Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268/+3-237 increased dose & question plz

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
link to yesterdays condo : viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91879

Last night was the first time we increased the dose to 1.25u
his +11 was 412 and his amps was 441

I think Jupiter may have eaten some dry food because there was no wet food left.

I only keep dry food out at night for my other cats (they are very very bad if they dont have food-we are working on this) but Jupiter doesnt eat the dry food usually because he prefers the wet food.

Jupiter seemed very very hungry this morning when I put out his wet food.
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS 441 increased dose

In the beginning, they are very hungry, but it will pass as time goes on and the #s come down. Contraband can bring #s up quite high, too. You may want to consider feeding Jupiter in a closed room and then put out the food for the others, and when the others are done, pick up their dishes, and then let Jupiter out. It's an option. The contraband has grains in it, which isn't good for diabetic cats. Its best to try and keep Jupiter on strictly wet food only. You're both doing very well. Good luck with the new dose! :-D
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362 increased dose

He has never seemed this hungry before. I actually found 1 kind of friskies pate that he will eat without any shreds mixed in (ocean whitefish and tuna). As soon as I can afford it, I also plan to get an automatic feeder.
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362 increased dose

I know its not good for Jupiter to eat after Nadir - but I will work on a feeding schedule next week. I think starting today (as long as I ask a neighbor and they would be able to come give the cats food in case of an emergency) - I will no longer put any dry food out. I will just make sure to wake up every few hours to put out fresh canned food. My other 2 cats tend to get into a lot of trouble if they cant have access to food right when they want it - they have knocked everything off the counters and table, and went thru the kitchen garbage in the past. They like the wet canned food too - but if its not very very fresh (if its sits out for an hour or so they usually dont want to eat it)- they prefer to eat dry food (which is why I was leaving it out at night). Jupiter always eats the wet canned food even if there is dry food out because he likes the canned food better. I really liked leaving the dry food out in case of an emergency (like if I couldnt get home in time to feed the cats - and I dont want them to be hungry (or destroy the house).

Since I have some problems with my kidneys I worry that if I were to have to go to the hospital and couldnt get back here in time - then atleast they wouldnt starve because they have the dry food as backup.


I will feel much better about this once I can get an automatic feeder.
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362 increased dose

I am wondering how often I should test Jupiter today??? If you can please give me your opinions on this I would really appreciate it. Thanks!!
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362 increased dose & question please

How about getting a mini-curve -- testing at +3, +6 and +9?

How about making some "catsickles" and seeing if Jupiter will eat them? You mix water into canned food so it's soupy and then freeze the food in portion sizes. I freeze them in an ice tray. You can then leave the catsickles out and they'll defrost and provide food (unless you have a cat like Gabby who likes to lick the catsickles) over time.

Frankly, there are worse things than feeding after nadir. If you can transition your entire crew to canned food, your life will be far less complicated. Also, if you are late for a feeding, your cats may be hungry but they won't starve! If you were in the hospital and they weren't fed for 3 days, that would be an entirely different issue but a late meal will only get you very vocal cats!!
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose

Late feeding will get me loud cats and a destroyed house lol.

All the cats like canned food (they dont like the pate unless I mix the shreds with gravy in - so I am still trying to transition to the pate) as long as its fresh.

I will try to go to the store today to buy an ice cube tray and I will try making the catsickles and see how that goes.

His +3 was 312. I feel kinda nervous waiting 3 hours to test again

Thanks for the reply!
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose

So I just tested Jupiter since I felt a little worried waiting. His +5 was 357. His numbers went back up. I am really confused by this. I would think with raising his dose his numbers would be a lot lower today?
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose & question

as I pm'd (so everyone knows what I said and we are on same page) he has to work out all those carbs out of his system so that is a little set back. new doses usually take 3 days ( 6 cycles) to see results but ECID.
there is also something we call NDW (new dose wonkiness) when numbers are raised or lowered. they will go really high for some reason (unknown why) but I think we are dealing with carb overload here so this may be a little bit of a set back. we will see
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose & question

If he did eat the dry food - it couldnt have been much (not much missing from the bowl)

I did +6 and his number went down a little bit again.

I feel so bad for Jupiter - Hes been laying by his water bowl a lot again lately.
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose & question

some cats are very carb sensitive and 1 or 2 pieces can cause havoc
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose & question

Hi Jamie, here is the posting on New Dose Wonkiness, also called NDW for short. Neko did that a lot, but not always, just enough to keep me on my toes. ;-)
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose & question

You would think it would be a nice function of more insulin => lower BG. It does kinda work that way but it's really complicated in cats, because the liver reacts and the pancreas sputters and the food and the stress and ... So generally, more insulin results in lower BGs but think of it as a trend, rather than an absolute. You're doing a great job! It's a marathon, not a sprint. As Zener said to me one New Year's Eve: "More petting, less worry." :-D
Liz
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose & question

Thanks for all the replies. I just hope we start seeing some lower (but not too low) numbers within the next few days.
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose & question

Hi Jamie,
The other thing to keep in mind with regard to not seeing any "improvement" after increasing the dose is that every time you increase the dose, Jupiter's "shed" needs to re-calibrate itself. Some of the extra insulin goes into the shed, so it isn't available right away to work on Jupiter's blood glucose. This is why we always allow at least 6 cycles for a new dose to "settle".

You are doing a great job. Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Jupiter AMPS-441/+2-362/+3-312 increased dose & question

Hi Jamie! You are doing great! I know all too well how this can affect the nerves. I have certainly been through the mill with Mego's shots, my work schedule & very little sleep sometimes. I know how anxious you are to see Jupiter's numbers come down and it WILL happen, it's just that it never seems to happen when we want it to. I've learned that Mego has a mind of his own when it comes to this insulin business. I saw your numbers in the red and the dry food issue. If you look at Mego's SS, the only time he ever went into the red is when I fed him the dry prescription kibble as testing treats. Clearly that won't happen again. Keep up the good work and I'll bet you'll be seeing the blues before you know it. :-D I hope you and the Jupe-ster have a great night!
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297 increased dose & question plz

Can anyone please give me their opinion on how often I should test Jupiter tonight? Thanks!!
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297 increased dose & question plz

ice cube size... probably half and half or maybe a little less water. You have to find out what your cat likes.

I have litle silcone cupcake holders and I only added enough water to hold it all together so it wouldn't get freezer burn.

Now I find that just adding water to someof the canned foods keeps them "fresh" for many hours....
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268 increased dose & question plz

His +2 was 268. Just wondering when I should test so I can try to nap in between
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268 increased dose & question plz

It looks like Jupiter is not very bouncy, which is great. I would get a +3.5 or +4.
Liz
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268 increased dose & question plz

looking at your ss... i would probably try to test again at +5 to collect data...
so set an alarm to see how Jupiter is responding... You might even get lucky tonite and see a little blue, hard to predict.

Paws crossed that this dose will kick in some.

edited to add...
Liz has been here longer than me....
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268 increased dose & question plz

@Rhiannon I'm not a night person so I would probably get an earlier test and go to bed. :roll:
Jamie, you will have to figure out what works for you.
Liz
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268 increased dose & question plz

yeah I am really really tired tonight from not sleeping well last night but at the same time - I want to make sure Jupiter is okay. Love him sooo much will stay up as much as I can to take care of him.
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268 increased dose & question plz

If it was day, I'd get a +5 but since its night,I'd get the +4 and if is the same or close to the PS, I'd jump go to bed and rested in a hour.
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268/+3-237 increased dose & question

the +3 was 237 - and while I am very happy to see some lower numbers, why couldnt he have them during the day instead of at night lol

Should I retest again since his number went down a little? At +4 or +5?
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268/+3-237 increased dose & question

That's a nice and rather sedate drop. But then Zener just dropped 120 points in 1.5 hours. :roll:
Liz
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268/+3-237 increased dose & question

+5 was 269 so I will finally get some sleep now. Will wait til morning to test again. Lots of wet canned food left out tonight
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268/+3-237 increased dose & question

Looks like you had a late night testing Jupiter. His numbers looked nice. I hope you were able to get some restful sleep. Have a good day Jupiter and be nice for mom. :-D
 
Re: Jupiter PMPS 297/+2-268/+3-237 increased dose & question

Just dropping in to say hello, Jamie and Jupiter! Jamie, you are doing a great job! Jup.....let's make your mama happy and give her some nice numbers with this dose crease!!!

**Not going to add my two cents cuz it looks like everyone else did a great job answering your questions!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top