Jane & Jack & Karre the Emperor
Member Since 2009

Can you believe it's Caturday again already? I certainly can't. I've not the faintest idea where this week went - I have a feeling it snuck off and had itself a good time on the beach when I wasn't looking, leaving behind a big old annoying frustrating mess :lol: Ah well. Hopefully, you guys had a better week than I had :smile: At least now it's almost over! Happy Caturday, everybody! I hope you all get to have a good weekend with some time to relax and recharge.
Last week's Caturday Condo, or "KCC" as Carl named Karre's condo(s) - Thanks, Carl! I love that! - included some links about the way things work here in LL, and I thought I start today's KCC by re-posting some of those just in case. Here they are:
--- Dr. Pierson's NEW Food Charts 2012, which include the ever-present issue of carbs percentages along with a great deal of other valuable information. Thank you so much, Dr. Pierson, for all the trouble you took to obtain all this great information and putting it all together!
--- Lantus/Levemir Master Spreadsheet, for when you want to look at several spreadsheets at once, or just get a good idea of who's (who) around here. Thank you so much for keeping track of this, Kathy! I use this almost every day during "LL Rounds"
--- Tech Forum Starter Tips and FAQ, another one well worth bookmarking especially for newbies, which has great information on how best to set up here (SS, profile) and how to make the best of the FDMB experience :smile:
--- Creating your FDMB Profile, for anyone who hasn't yet set up their profile. Profiles are an invaluable resource for anyone here giving input on a thread, because it makes it so much easier to see "the big picture" for a specific kitty/bean. Please consider setting one up if you haven't yet!
--- Making the most of your LL TR Experience, which wasn't in last week's KCC, but which - along with a few other crucial threads, Jill/Alex too the time to find and bump up this Caturday. Please read them and consider them carefully! Thank you so much, Jill!
Next up, some LL Highlights Condos:
--- Wendy/Bailey's 29th September Condo, in which Wendy caught a surprise BG in the 30s by a stroke of good luck, demonstrating to all of us (with Bailey's dramatic help!) the importance of getting spot checks! The next day, she asked about hypoglycemia in her 30th September Condo and some interestings points were made about its effects.
--- Melissa/Tarragon's 4th October Anal-Gland Rupture Scare - we are continue to send you vines and hope beautiful Tarragon will very soon be back to his usual self! Also, vines continue for your friend who is battling cancer, Melissa. Hugs all round.
--- Christine/KR's 5th October Condo, which is a great example of why it's important to be vigilant even when on a very low starting dose of 0.5u and why it's great to keep posting here, where you'll get support while you're going through a new, unfamiliar, scary situation. Great job, Christine, and everyone who helped! Welcome to LL, Christine and Kitty Rabbit!
--- Nancy/Pepper's 5th October Condo, which contains great info especially for newbies on dealing with vets and what to look for and ask about. Welcome to LL, Nancy and Pepper!
--- Rhiannon's 2nd October Condo, when her DD's tummy trouble became emergent. Rhiannon, we're all so glad your daughter is recovering - thanks for keeping us all in the loop. Everyone, you can read your way back through Rhiannon's updates starting in her condo from today.
--- Tracy/Leo's 5th October Condo, which was wonderful to see after those days of absence, and congratulations on the very very sleek dose of only 5u now! Wonderful progress!
And of course, the LL Overview:
Cindy/Benjamin are doing a lovely job and are being rewarded with *only* pretty greens and blues for a couple of weeks now - great work, Cindy, and how wonderful of you to take Benjamin in! Lisa/Do Lou celebrated Lisa & DH's 34th wedding anniversary - Congratulations to you both, and I hope you had a lovely celebration! Barb/Checkers recently earned the very special Gold Poo Award for Checker's brave LB efforts - keep those prezzies coming, Checks! :mrgreen: Donna/Doogle have had some more bouncy days - hopefully the recent increase to 2.5u will help encourage Doogle to spend *more* time in those pretty numbers, so that he can soon be more used to them and so that his liver can graduate from LTS! John/Purrface's second week on Lantus is drawing to a close - welcome to LL, you guys, and great job so far! Sonia/Katmandu have started their OTJ Trial - we're all cheering you on and can't wait to party with you! Lisa/Leo have had some more adventurous cycles, what with the travelling and the depot-draining and the bounces Leo threw in just for good measure - Hang in there, you guys, and thanks for the adorable video of Leo chasing his own tail during that run of purrty purrty greeeens! Melanie/Racci were given a great vet report after Racci's senior blood work panel, and are looking at starting Adequan shots - good luck with those shots once you start them, ladies! Ann/Tess had some green excitement in the past couple of days - great catch on that dip into the 40s, Ann, and it sure looks like that extra drop kicked in! Cindy/Tip are up to 6.5u and still seeing mostly pinks and yellows, so Tip will be getting tested for acromegaly and IAA soon - all available fingers and toes and paws crossed for you both, Cindy! Dyana/J.D. have postponed the plans for J.D.'s dental for a few months to make sure the travel and overnight stay arrangements can be worked out and Dyana can be around to care for poor J.D. while he recovers from what will likely be a couple fo extractions - good thought, Dyana, and be sure to let us know when it's dental time so we can all send you lots of vines! Kathie/Zeus are trying their luck with a new dose increase - fingers crossed for you guys, and let's hope you don't have to worry about things like insulin resistance, and that instead, Zeus will soon show some great progress! Carla/Furball are thinking about another increase too, although they had a lovely blue AMPS just yesterday - good luck with what6ever you decide, Carla, and let us know if there's any help/feedback we can give you to help you! Teresa/Poopy are trying their luck with the 2.5u dose - vines coming your way that this will be a good dose and you'll soon see some prettier numbers! Marje/Gracie will be posting via DH Mike, because Marje has had to take a trip to Texas to help out her mum - we're all sending vines to you and you DM, Marje, and thank you, Mike, for doing a wonderful job posting and filling in! Jill/Charlie have taken an increase, and we hope it helps Charlie into better numbers. Anne/Liz/Zener are possibly looking at getting a new vial of Lantus or going for a dosecrease - let us know what you decide! Wendy/Neko have had some fabulous numbers and even though, yes, the bouncing does keep coming up, Neko is getting very adept at clearing those bounces - have fun shopping for your Thanksgiving Dinner on Sunday, Wendy! Roni/Moonie: Happy Birthday to Roni's DH, who celebrated yesterday - all the very best to you! Shai/Fitzel are having to find a new vet to see the Pirate and help her with what seems to be making her feel under par - many, many vines are coming your way! Alexa/Reuben have been having some beautiful numbers, and we hope Reuben's appy problems will not return/persist and that he will keep on mkaing amazing progress! Jo/Scratchie are going for an increase - good luck, you guys, and hopefully it will help bring on some better BGs! Greg/Karen/FurBall are having purrrrrfect numbers on their teeny tiny dose - this is looking incredibly promising, you guys! Courtney/Kismet are still M.I.A. - we hope you'll come back and update us on how you guys are doing! Leslie/Jasper checked in from the Falls - thanks for popping by, Leslie, and great photos from your diving trip!
As always, I realize I haven't named every single LL peep, and I may well have missed important events/developments, and I wish I could include everyone every week. But if you look at the Master SS for Lantus/Lev kitties, you'll see why that's just not really feasible. You are invited, as always, to post here with an update, a WCR, a WBR, anything you like - if I've missed you this week, I would love to hear from you that way! I try to keep an eye on things daily, but I know I miss things. I hope you all enoy this KCC, even if it can't hit every high note!
And from our African Pride, many sunny greetings to you all! We've had some very fine weather as we move into spring down here in Hout Bay, and especially the boys are showing the vim and vigour that comes with the new season. As you'll see from the photos, they are playing and playing and playing, and delighting us beans in the process. Few things are more uplifiting that watching a creature being utterly oblivious to prying eyes, wholly engrossed in their momentary, somewhat whimsical pursuits, completely happy playing with a companion in a spot of sunshine, unaware of the sublime grace their every move contains. They are just so beautiful... Queen Magpie left me a surprise this morning, too - as I was waiting for the coffee to be ready, I went to wash my hand in the guest bathroom, and suddenly felt something soft and silky scuttle past my toes... She had caught a mole and left it in there, presumably to play more with it later :lol: Scooping the little fellow up was tricky - they do move so much faster than one thinks! But, even so, he was soon released outside away from the watchful eyes of our cats. His Majesty Karre the Emperor is doing wonderfully, and just passed his 2-Month-OTJ-Anniversary :mrgreen: He has recovered fully from his dental. Next week, it's Maggie's turn.
And now it's picture time again :smile: Henry and Luca have generously agreed to have one of their play sessions published in this way
Hugs,
Jane
Little Red Riding Hood...
Play Time...
Just couldn't stay wake to get all the way into the bed...
Arboreal antics, and a Feline-Garden-Gnome impression...
Loving brothers. We miss you, Lucci.