Kitty 7/8 amps + 4.5 +6.5 pmps (mid day!) +5

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
7/8

amps 377 shot 3.5
+4.5 279
+6.5 315

Pmps 363 shot 3.5
+5 221


So, I have no idea why the amps is lower--fluids yesterday, 0 carb Tuna food, bupe on board, or the reduced dose? But, I am not increasing the dose without trying another cycle at 3.5. The drop was acceptable yesterday and the +8 was actually the lowest +8 I have recorded lately.

Jury is still out on the dose--but, based on the previous cycle at 3.5 units, I am shooting it again. We will see what another 12 hours gives us on 3.5 units.

Shooting at 1:30 now!

Sleep.................
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps

Good thing you're on the east coast because if it was the west coast, I would think you were crazy :) !!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6

+6 279


The 3.5 seems to be giving a shallow drop today. Even if it is a late nadir--there can't be much more drop.

I shoot again in 6 hours. Based on the nadir--should I increase the dose? It will be interesting to see the preshot--I hate that BIG swing rebound pattern. If by some chance the preshot is not high, would you stay with the lower dose and try to walk the numbers down that way--one preshot at the time?

If we have cleared the big rebound pattern, would it be safe to slowly increase or would you expect the rebound pattern to immediately reappear?

Let's just cut through the chase......what would you shoot next?!!!!!!
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6

Klinger's nadir used to move around on prozinc. Will you be able to get a +8?
I leaning towards sticking with 3.5 to see if the consistent dose helps level her out. But we'll see what others say and what the pmps bring.
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6

What Marcy said. Can you get a test later? Like +8 or +9. Her nadir may be earlier or later with the different dose. As long as her numbers aren't horrible I would give it a little longer.
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6

I actually went and got the meter to be sure I had the + reading correctly...It appears the +6 is more like +4.5 or +5, so there might be some more room for drop.

I shot at 1:30--I am at +6.5 now---would you wait or test now?

Sorry about putting the + down wrong---these mid night test...I'm sleepy!!!

I will test now if it will help...
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6

Okay, I went ahead and got a +6.5 ---315

She did eat about 30 mins ago--so there is probably a little food spike in the +6.5

Looks like a pretty flat curve--but maybe what I need if the preshot doesn't spike.

What do you think--obviously we have seen nadir.
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6 or something!

Try to get a +8 or +9 too. The curve is flatter but better PS's and it's only been 2 cycles? I would give it another cycle or two to see if rebound clears and numbers get better.
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6 or something!

You & Kitty make my head swim! There's no way I could keep up with that middle of the night shooting.

When do you go to the vet school?
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6 or something!

I am expecting to hear form my local vet this morning--that means nothing! I probably will have to pester her mid afternoon to get some direction. But, once I hear from her we will make our plans.

I sure hope she calls....if not....I will heading to the vet school on my own.
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6 or something!

So do you have to get a referral from her? I guess I thought you already had an appointment.
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps +6 or something!

You are a stud Kim. Shooting in the middle of the night has to be tough. You are an awesome Kitty Momma!
Hope you get some good guidance from your vet and the vet school folks.
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps + 4.5 +6.5 pmps (mid day!)

PMPS--363 (mid day) so much for a schedule...

Sticking with the 3.5. The drop isn't as good, but for the present time we are avoiding those dreaded reds and blacks.

I am going to increase the fluids to daily and see if that will help her Ptitis--so that should also benefit her BG. We will see.....

(We definitley don't want to get into those HIGH 150s Barbara and Thumper are dealing with :lol: )
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps + 4.5 +6.5 pmps (mid day!)

Hi Kim!
Sorry about Kitty's pancreatitis!
but I must say, I kinda like her numbers on the 3.5
I would stick with that and see what happens tonight

have a great day!

Densie and Shakes
 
Re: Kitty 7/8 amps + 4.5 +6.5 pmps (mid day!)

kse said:
(We definitley don't want to get into those HIGH 150s Barbara and Thumper are dealing with :lol: )

:lol: You are bad...making fun of me! That is high when you consider her PS was only 193! :razz:
 
+5 221

Her nadir will probably be later, so hopefully she will see blue! I am not testing her anymore until pmps--Kitty and I have an agreement! She is eating Great!

The 3.5 is giving her nice results. I know the numbers are not great--and I could be more aggresive, but it seems good to see the numbers calm down.

I have talked to the vet--I will post about it shortly--I've got to med Kitty!
 
I lean towards edging the dose up in small increments and see where you can find the best balance. I don't think you can leave her in numbers this high, but of course you don't want to start up the rebound again either. I would experiment with nudging it up, maybe feeding the drop if it starts to get a little steeper, and seeing if you can get better numbers that way. I do think the rebound will come back, but I also think you might be able to avoid it if you are strategic about things. Maybe not, but it's worth a try. If not, I would switch insulins, I don't know you would have much choice at that point (unless you wanted to go TID or similar with PZI).

I'd also test daily for ketones if you aren't already.
 
I am testing daily for ketones! I do not want any part of them.

As far as insulin change, I want to see what happens with this Ptitis before addressing that.
 
Did I miss what the vet wants you to do? It's highly likely cause that yellow I was seeing earlier was bothering my eyes. :lol:

You know I'm pretty clueless but what about giving the R insulin till you can get a better handle on the pancreatitis?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top