June 8 Felix AMPS=245, +4=340; PMPS=287

Susan&Felix(GA)

Member Since 2017
prior thread June 2

Felix continues to seem mostly normal as far as his routine and his purrs.

He did lose weight at the hospital, and although he's eating all right, he's not really putting the weight back on. There've been some soft stools in the litterbox today, and he's the most likely suspect. I haven't seen other side effects to the meds, and I hope this is just a transient thing. He will have a recheck with his regular vet on Monday for bloodwork to see how he's tolerating his meds. They say to avoid stress for him, but they need him to come in for rechecks--the thing that stresses him the most!

I was relieved to see his glucose improve after a few cycles of only one increase. Today's BG doesn't look so good, but the past three days weren't too shabby.

I'm so very sorry about the RCM dx. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Doodles had advanced HCM and recurring CHF. We started with injectable Lasix and it significantly raised his BG's. Lasix does have a moderate interaction with insulin (Lantus/ Levemir) and can increase BG's but it doesn't in all cats/ humans. We did switch to the pill form and it did level out some. With recurring CHF I was able to determine that his BG's would run higher when his resting heart rate was up. I starred at him constantly, recorded everything in his SS. He ended up on 30mg Lasix twice a day and sometimes I had to dose 30mg every 8 hours for 3 days to knock down the fluid under close direction and communication with is cardiologist. Obviously only follow the directions given to you by Felix's vet/ cardiologist.

In respect to dosing and higher bg's. Just follow the protocol. His diabetes and other concerns such as kidney's are secondary to his heart. Heart issues trump everything else. Try to concentrate on how he's feeling....eating, purring, etc.. Love on him, spoil him and try not to be overly concerned about his #'s. Easier said then done, been there done that but it's important. Keeping you in my thoughts and give Felix extra scritches for me.
:bighug:Thanks so much, Karen, for sharing your experience with Doodles (and for the hugs and scritches!). I know what you mean about staring at him constantly. Felix's respiratory rate is staying consistent. I've tried to get a heart rate, but he purrs so much when I put my hand on him that I haven't figured out how to feel his heart yet.
 
I opened this thread and looked at your avatar, which I think I do every time (I think the color always draws my eye). Tonight I felt very strongly that I wanted to scritch along Felix's cheeks and kiss his forehead. Maybe you can give him a kiss for me? I'm so happy to hear there's some normalcy for him. I hope this continues! Sending vines!
 
Back
Top