Claire and Kaz
Member Since 2022
Kaz's BG has dropped from 124 (gave his insulin) then dropped to 51 and now 46 do I need to get him to the hospital?
Oh that’s good that it’s a human monitor! The spreadsheet says alpha track. Post the next reading you get. If she’s up above 50 that’s good. If not you will want to feed a little more high carb and keep testing/feeding until she’s safe.This is a Libre button so people monitor. I have to wait another 10 minutes to get reading. I gave him some of his food but I will give him some kibble.
He's alert but I know this is too low.
Copy/paste from other thread:
Test again 30 mins from last test. He usually nadirs pretty early so hopefully won't have to keep this up long.
New dose is now 1.25U...that was a drastic change just from food, so normally I'd recommend a 0.5U reduction...I am hesitant to do that due to recent DKA.
It is your choice. If you can keep an eye on him, and you can do the manual tests in case the Libre gives you trouble, do the 1.25U. He will likely bounce overnight and give you a similar cycle to 4/7 tomorrow
Edit: I would do 1.25U if above 150. Below that stall without feeding and ask for help.
He dropped below lowest was 46 which was when I posted as I got scared.Did Kaz actually drop below (as you said in the remarks column of the SS) or was the bottom BG 51 as in the +2 of the SS?
Can you move his shot time back a bit so you have more time to stall if necessary a.ok if hes below 150 I'll ask and even if hes starving for food you say not to feed him? I have to keep his insulin at 6-6.30am and 6-6.30pm as this is when I have to leave for work. So if I push his insulin off won't that mess his cycle up?
Can you put that into the SS then please?He dropped below lowest was 46 which was when I posted as I got scared.
At most you will stall just 20 minutes, then he will get his snack.ok if hes below 150 I'll ask and even if hes starving for food you say not to feed him? I have to keep his insulin at 6-6.30am and 6-6.30pm as this is when I have to leave for work. So if I push his insulin off won't that mess his cycle up?
She has the wet DM...she stopped giving that hence the drop (I suspect maybe something else happening but that was the big change tonight)Do you have any higher carb low carb food than the Tiki? By that I mean 5 to 8 % carbs.?
No idea what SS means???Can you put that into the SS then please?
Yes we need to keep it at 12 hour intervals but I was wondering if you could move it back permanently so you have more time. Would that still work in the pm shot.I can move it back to 5.30am and get up at 5am. I was told to keep it at 12 hour intervals?
SS is the spreadsheetNo idea what SS means???
I think your right he went from zero carbs in morning meals to 10% carbs in evening meal back to zero carbs for both morning and evening which is what he was eating prior to being diagnosed with diabetes. Thought I was doing the right thing now I know he needs some carbs just have to figure out the right balance.She has the wet DM...she stopped giving that hence the drop (I suspect maybe something else happening but that was the big change tonight)
I'm a bit apprehensive about doing this as I am already trying to work out how to slowly bring him to 8am/8pm for when I travel. This now scares the hell out of me as no one else will be checking blood sugar they will only administer the insulin.Yes we need to keep it at 12 hour intervals but I was wondering if you could move it back permanently so you have more time. Would that still work in the pm shot.
If you did that you would have to do it in 1/4 hour increments over a couple of days.
Whatever you do make it even both cycles like you said. Usually a 2-3% variance doesn't have a big impact, but yes going from 10% to zero is big.I think your right he went from zero carbs in morning meals to 10% carbs in evening meal back to zero carbs for both morning and evening which is what he was eating prior to being diagnosed with diabetes. Thought I was doing the right thing now I know he needs some carbs just have to figure out the right balance.
Ok so we scrap that idea.I'm a bit apprehensive about doing this as I am already trying to work out how to slowly bring him to 8am/8pm for when I travel. This now scares the hell out of me as no one else will be checking blood sugar they will only administer the insulin.
I have to try and figure this out prior to this.
I'm beginning to see that if I leave a small amount of carbs in his diet it will keep him stable.
We really want to keep the insulin as high as is safely possible because of the recent DKA, so if that means you need to feed some ‘higher carb’ low carb food, than that is what is needed. I would give a mixture of the tiki and the 10% food for all the cycles so that he is getting the same number of carbs for each cycle…
Wjate
Whatever you do make it even both cycles like you said. Usually a 2-3% variance doesn't have a big impact, but yes going from 10% to zero is big.
If you want/need to use up the DM that's fine, I'd just do very small portions early in the cycle at consistent times, like +1 both cycles (high carbs early in the cycle are better because the insulin effect is strongest). You can also keep it on hand for low numbers like this, or sometimes you can return it. Or you can mix it with the Tiki but the textures really don't match
Not that he will eat. I manage to get him to eat the DM selects but it's way too expensive to replace both mealsDo you have any higher carb low carb food than the Tiki? By that I mean 5 to 8 % carbs.?
This will also not work. I have another cat who is now 3 lbs over weight. If I turn my back he will eat all Kaz's food. So no this is not an option and no I can not lock them in separate rooms all day. Its a small apartment and Kaz has separation issues if he's not with his brother.Ok so we scrap that idea.
Do you have a timed feeder for him to leave food out for later when you are not there?

Sorry she has the savory selects which are the 10%I think the DM is lower than 10% isn’t it? Closer to 5 or 6%.. am I wrong?
We have 4 cats. When Wilbur was first diagnosed, we had him, an obese cat, an allergic to lots of food cat, and a no special needs cat. the only foods allergy cat could eat were high in carbs.This will also not work. I have another cat who is now 3 lbs over weight. If I turn my back he will eat all Kaz's food. So no this is not an option and no I can not lock them in separate rooms all day. Its a small apartment and Kaz has separation issues if he's not with his brother.
Seems like there is no solution.
Yes go and rest.As Kaz wasn’t eating anything after the hospital visit I had bought bunch of food and I had some wernuva - duck and chicken and I am guessing it’s about 10-15% gave that. He’s now at 115.
Going to try and sleep for a hour and set an alarm to get up every hour through the night till it stabilises.
It’s not surprising Kaz has bounced from the 46. Try not to worry about it. It is a normal reaction by Kaz. Don’t forget you have to give the reduced dose even though he is high at the moment.Kaz's numbers are all over. I was testing during night just too tired to post. At 2.28am his numbers spiked in the other direction to 438 and now they are standing at 497.
I am assuming that the Tiki food is now the best to give as it has no carbs and I don't want his numbers increasing higher than they currently are. It's 5.30am now but I need to feed within next 10-15 minutes as his injection is due for around 6.05am-6.10am
No! I think you should give the new dose of 1 1/4 units. He earned a reduction on dose. Please take it.Hi Bron & Sheba
I'm going to take your response that you agree and that I should give him the Tiki and then usual insulin amount of 1 1/2 vs the amount discussed last night of 1 1/4?
Yes, stick with 1 1/4 for 6 cycles unless he drops low again.Gave him a 1 1/4 dose and his pre reading is now HI. One extreme to the other.
