dey give you a new extra sweet toy to play wif and you BREAK it! (GO CHEWBABY GO!!!). :-D

Thoughts and prayers for KiKiBaby and a BIG HUGE HUG for MamaBean,
 
Re: Kitty & Chewy 3/21 +114 105!

Okay, just heard from the vet. It is not good. I was right with my speculation over the weekend- it is her Kidneys. I was concerned with her kidneys 5 weeks ago and took her in and had blood work performed-- but, it came back okay. She has been drinking excessively for a period of time now and I have been concerned over the kidneys. Probably the biggest concern is she is anemic-- another thing I mentioned to the vet this weekend. I knew that the licking of the concrete was a sign of anemia, but her red blood cells were in a normal range on the blood work at the ER Sunday, so I thought maybe it was a calcium deficiancy. She was dehydrated on Sunday, so the RBC would have been more concentrated and masked the anemia. I know this is not good news and an uphill battle. The vet asked if I wanted to go to the vet school, but I am not sure that would help, but I am going to consult with them. I am taking her back to my vet this afternoon--we will start B12 shots, fish oil treatments, Iron supplements, and Pet-tinic. The other Big negative is her bone marrow is not regenerating many red blood cells---I used epogen in a CRF cat I had before to help with this, but supposedly it is not easy to get now. I will make an attempt to find it today--there are some negatives in using it, but it can be very beneficial.

Kitty is not in a good place at the moment and I am not sure I can help her. I will be proactive and make all attempts to educate myself and get re-aquainted with kidney disease-- but, we are in for an uphill battle.

Thanks for thinking of us both.
 
Re: Kitty & Chewy 3/21 +114 105!

Oh Kim I'm sorry.
I know this will be a struggle but you will do the best you can for Kitty as you always do.
I didn't know there was a shortage of Epogen, my cousin that had the stem cell transplant for leukemia last year and is still recovering just had her first injection of Epogen last week, she has had to have blood transfusions sometimes 4 times a week, and although anemic she has iron overload (total iron stores) and will have to have chelation therapy when they get her red blood cells back up.
I'll be thinking of both of you and sending prayers.
 
Re: Kitty & Chewy 3/21 +114 105!

Kim - I'm so sorry to hear this and will keep you and Kitty in my prayers.

And - Chewy is doing awesome!
 
Very very sorry to hear this KIm. If anyone can win this uphill battle, it’s you and Kitty.
Love, light and prayers comin’ your way.
And a big hug too...
:YMHUG:
 
:YMHUG:

Hang in there. Praying for you and Kitty, (and watching Chewy's progress with bated breath).
 
Miss Kitty is a fighter, so don't rule her out yet. My prayers to both of you now. Remember how you felt you would never get her back to pre-Dx but you did. All the problems in the beginning and you beat them all! My prayers go out to you.
Nancy .....
 
Nancy is right
The 2 of youhae been through so much together
so many up hill battles, and I have watched the 2 of you rise above all of them
throughout the last year.
If anyone can help her thru this it is you Kim,
Stay strong and keep carrying on...
You are an awesome momma and miss kitty loves you :YMHUG:
 
I'm sorry Kim. If anyone can give Kitty the care she needs it's you :YMHUG: . Prayers to you & Kitty.
 
Kim,

Glad Chewy is doing so well without insulin!

I'm so sorry about Kitty. I will be thinking of you and wishing you the best. Sid is also anemic (22% last draw). The vet told me that we won't use epogen until he is down into the teens as the epogen in 25-50% of cats can completely wipe out the rbc but when it works, it works well. I hope if you use it it works for Kitty and that with some ABs, vitamin B, and your other treatments that she starts to show some improvement.
 
Kim, I don't like the news I read about Kitty. I will be praying for you & Kitty. I pray that the medicine & vitamins will help her body. That it will help build strength & rebuild blood cells so Kitty can be healthy again.

Hugs for you from me. Hugs for Kitty from Baxter :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top