Just found Out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Albertan

Member Since 2013
Hello,

We had our cat at the vet yesterday and she was diagnosed as diabetic! My wife took her and when she came home, the news was worse than we could ever imagine! She has very high sugar levels in her urine and the decision has to be made on how to go forward in the next few days. I've had her for almost 13 years and she still to day has been the most loyal companion you can ever imagine. Sees me out the door every morning, waiting for me when I come home and sleeps on our bed every night all for a little scratch and maybe a treat here and there. Late last year, she just wasn't herself and developed a lump on her belly which was later diagnosed as breast cancer ( which I had no idea a cat could get ). Again, it was either the humane way to end a life or pay for the expensive surgery with less than a 10% chance of success. Everyone told me I was nuts. I may not be your stereotypical cat owner and people just don't get it but I've grown soooo attached to her over the years and just feel like I owe her everything I can give. Well, she recovered completely to everyone's amazement and has been living cancer free for 11 months. Now, the vet again says we either have to do the humane thing before suffering occurs or start insulin treatment ASAP! I really don't know what to do. She's almost 13 years old and I wonder does quality of life start to come into play here? I don't want to just give up on her but yet not sure if giving needles and traumatizing her any more is the right answer either. I just don't see any changes in her demeanour or behavior that are out of the ordinary so I don't understand the sudden urgency to make this decision. The vet suggested we just enjoy the weekend with her and take her back next week is probably the humane thing to do I'm trying to school myself on this topic but I think hearing other people's opinions that went thru it are much better than just reading a webpage! I'm literally sick inside about this and scared I'm going to do the wrong thing. Is it selfish to want to keep her alive if things are going down hill??? I really need some help here and would appreciate anybody that has had a similar situation to weigh in! Sorry for the long-winded post but just have so much on my mind and really want to do what's best for her!

Thanks very much!!!
 
Breathe! Diabetes is a chronic disease that can be well managed at home.

1) First things first - DIET!
Most folks coming here have been feeding their cats dry food or high carb canned food. That can be a big part of the problem. Cat Info explains good feline nutrition has under 10% calories from carbohydrates (about what would be found in a mouse stomach). One low cost, low carb, over the counter food is Friskies Pates; another is Fancy Feast Classic Pates. No need for pricey veterinary diets! Start this asap and the glucose may drop about 100 mg/dL lower. By the way - vet stress may raise the glucose 100-180 mg/dL, so home levels are generally lower anyway.

2) Safety
We recommend home glucose testing with an inexpensive human glucometer to monitor the glucose level, and when giving insulin, to make sure it is safe to give insulin or if intervention is needed to raise or stabilize the glucose level. Testing also evaluates how well the insulin is working.

A couple of examples: Arkray Glucocard 01 or 01 mini from American Diabetes Warehous or ReliOn Confirm or Confirm Micro from Walmart. Also the ReliOn Prime from WalMart. These are all inexpensive, take small blood droplets, and have reasonable test strip costs. (Pet Specific meters cost more, are available from your vet or online, and the test strips are $1 per strip or more. Since you test a minumum of 2-4 times a day, that can quite pricey over the month!)

3) insulin
Insulin syringes are tiny little things and the injection is subcutaneous - just under the skin. Most cats barely notice.

Good insulins are Lantus, Levemir, ProZinc, and PZI. These all last roughly 12 hours in the cat. Of these, Lantus has a protocol which may lead to a diet-controlled state if followed diligently.

Print out the food list at Cat info for shopping and highlight the ones with 0-9% calories from carbohydrates. You'll probably want to shop at a good pet supply store for most foods you'd select.
 
We have a very successful protocol for feline diabetes that hundreds of people have used and gotten their cats regulated and living happy, healthy lives or into remission:

1. A slow, long lasting insulin. Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc are popular as they have a slow onset; they are not harsh and they are easiest to use for regulation. Humulin and Canninsulin are less popular because, in most cats, they have a rapid onset and don’t last as long. We like new diabetics to start low and go slow. That is, start at a low dose of .5 or one unit twice daily every 12 hours. And increase slowly, by .25 or .5 units as the numbers indicate.

2. A low carb, wet diet. We like to feed under 8-10% carbs. There are several food charts you can use: Dr. Lisa’s food chart
Hobo’s Food Chart Rhiannon’s 8% and under list

Whatever food you can afford that your cat will eat in that lower range. With your kitty, you could change the diet today and see if it makes a difference. With our Oliver, it meant 100 points lower in the blood glucose numbers, overnight.

2. And most importantly, hometesting. We think cats tend to be stressed at the vet and we know stress raises blood glucose levels. So we test our cats at home. You want to know what the number is before you give the shot to be sure the amount you are planning to give is safe. And testing midcycle will show you how the insulin is working. We use human glucometers and test on their ears or paws. Here is a video that shows you how it is done: Video for hometesting

It sounds like you truly love your kitty. I'd give her the chance. It seems overwhelming at first, but believe me, it is not hard, not expensive and very rewarding. We'd love to help you on this journey.
 
My personal stats caring for diabetic cats:

1) Spitzer, Lantus, had other medical conditions and a blood clot which resulted in his euthanasia.

2) Dusty, Lantus, diet change, 2 weeks of insulin, and he is now diet controlled. Lives with his owner who needed help due to arthritis and poor vision.

3) Gracie, ProZinc, diet change, 1 week in my home so far, so we'll just have to see what happens!
 
I was in the same boat a few weeks ago, except my kitty was VERY sick - probably from having diabetes for awhile before I knew it. He was barely able to walk when I took him in. He's 10. I faced the same decision - spend a ton of money on an older cat, or do the humane thing. But, like you... my cat is my baby and I just couldn't put him down if there was a chance. I also feared that it would be very stressful for him.

His almost two weeks spent in the hospital WAS very stressful for him - but it sounds like maybe you caught it in time to not have to do that. My kitty was in "diabetic ketoacidosis" and had developed a liver condition since he hadn't been eating. It looked grim. But we did see improvement with insulin at the vet. Finally, I insisted on bringing him home, despite him not being 100%. I knew he'd never get to 100% there, due to the stress.

He's been home for about two weeks and he's doing SO WELL! He's still not eating great, but his liver condition seems to have corrected itself and his blood sugar is doing good. Currently he's only needing VERY small amounts of insulin (I dont think this is the norm though). However... even when I was syringe feeding him, blood testing him, and injecting him 4 times every day... he still came up to me for pets, slept on my bed at night, and otherwise loved on me. The syringe feeding was definitely the most stressful for him - currently we're weaning off of that - yay! But he really doesn't mind the insulin injections at all. The blood test annoys him, but he doesn't fight me.

The people on here have been SOOOOO helpful (especially since my vet is NOT a pro when it comes to feline diabetes). Only you can decide what is best for your kitty - but know that the testing and injections alone really dont seem to impact quality of life (of course this probably varies by cat). Watch the YouTube videos of testing - those cats just sit there. Mine does too (he tries to hide his ear a little, but he doesn't run/scratch/fight). If you're going to do it though, do it soon. Dont let it get to the point mine did - cuz that's a whole 'nother beast! It was really expensive and really stressful for both of us. I wish I could have known and started the insulin before he had gone so far downhill - but it happened so fast. He was fine, then he seemed a little under the weather for a day or two... then he could barely move. Oh... and if you do decide to try the insulin, DEFINITELY test before each shot. Had I blindly followed my vets dosage, it could have killed him within the first week, since I can't always be there to help if he were to go into hypo. He quickly needed less and less insulin - to the point where now he hasn't had a shot in 4 days. For the last week and a half or so, the dosage varied almost every time, based on his test levels.

Good luck to both of you, whatever you decide!
 
Welcome to the FDMB family!!!

Diabetes is no more of a death sentence for a cat than it is for a human.

In fact I am the proud owner of TWO diabetic cats both of which I adopted as diabetics. Now even before adopting my two sugarcats I already had 12 other healthy and happy cats albeit a couple have some minor disabilities. ... one is deaf and one is epileptic. My diabetics take no more care than my epileptic girl just different medications. Arabella gets her phenobarb and Autumn gets her insulin. If fact I would say Autumn is easier to treat because I can know at any given moment how she is doing by simply testing her blood sugar at home.

My other diabetic Maxwell just celebrated 3 years insulin free and diet controlled.

But let me give you a little back story on each.

Maxwell survived Hurricane Katrina, bounced around from shelter to shelter for awhile before being adopted by an elderly lady. However she developed dementia and was placed in a nursing home, at the same time Maxwell was diagnosed with diabetes and his owner's family scheduled him for euthanasia. Well to make a long story short I adopted him and he was flown from Massachusetts to Nebraska. With a diet change and a short course of insulin he went into remission and has stayed there.

Autumn was also a rescue, her owner choose not to treat her at all but didn't decide to rehome her until 10+ months after learning she was diabetic. When she arrived in my home she was one sick little girl, however a year and a half later she is healthy and happy member of the family. She just takes insulin twice a day.

Both of them cuddle with my husband and I at night in bed. They chase and play with my other cats and I would defy anyone that didn't already know who was who to pick out my diabetics from my other cats.

Oh by the way Maxwell is 15 and Autumn is 18!

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
If you are truly dedicated, as you say in your post, please stick with this website. There are SO many helpful and experienced people on this site.

My kitty PJ was diagnosed in 2004 and this site was a true lifesaver for both of us! Following the suggestions on this web site she was off insulin in 8 months...of course every cat is different but there's always that possibility!

She was just re-diagnosed last week and I'm back - again, they have been a tremendous help to me and my kitty (PJ).

PLEASE take their advice so you kitty can live a long happy life...it sounds like you care about her very much so please stick with it....it seems overwhelming now but it does get easier, still challenging but easier.
 
My man Mocha was diagnosed at around that age. Diabetes is not a death sentence for an older cat. He is comfortable and happy and really doesn't seem to mind the pokes, and LOVES the extra treats and attention :roll: You came to the right place. Everyone here is very supportive, helpful and knowledgeable.

It was scary for me (afraid of needles), but when the day came to give Mocha his first shot, I was shaky, but I did it! And now I don't even bat an eyelash, it becomes just another part of my daily routine. Anyways, that was just my experience.

I also felt like I owed it to him to do everything in my power for him, and I'm glad I stepped up to the challenge. They rely on us, as much as we need them. Only you can make the final decision, in the meantime, hang in there, and search your heart for what you feel is right for your kitty.
 
All of us on this board probably felt like you at first, the news can be shocking and unexpected. Most people on this board have happy, healthy, full of life kitties because they followed the protocols established that work for diabetic cats. The right low carb wet food, the right insulin, and home testing. Look at my kitty Dusty, after switching to Fancy Feast cat food, starting Lantus insulin, and home glucose testing, he went off the insulin after just one week. Other kitties take longer or stay on insulin for the rest of their lives but they live long happy fulfilling lives. You and your kitty can do it, read all the info on this site, ask questions, this board is full of experts that have dealt with feline diabetes for years. It'll be ok! :razz:
 
One more piece of advice - don't be shy asking your vet questions ...not all, but some vets are not well versed in cat diabetes and some take it as a slap in the face when you mention advice from a message board.

Read up on the suggested articles posted on this site - there is sound scientific literature on everything here and unfortunately some vets don't know it as some may not have many clients w/diabetic cats.
 
Albertan said:
I don't want to just give up on her but yet not sure if giving needles and traumatizing her any more is the right answer either.

I had a little bit of an issue with this one, too, when I first started testing my cat's blood at home. He'd always accepted the insulin no problem, but he did NOT like having his ears pricked. Although I'd never planned to euthanise him, I did start to wonder how much the testing was affecting his happiness... It didn't take very long to realise that in the grand scheme of things it doesn't. He might not understand why he needs the tests, but he accepts that he does, and just looks for the treat immediately afterwards. He treats us the same, doesn't run like hell when he sees the meter, nothing like that. It's a small inconvenience to our cats, and with the testing and the insulin they can live normal lives.
Occasionally, I'll cut my own finger or stub my toe and when the 5 seconds of pain is over, I can't help but think "Well, I certainly wouldn't want to be put to sleep because that happened four times a day" :-D
 
My cat was diagnosed with diabetes about 5 months ago. She is almost 11 years old. I asked my vet if it was possible for her to live a "normal" life. He said that with insulin most cats can. It is also possible for some cats to become diet controlled and not require insulin anymore. Some cats require insulin only for a short time. Other cats require insulin for life but can lead happy lives. My friend's cat live for 7 years as a diabetic from age 11 to 18 so it is definitely possible. The shots do not hurt the cat. My cat doesn't usually notice when I put the needle in. It is just under the skin. My cat doesn't didn't like blood testing at first, but as I became calmer she is really doing much better. When she is hungry, she sits by the meter and treat bag and sits down for her testing. Like anything else, it can become a routine. I got a lot of support and encouragement from this board which helped me very much. In the beginning, I felt overwhelmed but it gets easier.

How high was your cat's blood glucose level? Just curious, was she urinating a lot and drinking a lot of water?
 
My kitty, Michelangelo, was diagnosed at 6 months old. He's also a part-feral. The first month or so was tough simply because of the learning curve and people telling me I was nuts: "he's just a cat." "You haven't even had him long enough for it to be worth saving his life." "He's already anti-social so why bother with the trouble of also treating his diabetes? Just get a new and better cat!" I ignored all of them and now we're at a year later and he is just fine with everything.

This disease is treatable and is not a death sentence!
 
Unless kitty is suffering from some complication of advanced diabetes, there's no reason not to go ahead with treatment. I know most people feel very overwhelmed in the beginning 'cause it seems like there's a lot to learn but in reality, diabetes is pretty darn easy to treat once you settle in and breathe. Do you know human diabetics? If so, it's not much different than that. Right diet, a little insulin, maybe some exercise, and ta-da, diabetes is being treated.

I have two diabetics. One has been diabetic for 7 years now and is a feisty little girl. I've never been able to hold her but she's been trained to cooperate with me any time I unzip the case her glucose meter is in. She literally comes running any time I unzip that thing and sits calmly in her spot so I can test her glucose level and give her a shot if need be. It literally takes me about 2 minutes in the morning and 2 minutes in the evening to treat her diabetes.

The other I adopted a little over a year ago after fostering him for a bit for a group called DCIN (started by members of this board). According to his paperwork he was about 16/17 yrs old at that time. We got him started back on insulin and now he's been in remission (off insulin) now for just a hair over 6 months. Adding him to the mix only added another minute or so to my diabetes routine every day so really it's not a lot of work.

So please, if kitty is otherwise healthy, and it sounds like she is, start treatment. I will be honest though, given your vet thinks it's the humane thing to do to put to sleep rather than treat, they may not be up to date on the latest treatment styles/protocols so, please post back when you get a plan of treatment

(sorry if this seems late to the post, was almost done typing and got pulled away by work)
 
Hi Fellow Albertan,

I have a 7 year old diet controlled diabetic cat and I can definitely relate to going above and beyond for your baby!! But diabetes is not a death sentence - it is an adjustment to your schedule. If you wish you can PM me with your phone number and if you are in or near Calgary I will be hAppy to help you with learning the testing and the shots. The advise on this board is invaluable!!!! It is this board that helped me with Scamp

Alix
 
Well, after a long weekend with lots of discussion between me and my wife, we decided that we'll start the insulin treatments this week. We talked to our vet this morning again and she agreed that if we're willing to sacrifice a little time each day, get used to giving the injections and learn a little more about the whole process, she agreed that it's worth doing and thinks we're doing the right thing. She has an appt Fri AM for a follow up and some tests and then we learn "Giving Insulin to a Cat 101" . Both of us are a little nervous and a little scared of the thought of giving 2 needles a day to her and are very worried that she'll just grow to hate us and associate seeing us with painful injections but if it means we can keep her alive, even though she doesn't know, we'll get the hang of things! Vet assured us that after a few times, we'll be pros and that it's not nearly as bad as it seems! I'll re-post when I have the treatment details and any other information. Also, I'm sure we'll be back here many times to read more stories and consult with others in the same boat!

One final thing, if it wasn't for this board, We'd probably be making a uneducated, sounds like the humane/right thing to do, decision in the next day or 2 to avoid any possible suffering. I know the vet was just giving us our options and many ppl decide that this is the route they want to go but after hours of reading here, this board was the only reason we went back to the vet to talk more and was the main driving force of us deciding to start the treatments after seeing how many ppl do just fine with this. So, in short, thanks to everyone who replied, gave advice and offered help! I thank you, my wife thanks you and most of all, Our cat thanks you!
 
Both of us are a little nervous and a little scared of the thought of giving 2 needles a day to her and are very worried that she'll just grow to hate us and associate seeing us with painful injections but if it means we can keep her alive, even though she doesn't know, we'll get the hang of things!

I thought the same thing about my sugarboy Tink. He's always been a skittish cat - loving with me, but most of my friends dont even know I have him. One sound and he's GONE. I thought "there's no WAY this cat is going to take me poking and prodding him several times a day".

I dont even use treats yet (haven't found any he'll eat), but he still doesn't seem to hold a grudge AT ALL. The insulin injections absolutely does not bother him one bit. I wonder if he even feels it. It's a VERY fine needle and it just goes under the skin. He doesn't even flinch. He DID flinch with the regular insulin that the vet insisted I shoot into muscle... but even then, it was just a little flinch. But the ProZinc I'm using now... I literally wonder if he feels it at all. The ear prick, he feels - and doesn't appreciate - but he doesn't fight me on it and he doesn't mind me messing with his ears. I pet his ears a lot, just so he knows I'm not going to poke him EVERY time I touch them. :)

It's only been a couple weeks, but he really is fine with it. Testing his bg AND giving insulin is FAR easier on him and ME than giving one little pill to my other cat!

As soon as I find a treat he likes, I think he'll be like most of these folks' cats and come running when it's testing time. Oh... and I think they DO know that it's saving their lives. Tink KNEW he felt better after the insulin. Even at the vets office. Of course every cat is different... but I think you're going to find it a LOT easier than you're anticipating. I know I have. The first few days were a bit stressful... but it gets easy really fast. And the cat REALLY doesn't seem to be traumatized by it at all.
 
My boy Mocha doesn't come running when it's testing time either, instead I find him waiting in his "testing chair" every morning. I do cheat and use treats though. He LOVES freeze dried chicken. I buy the dog ones because they last longer being a much bigger bag than the cat ones :-D As for the insulin shot, he doesn't mind at all. He definitely dislikes the ear prick more.
 
Don't give up on finding a treat that works. Sometimes it just takes a little longer to find something that inspires.
I know someone who used a dropper and gave a lick of milk ( just one drop) as a treat.

If your furbaby doesn't like freeze dried chicken , don't assume that turkey is the same. Mine rejects chicken but loves turkey. It has a higher fat content and apparently
a different smell to it as well.
This is a new one I just found http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003BLRTOU/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 and it's become so popular that
they run out of stock quite often ( like right now) but they get it back in. They also make others like salmon.
They rehydrate too.
This one gets my cat to eat some of the "better" canned foods that she normally rejects.

I tried the hearts (turkey) but they don't crumble well on the canned food which is why I use them.


It is a life adjustment at first but it becomes quite routine over time.
 
Our mess was feral, has FIV, and has diabetes. We were told three weeks ago that treatment would not be recommended. I understand why because the cat looked like he was on his deathbed. At the time, I didn't know anything about diabetes, and I was not resigned to making a decision like that based on one opinion. A week in, I was still wondering if I made the right decision. This week, we are settling in and it is becoming routine. It's hard being up every morning at 6am for that first shot, and there is a slight learning curve to all of this. I've stuck wrong, gave too much, skipped shots due to misunderstanding the dynamics of the situation. Sounds hard, eh? The thing I want to impress upon you is that Frank does not hate us, and he is in 10 times better shape than he was in three weeks ago. That is with all of our mistakes and blunders. The first few weeks is rough on that tight protocol, I won't lie, but you and kitty will settle in and it will become a routine like anything else you do. And everyone here is so helpful...and so dead on the money about the advice they give.

Stick with it. If diabetes is the only problem, everyone will do just fine. I am sure of it.
 
Thats good news!

The needles don't hurt - they are short and the cats barely feel them - especially if eating at the time!

However before starting insulin you should consider a trying a food change for a week (unless your vet mentioned ketones). IF you are currently feeding dry.... stop. Many cats (as many as 84%) can go into remission with a food change to a low carb wet alone!!! This means fancy feast classic pates, friskies pates or wellness grain free for example.. Not all wet food is low carb though - we have a big list.ie http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=94685

What are you currently feeding?

Wendy
 
Another update, She started 2 Units of Lantus, twice a day on Monday. We were terrified giving her the first needle but since then, my wife has become an ol pro! The cat doesn't even seem to realize it's getting a needle and with it being so small, it's fast, easy and obviously relatively painless. We've had her on DM wet food ( Which I call steak n lobster for cats as it's very expensive ) for the last while. My wife would know more about this food but the Vet recommended it. The schedule has been the toughest thing to adjust too but so far so good! We've even noticed a change, albeit slight so far, in her demeanour. She seems a little more energetic, craving attention all of a sudden, purring more, more mobile and seems to be feeling better. Maybe it's just us hoping to see changes and I'm not sure after a few days that a big difference would even be noticable but she seems to be adapting very well so far. Vet wants us to take her back next Friday for a follow-up to see how she's adapting. She's kinda become a curiosity with everyone at the vet's office. She's a large, overweight cat who beat cancer last year with a very slim chance given to her and now this so I think everyone is pulling for her down there not only us.

I'll give another update after the next vet visit but thanks again to everyone!
 
Hi and again, welcome to the FDMB! (What's your and your kittie's name?)

2 units twice a day is a pretty high starting dose. We recommend starting at no more than 1 unit twice/day. It's much safer to start low and go up in tiny amounts while you're learning how your cat reacts to both food and insulin. Seems like almost ALL our vets start at much higher doses than are safe to be giving.

By testing at home, you'll get the most accurate results since going to the vet for tests puts stress on the cat and can raise the BG up to 180 points...which the vet then thinks is the "real" number and increases the dose...then you get home, kitty drops back to what she's normally at and you're giving way too much insulin.

If you'll look here.... How to get a spreadsheet you can get a spreadsheet set up and then when you need some advice on dose, we'll all be able to see what kind of numbers she's getting at each dose. You can also give the link to your vet if they want to follow your progress. There's really no need to keep taking the cat in for testing...most of us only go to the vet for routine care like shots, and to diagnose new problems...the diabetes we treat at home

On the food, there's absolutely no reason you need to spend the money for a fancy "prescription" diet. The vast majority of them are way too high in carbs anyway. We want them eating wet food at less than 10% carbs. This Food Chart has pretty much every food you could buy and the carb percentage for each one. Friskies pate's, Fancy Feast classic and Wellness are all good choices...and a lot cheaper!!

Glad to hear you're using Lantus...it's an excellent insulin, but again, I think starting at 2 units twice/day is too high. As I said before, we start at no more than 1 unit and hold that same dose for at least 6 cycles. It takes that long to see how it's working. Then IF needed, increases are done in .25 units until we find the "best" dose for our cat. If they drop below 50 during any cycle, it's a reduction of .25 in the dose.

Good luck with your kitty, and if you have any questions, be sure to ask! We're happy to help in any way we can!

Edited to add...would you please go to your first post and remove the 911 now? Just "edit" the subject line and choose "None"..We use the 911 for medical emergencies, like when our cats drop below 50 to help get people's attention quickly..Thanks!
 
The spreadsheet has been nice to have, to keep track of all Frank's numbers. Much easier than writing it all down and trying to make sense of it later. :lol:
 
Sounds like she is doing well. I would also recommend a drop in insulin, especially since you are feeding a low carb wet and not home testing. Its a bit like driving with a bag over your heard.

You want to keep her safe and many cats go into remission with low carb food and a good insulin. I would strongly recommend home testing to watch for that and to keep her safe.

Wendy
 
Another update...we took her to vet again for curve testing. Her levels have dropped but still a little a high for their liking so they bumped up to 3 units and she goes back next Friday then will be decided what level she'll maintain. She's a trooper though! Hasn't even flinched once getting the needle ( very small and very easy to inject ) almost like she doesn't even know.

Honestly, I can't believe how much of a change we've seen in just a few weeks since starting the Lantus. She's a completely different cat and is acting more like she was when she was younger ( and lighter...haha). I might be looking through Rose colored glasses here but I can see a huge difference in her demeanour, habits, eating, playing etc etc. Even seems to sleep better if that makes any sense. She's back to taking cheap shots at our other cat and now owns our King sized bed again or anywhere for that matter she wants!

I realize she's older, has been overweight for awhile, beat breast cancer ( which still amazes me a cat can get ) and now this. She's tough as nails and when I look at her now and see an improvement already for basically 5 minutes a day and about the cost of a decent cup of coffee, her quality of life is slowly coming back and worth it!!! I'm sick of the " It's only a cat...why are you spending so much money on her?" It's like a child and wouldn't you spend a cpl bucks a day to keep your child alive if you could??

So people, don't give up on your buddies cuz of Diabetes. It sounds a lot worse/scary than it really is if it's handled right!
 
well Hi again....
I'm a bit nervous for her that they are increasing her insulin by a whole unit. We like to do that incrementally for safety reasons and because you can miss
their optimum dose jumping up in whole unit increments. So many vets don't have very much experience with Lantus, if any experience at all, and they
dose as if they were giving dog insulin which is what it sounds like your vet is doing.
I would not want to see them put your cat in danger as so many have done ... and often wind up here asking for help.

I so wish you would join our community and chat with us more about testing yourself... and managing some of her care.
Ask questions. We can help you with any aspect of this. :-D
We love helping.
 
Hello again!!

It's not "rose colored glasses" at all! It's treating the diabetes and now she feels better! I have sometimes told people that since China's been on insulin, she acts like she's getting shots from The Fountain Of Youth and not Lantus! I'm sure you are seeing the same kinds of things!

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE stay here with us and let us help you! Your vet is playing a dangerous game with your sweet kitty and it could have dire results. I can't tell you how many times we've sat up all night with people who came here after following their vet's directions and their cat was having a full blown hypoglycemic episode

We understand more than you know that your vet isn't doing anything on purpose to endanger your kitty, but it's just a fact that NO vet can keep up to date on every treatment for every disease for every animal they see. The people here deal with nothing but Feline Diabetes and the diseases that come with it. There's just no better place to learn everything you need to know, as well as get advice on how much insulin to give. The protocol we use here has been published in veterinary journals and has been proven to get up to 84% of cats into remission (Off the juice) in 6 months

I sure hope to see you again soon, and you'll let us help you to help your kitty have the best quality of life she can have....Safely!!!
 
Hello,
my Pudge was diagnosed with DM in Dec. 2011. After a few days in the hospital, he came home with instructions from my vet to give him 4 units of ProZinc twice daily. No preshot testing was mentioned. I blindly followed vet's instructions & almost killed my Pudge. My daughter found this website some 2 weeks later, the awesome members took me under their wings & helped me save Pudge & my sanity! Today Pudge is in his 2nd remission (first lasted about one year, second since May 2013). Vets don't do these things out of bad will but plain ignorance. Please continue with us! Best path for your kitty!!!

Best wishes,
Sophie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top