Re: Kitty 6/19 amps +3 +6 +11.5 pmps +3 +5
OK, I am going to totally disagree with a lot of people here!!!!!
- No need for a dose reduction if the PS is over 200. One point of the no-shoot is to tell you that you want to keep to the same dose above 200 (or whatever your no shoot is). You reduce (or wait) if you get a PS under 200. If there was a need to reduce or wait if your PS is 250, then the no-shoot would be 250, but it is most definitely NOT.
- You don't measure PZI by subtracting the absolute #s in the drop from PS to nadir. You measure it in percentages. You got a 52% drop today, so on a 285 PS you can expect a nadir around 135. Now that is not exact by any means, but that is the way to estimate it rather than using absolute numbers. [ETA I realize I misunderstood what someone wrote and no one actually said this. But it still applies to the alternative - if her PS came down by 40% today, her next PS might come down by another 40% if you stuck with the dose, which would put her around 170 for the next PS, so on that basis you might shave 0.2 off the dose, although you could opt to aim for the 170 PS and then plan to reduce the dose a little if you did get that.]
- You do get longer duration with a higher dose, and least on PZI Vet I saw that pretty consistently with Bix.
All that said I might have pulled back to 4u just b/c you are in uncharted waters now and you might want a little more margin for error and not want to be up all night. But you want to capitalize on the breakthrough, and keep in mind that the PSs is in the high 200s, it's not like it is low 200s or something where I can understand getting nervous. The 239 maybe, but she was up what, 50 points already in 1/2 hour? That is zoom, and means she needs the insulin.
I mean, I do understand getting nervous :YMHUG: and I have done the exact same thing and reduced a lot (though I have to say I reduced a lot on 150 PSs, not ones near 300! :razz: ). Typically on a PS under 200 you need a dose reduction no more than 0.2u, so on a higher PS reducing a lot is just counterproductive IMO.
Now she'll go and prove me wrong :mrgreen: but I would expect you might get some decent drop early in the cycle due to some possible overlap, but then she'll go higher later in the cycle and be high in the morning. It's all part of the learning process and I don't mean to sound criticial, it's just frustrating to watch it in action. I had people yell at me (which I did NOT appreciate, LOL!) in my time... now I get what they must have been feeling as they watched along! :lol: