Kitty and Crew 4/8 --Doing Decent!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
Good Morning from the Alley!

Kitty did pretty good last night. She ate decent and actually got on the bed and wanted to snuggle with me. She has not wanted to sleep in the bed in over a month. This morning she seemed extremely interested in eating, until I gave her 4 pills and a liquid med-- she did eat a little, but not as well as last night. We went outside this morning and she walked around and was much more alert than she has been recently. Once we came in the house, she ran half way up the stairs to go back to the bedroom-- then she stopped and turned around and looked at me as to say.....I shouldn't be doing this, pick me up! So, I did! She is asleep in the bed this morning and resting comfortably. The vet called this morning, and I did express my concern with her eating and she assured me they could increase the appetite stimulant if necessary.

I mentioned in an earlier post, that they told me she needed 4 units of Prozinc bid and even mentioned switching insulins. They made me promise I would give her the 4 units! In her discharge papers under diabetes it stated- poorly regulated! They even mentioned that they thought she had built up some insulin resistance from the pancreatitis, and I have read that is a possibility. Well, last night at her bid PMPS (after receiving 4 units in the AM) she was 302. I just couldn't imagine shooting 4 units into that-- so, I shot 3 units. I do agree that bid would be great for her due to the medication regiment, so I waited and tested my INSULIN Resistant cat that is poorly regulated and needs a new insulin and this morning at +12 (amps) and she was 156! :lol: I waited an hour and a half and she was 286-- I shot 2 units! I am more concerned with low numbers with her not eating than high numbers.

I do think she feels better. I just want her to EAT! The vet said this morning that she thinks the eating will return-- that is just will take time.....I hope she is right!

Chewy --tested this morning--86!


I haven't mentioned Sally (dog) recently, but she is doing Great. She was up to 14 units of N and her numbers were getting lower, so I started reducing her dose. She is now receiving 10 units bid! Her AMPS was 167 this morning! I think maybe her pancreas is continuing to heal from the severe bout of Ptitis. She feels wonderful and is a Happy Dog! I keep trying to remember how sick she was and hard it was to get her to start back eating and try to apply it to Kitty. But, Kitty has so many more negatives--- her age, kidneys and heart. But, it does give me some hope.


Thanks again for all of the well wishes. I am very anxious and nervous that she can go backwards again---she has SO much going on. But, today she seems better.

Wishing Everyone a Happy Easter from Kittyville.......
 
Great news Kim!

I know she's SOOOOOO happy to be home with you - instead of all those mean people that think she bites! :lol: We all know that she just grumbles alot at people OTHER THAN you!!!

Hate that they don't take your experience into consideration when they say how poorly she's regulated... too bad you can't do an addendum to their paperwork that says "If only the staff would have dosed Kitty as directed, they would have found that her diabetes is perfectly managed on TID dosing!" Oh well - like you said, you can keep her regulated now that she's home.

Happy Easter!
 
Good to hear from you Kim, glad things are pretty good in the Alley and that Miss Kitty is feeling more like herself.
Good hungry vibes coming her way!
You are one awesome momma! :-D
 
Never a dull moment in Kittyville! (156) at +12? :o Glad she's home where you can look after her; I do hope her appetite will pick up :smile:

Chewy is doing sooo well! And, thanks for the Sally update; I had been wondering how she was. Encouraging news all the way around!
 
:-D

Today, l have thought that Kitty was doing better. She is very frail and weak, but she is showing some of her trademark traits.

I went to have Dinner with my family and the entire drive home, I was wondering what I would find when I came home. Would she Eat? Would she be as good as I left her? Just so many thoughts and emotions......She use to ALWAYS sit by the back door and wait for me when I left, but she has not done that in over a month. I had just accepted that those type of things were memories..........BUT, when I came home guess who had come down from the Bedroom upstairs and was sitting at the glass back door waiting for me?! Yes, Kitty! I came in the house to her meowing, swatting Chewy and going to her food bowl! No, she didn't eat a lot of food--- but, her interest level was very high.

I really thought Kitty was not going to survive this past week. She has been so sick. And, I know that she still is very sick and that her heart and kidneys are not good. I know. But, seeing her feel better tonight.......means everything to me. It really is the little things in life that mean so much!

Thanks for your continued good vibes!
 
Even with out the emoticons, I can hear you smiling, Kim. That's so awesome to "hear". If she's smackin' Chewy around, she must be feeling much better.

Carl
 
Wonderful news Kim,
I love that feeling when you are not expecting them to feel good or do something that
"they used to before FD" and all of a sudden they surprise you
Wonderful for you both!
I hope she continues! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top