kse
Member Since 2011
Good Morning from the Alley!
Kitty did pretty good last night. She ate decent and actually got on the bed and wanted to snuggle with me. She has not wanted to sleep in the bed in over a month. This morning she seemed extremely interested in eating, until I gave her 4 pills and a liquid med-- she did eat a little, but not as well as last night. We went outside this morning and she walked around and was much more alert than she has been recently. Once we came in the house, she ran half way up the stairs to go back to the bedroom-- then she stopped and turned around and looked at me as to say.....I shouldn't be doing this, pick me up! So, I did! She is asleep in the bed this morning and resting comfortably. The vet called this morning, and I did express my concern with her eating and she assured me they could increase the appetite stimulant if necessary.
I mentioned in an earlier post, that they told me she needed 4 units of Prozinc bid and even mentioned switching insulins. They made me promise I would give her the 4 units! In her discharge papers under diabetes it stated- poorly regulated! They even mentioned that they thought she had built up some insulin resistance from the pancreatitis, and I have read that is a possibility. Well, last night at her bid PMPS (after receiving 4 units in the AM) she was 302. I just couldn't imagine shooting 4 units into that-- so, I shot 3 units. I do agree that bid would be great for her due to the medication regiment, so I waited and tested my INSULIN Resistant cat that is poorly regulated and needs a new insulin and this morning at +12 (amps) and she was 156! :lol: I waited an hour and a half and she was 286-- I shot 2 units! I am more concerned with low numbers with her not eating than high numbers.
I do think she feels better. I just want her to EAT! The vet said this morning that she thinks the eating will return-- that is just will take time.....I hope she is right!
Chewy --tested this morning--86!
I haven't mentioned Sally (dog) recently, but she is doing Great. She was up to 14 units of N and her numbers were getting lower, so I started reducing her dose. She is now receiving 10 units bid! Her AMPS was 167 this morning! I think maybe her pancreas is continuing to heal from the severe bout of Ptitis. She feels wonderful and is a Happy Dog! I keep trying to remember how sick she was and hard it was to get her to start back eating and try to apply it to Kitty. But, Kitty has so many more negatives--- her age, kidneys and heart. But, it does give me some hope.
Thanks again for all of the well wishes. I am very anxious and nervous that she can go backwards again---she has SO much going on. But, today she seems better.
Wishing Everyone a Happy Easter from Kittyville.......
Kitty did pretty good last night. She ate decent and actually got on the bed and wanted to snuggle with me. She has not wanted to sleep in the bed in over a month. This morning she seemed extremely interested in eating, until I gave her 4 pills and a liquid med-- she did eat a little, but not as well as last night. We went outside this morning and she walked around and was much more alert than she has been recently. Once we came in the house, she ran half way up the stairs to go back to the bedroom-- then she stopped and turned around and looked at me as to say.....I shouldn't be doing this, pick me up! So, I did! She is asleep in the bed this morning and resting comfortably. The vet called this morning, and I did express my concern with her eating and she assured me they could increase the appetite stimulant if necessary.
I mentioned in an earlier post, that they told me she needed 4 units of Prozinc bid and even mentioned switching insulins. They made me promise I would give her the 4 units! In her discharge papers under diabetes it stated- poorly regulated! They even mentioned that they thought she had built up some insulin resistance from the pancreatitis, and I have read that is a possibility. Well, last night at her bid PMPS (after receiving 4 units in the AM) she was 302. I just couldn't imagine shooting 4 units into that-- so, I shot 3 units. I do agree that bid would be great for her due to the medication regiment, so I waited and tested my INSULIN Resistant cat that is poorly regulated and needs a new insulin and this morning at +12 (amps) and she was 156! :lol: I waited an hour and a half and she was 286-- I shot 2 units! I am more concerned with low numbers with her not eating than high numbers.
I do think she feels better. I just want her to EAT! The vet said this morning that she thinks the eating will return-- that is just will take time.....I hope she is right!
Chewy --tested this morning--86!
I haven't mentioned Sally (dog) recently, but she is doing Great. She was up to 14 units of N and her numbers were getting lower, so I started reducing her dose. She is now receiving 10 units bid! Her AMPS was 167 this morning! I think maybe her pancreas is continuing to heal from the severe bout of Ptitis. She feels wonderful and is a Happy Dog! I keep trying to remember how sick she was and hard it was to get her to start back eating and try to apply it to Kitty. But, Kitty has so many more negatives--- her age, kidneys and heart. But, it does give me some hope.
Thanks again for all of the well wishes. I am very anxious and nervous that she can go backwards again---she has SO much going on. But, today she seems better.
Wishing Everyone a Happy Easter from Kittyville.......