Kitty 11/25 tid Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

kse

Member Since 2011
I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

I have been a little concerned over Kitty. We all know that she is not a young cat, age 16, but she seems to be sleeping more lately and just not as active. Another concern I have is she is drinking more water, or so it seems. I am still dosing tid and her "normal" dose is 4 units. Her preshots have been in the mid to high 300s for the last few weeks, with an occasional high 200.

I decided today would be a good day to "curve" a cycle to see if I could determine what her BG is actually doing during the cycle. I was almost convinced that she was getting little drop during the cycle.

11/25
amps 392 shot 4 units
+2.5 284
+4 195
+6 188
+7 232
+8 (mdps) 338

So, I was actually pretty happy with the cycle. I realize there is probably room to increase the dose, but I do have concern over the bounce it might create. On cycles that I have been 30 mins late, I have actually gotten some 400+ readings in the last week. I am considering starting to dose 30 mins early to try and cut off some of the increase.

It still appears that Kitty gets very little duration!

Psssss....don't look at the SS to compare data.....I promise, I promise.....I will update it! Believe it or not, I do have the test results!

Okay....At the expense of everyone telling me they have no TID experience.....would you increase the dose or be happy that Kitty is seeing blues? Remember BID....she NEVER saw blues!!! But, I don't want to be complacent.

I am still not convinced that Kitty's kidneys or something might not be in play ......I am intending on getting bloodwork done next week to see if something else is going on with her.

Ketones were negative today!!!

Any thoughts appreciated!
 
Re: Kitty 11/25/11 tid Update

I promise, not a word about the "you know what".
First, happy to see a Kitty update, Kim.
Beyond your question, here's what I am reading..... that she seems less active, drinking more maybe, and sleeping more. That might mean something, or might mean only that winter is coming ('cept for the drinking) That goes with the "whole cat" concept I try to remind people about. Sometimes the numbers suck but the outward signs of how the cat seems to feel are good, so the numbers become less important. I'm concerned that you don't seem too encouraged about the "outward" signs, which makes the numbers seem more important...

That curve doesn't look bad, she's dropping more than 50%, and if you told me she was running around the house chasing imaginary friends all day, and causing mischief, I'd say "they're just numbers" don't worry much. Yes, there's room for increase, but not if it's going to cause wonkies with her preshots.

I would say I'm not discouraged, but I am happy you have a visit scheduled, just in case there is something else going on. Better to know sooner rather than later.

Yay for no ketones!

Carl
 
No nagging here. (I know, bad precedent). You continue to do wonders with Miss Kitty. Agree not a terrible curve, not a great one. Vet visit not a bad idea.
 
Except for the high ps's, a very nice curve. Technically there's room for an increase but you're getting a good drop. I would be happy with blues and prob not change.
 
Ok...well I dont think I will agree with everyone else...and here is why
I worry about the drinking more and less active
I am experienceing that with Shakes and it worries me.
Glad you are going to bring to the vet...
If everything comes back ok..I think I might increase....(yes I think that is what I am going to do with Shakes)

Glad to see an update on Miss Kitty, now that is just my 2 cents...
I know what a hard time you had with her so I dont blame you for staying staus quo..
 
Good to hear from you! I'm with Denise, I think I would increase, but there's no reason to take my advice....just look at Thumper! :smile:
 
Aww I'm sorry Ms. Kitty is feeling a little off. I'm glad you will be getting the blood work done to make sure she's ok.

I think I would raise her dose by tiny .1u increments to try to avoid any bouncing. Lets see if we can get her in even better numbers, you have done amazing so far.

Thank you for the update, don't be a stranger.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top