Keiko AMPS 474

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
Last post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-21-15-amps-241.133510/

Going backwards again?. K is sleeping all day today, except to eat. Decreased activity level and high bg.
I've been giving him cooked chicken the last 2 days. Certainly no carbs there. He enjoyed it.

The Alphatrak curve had readings in the 400s readings near the end of the day. I increased his dose to 10.5. Sometimes I wonder how it would be without insulin. In the 500s? 600s? or 400s like he is now?
Thanks in advance for your help!
 
Did you drop back to 10.0u this morning? the ss shows 10 in the dose column.

My gut feeling is that these are bounce numbers. I could be wrong, but I'm looking at that blue pmps 193 on the 18th and it looks like he bounced afterwards. I'm not sure about increasing his dose.

The day you did the AT curve, i think it was 2/21 above the line, looks like a bounce cycle to me. There was no normal lantus curve to it and all the tests were high.
 
Julie,
I don't understand. what would cause the bounce? He's been on 10 units for several weeks. I changed him to 10.5 yesterday evening (2/22) well after the 18th. What could cause a bounce on the 18th?


I just learned today that my vet is taking another job starting this Friday. She was seemingly inexperienced (IMHO) with a case like Keiko's but she was kind, flexible and was fine with me buying supplies from less expensive sources (not her office). And we have been through a lot together and I felt she really cared about Keiko. She plans to get a Maine coon kitten this summer. Of course there are other vets at the practice but I'm feeling on my own.

PS, I corrected the spreadsheet.

Thank you so much, your input is so helpful.
 
Cats aren't critters that get a dose and stay on it. That's the biggest difference between dogs and cats. You'll find people with diabetic dogs get a dose figured out at the vet's and then they give that dose for a year at a time without home testing. Cats bodies change too much for that.

We also don't know why Keiko is high dose. If he has acromegaly, which is the most common reason for cats ty o need a high dose, the tumor can pulsate. Sometimes it can put out more hormones, sometimes less. Acro is a moving target.
 
I'm not nearly as knowledgeable as some of the people on here, however, by looking at your spread sheet, I'm guessing that perhaps Keiko's bouncing from the increased shot of 10.5u that you gave him last evening. It'll take some time for a cat's body to adjust to the new amount of insulin, which typically results in bouncing for about 3 days (give or take). Sometimes you may want to keep the same amount of dose for 3-5 days to see how Keiko will react to it, and then do another dose increase if you don't see anything activity. Every cat is different (ECID). Some cats respond better to more insulin whereas others may not respond as well and may require a bit more. Eventually, you'll find the dose that works. Just takes a lot of patience. Keep up the excellent work and hang in there; you're both doing a wonderful job.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top