June 7th, newbie - stressed

Status
Not open for further replies.
5 Lantus solostar 100 units 3ml disposable pens (maybe where things started to go wrong)
I think you can just remove the cartridge from the pen and then use it like that. Yours just also came with the pen mechanism which you don't need to use.

I have 100 BD insulin syringes ultra-fine (they said they've changed their packaging so there is not ultra fine II). For u-100 6mm 3/10ml 15/64" x 31g
That is good that they are U-100, because Lantus is a U100 insulin (100 units of insulin in 1 mL). Other insulins, like ProZinc, are different concentrations. With ProZinc, it is 40U, so then you would need a 40U syringe. So be careful if you order more syringes online. Always make sure that they are compatible with the current insulin you use! Looks like you got the proper ones.

A handful of BD sterile needles .25 mm x 8mm 5/16" x 31g

The vet gave us the latter and I presume I need to get more for this batch of insulin?
I believe you can just remove the cartridge from the pen if you want to stick with syringes. There are videos on youtube of this. So you don't need to stick with using the pen if you don't want to. If you do use the pen, then please take extra care in learning how to dose them. I have read many accounts of new users not priming them correctly and accidentally giving double doses :nailbiting:. Our dosing protocols will typically increase/decrease in 0.25 unit increments. I think the Lantus pens only go up in 1.0 unit increments, which is another downside.

An Accu-chek Aviva Nano glucometer (with lancing pen) and a handful of lancets (I can't find any information on them, the plastic is white.

I have drawn blood succesfullyish once. When I put the strip to the ear I got an error message for low battery. Which is kind of funny in the grand scheme of things. I didn't see any mention of a low battery sign until then. Tomorrow I will go get the necessary batteries, but I don't have any numbers yet.
Ugh, there is always something isn't there! Great that you did get some blood this time though. For the lancets, there are different sizes (gauges). These Bayer Microlet Lancets are 28G and are a good starting point. Some people can find 26G ones (which are larger), but I haven't found them for cheap in Canada. When the ears bleed easier, you can move up to smaller lancets, which are bigger gauges like 31G.

he vet has told us to start him on 2 units twice a day (I don't know if that is the correct term). The technician told us we would be able to email the vet. I am very thankful for this.
So that is a pretty high starting dose. If your read the Lantus SLGS dosing statetgy, then you can see that we start with 0.5 units if your cat has been switched to a wet low carb diet.

My cat's glucose was 22.6 mmol/L at the vet and my vet recommended I start with 1.0 unit. Check out my '2020 World mmol/L' spreadsheet page to see how much that 1 unit was able to drop my cat in the first month. It took me a few weeks to get a glucometer, but you can see that early on, the 1.0 unit was working and was bringing Dixie from 15.7 down to 5.4! I have never had her above 1.0 units.

You may also like to read this thread about Baby and her starting dose. She was meant to start on 0.5 units, but the owner unknowingly dosed out 5.0 units. After 3 hours, her blood sugar was 1.7 mmol/L! This shows the important of home testing and being prepared.

They told us to look into a particular brand of food (he cannot currently remember the name, but we are expecting an email), but was not "prescribed" anything. I asked that he mention that we had already switched him to a low carb wet food exclusive diet (plus freeze dried treats) and they said it wouldn't factor into dosing and they we needed to pay attention to the kcal count when it came to Friskies. I have not looked this up yet, but also am not too worried because of all the information I have read on here.
Changing from a high carb food to a low carb food will bring the blood sugar values down. It will depend on the cat, but sometimes it can be quite significant. We like to err on the side of caution here and will recommend the lower starting dose if your cat is now eating a lower carb food.

They did not tell us how many calories to feed FCC, but he weighs 7.3 kg (down from 7.4 last week) and his ideal weight is 6 kg. I might email that question to the vet.
Has FCC be losing weight at all in the past year or so? Diabetic cats will begin to eat more while also losing weight. Dixie lost 5 pounds while she was unregulated (was with previous owners), and she was constantly hungry!

I don't have much experience with overweight cats, but I think there are concerns with losing weight + not enough insulin causing ketones. How much food were you feeding him before? Could you calculate the calories? Was he gaining or losing weight during that time? For now, it is probably best to focus on getting his diabetes under control before tackling his weight. You could make another post in the general chat asking this question to get more specific advice on it!

His name is Field Commander Cohen, but I thought it was better to abbreviate it. I don't want anyone to think I just yell initials at the cat.
That did cross my mind! :p
 
Since you are getting close to dosing the insulin, it is time to get some other supplies ready so that you are prepared if FCC's blood sugars drop too low into the hypoglycemic range.

1.) Read, bookmark, and print out the HypoGlycemia Quick Reference. You don't want the site to go down for maintenance during a crucial moment!
2.) Gather the supplies listed here to create a hypo toolbox

Get this stuff sorted out ahead of time. When Dixie's levels went low for the first time, I was pretty stressed out and wasn't thinking that well. It really re-enforced to me how important it is to have all this info easy to get and the supplies ready to go. If FCC's levels drop low, you don't want to have to balance caring for him and try trying to remember which webpage had which info!
 
Sorry, just one really time sensitive question. My supportive partner has all of the sudden decided we should be listening to the vet. If I insist we at least half his dose or even bring it down by .5 to 1.5 will this make it too hard to find a way to follow either of the protocols at some point soon? He also fed the cat even though I know we should be withholding food until just before injection. I am hoping he will eat something again.
 
I think it might be worth waiting until tomorrow to start so we can agree on some of the plan at least. I don't want to do anything that could really mess up FCC's progress.

All the vet gave us was a three page printout and the vet technician told him just make sure he eats, but didn't specify how much. I am not sure how one could accept that as enough information.

I think he might have lost a nominal amount of weight over the last month, but I am guilty of being terrible and not thinking to weigh him. I am obviously going to start doing it weekly now. If we wait a day for the insulin I am hoping the vet will answer the question of how many calories we should be feeding him even if it isn't to lose weight, but to figure out the appropriate amount of wet food to give him.

I wonder if the lancets are too small. It crossed my mind and the ones I ordered are the size specified on here, but I don't have them yet so figured I might as well use the ones I already have for now. Maybe I shouldn't be trying until they come? Would it matter that I won't have readings for several days after starting the insulin?

This is what I use and I love them. I don't have to worry about anything but screwing on a new needle tip each time. In all the craziness of beginning this I misunderstood the directions and didn't realize that the pen resets to 0 after each dose so I was dialing it up to add one more unit each time I gave him a shot. I was up to 8 units before I realized what I was doing wrong and then of course I panicked! I stayed awake all night pretty much staring at Clawdius and every time he lay down I had to poke him because I was sure that he was dying and I had killed him. I hadn't found this site yet and had no idea what to do. It was a bad night to say the least. If the vet insists again that you HAVE to use a certain pharmacy or feed a certain food I would just smile and agree and then do what you want. I love my clinic but they are telling me that Friskies pates are adequate but not a good food and I am sensing a sales pitch co

I haven't examined the pen properly because I was leaving that part with my partner for a few days. If the pen only changes doses by 1 whole unit did you find that this worked for you despite not being able to fine tune the adjustment?

I feel like a lot of the progress I have made trying to understand things has been dismissed, but I am confident in this site so perhaps a discussion will hope get him back on board. I think it is harmful to disagree from the start and then have no real idea what we're doing because we're approaching it so differently. I'm not sure if in him mind right now he wants to start high and slowly lower the dose. Obviously I need to clear up this log jam on my end.
 
Sorry, just one really time sensitive question. My supportive partner has all of the sudden decided we should be listening to the vet. If I insist we at least half his dose or even bring it down by .5 to 1.5 will this make it too hard to find a way to follow either of the protocols at some point soon?
No, it won't mess with either protocol when it comes to adjusting the dose.

The reason we start with a lower dose is for safety. If you start with SLGS, then you would start with 0.5 units and hold that for one week. Then increase by 0.25 units if his "nadir" (which is the lowest BG reading of the cycle) is over 8.3 mmol/L. Then hold for a week and rinse and repeat till you find that good dose.

With Tight Regulation, it looks like there is a starting dose calculated by weight. So you could start at 1.5 units (the formula is 0.25 unit per kg of the cat's ideal weight) and then hold it for 5 days. Then increase to 0.25 units if needed, and hold that for 3 days, and so on. So you could get up to 2 units or more pretty quickly. You can see that Tight Regulation protocol is more aggressive, so you will want to make sure you can get the BG tests in!

Note that Lantus works so well because it develops an insulin depot that provides an overlap between doses. So this means that you might give FCC's very first dose of insulin, get some BG tests and they aren't very low, and say "great! This is safe then!" However, it can take a few days for the depot to build up, and once it does FCC's BG values will be even lower! You can see an example of this if you check out 05/05/2021 on my Dixie's '2021 World mmol/L' sheet. I switched her from ProZinc (an insulin without a depot) to Lantus. The first day, her nadir was 7.5 mmol/L, but on day 3 you can see that her values came down quite rapidly and her preshot value was 4.3 mmol/L! So don't get too complacent during those first few days on the Lantus.

I know that it is weird to get all this info from an online forum, so I get where your partner is coming from. I'd say just try to gather all the data and perspectives that you can and try to make an educated choice. We are coming from the perspective of having lots of data (the blood sugar tests) and being able to modify the insulin dosage daily to regulate our cats and keep them safe (hypoglycemic events can cause permanent damage/death). The vet will be coming from the perspective of more limited data. Perhaps your cat needs to come in for a glucose curve once a month where their BG values are elevated due to stress. Or maybe you bring in some BG data showing the general trend. Then the vet can look at it and make a decision that way. So it makes sense that your vet would want you to start at a higher dose. Also, lots of vets get kinda weird when it comes to daily BG tests... like they think it is impossible to do and that it will cause us immense stress or something? I don't really know... but if you look at some of the spreadsheets on the forum you will see that a lot of us test a TON with no ill effects. Lots of people talk about how it actually brings them closer to their pet :)

He also fed the cat even though I know we should be withholding food until just before injection. I am hoping he will eat something again.
Yeah you will want to withold food 2 hours before insulin time. You do this because 1.) you don't know how much the food will spike his BG values and we want to stay on the safe side and not shoot an inflated number and 2.) you want him to be a bit hungry to get food in his system for when the insulin kicks in.

I think he might have lost a nominal amount of weight over the last month, but I am guilty of being terrible and not thinking to weigh him. I am obviously going to start doing it weekly now. If we wait a day for the insulin I am hoping the vet will answer the question of how many calories we should be feeding him even if it isn't to lose weight, but to figure out the appropriate amount of wet food to give him.
The general rule I learned (from my first thread here) was to "give 20 calories per lb to maintain weight, but new diabetics often need more than that (at least double) until they're better regulated." So you will want to feed at least 320 cals a day to maintain his weight. Not sure the exact food you are feeding, but you can check out the nutrition info online and see how many calories in 1 can. Then convert that to grams and you can weigh it out. Try that and then weigh FCC after a week and see what he is. Then add/remove food if his weight is changing.

Here is a chart that I found helpful when starting out

body-condition-feline-chart-jpg.55456


I wonder if the lancets are too small. It crossed my mind and the ones I ordered are the size specified on here, but I don't have them yet so figured I might as well use the ones I already have for now. Maybe I shouldn't be trying until they come? Would it matter that I won't have readings for several days after starting the insulin?
It is still worth trying. When you prick the out edge of the ear, it will develop new capillaries. So even if you are having a tough time, you are still making progress!

Here is that spot you want to hit:

89de2d3ee90e37de809d904f7d41fe2c.jpg


I'm not sure if in him mind right now he wants to start high and slowly lower the dose. Obviously I need to clear up this log jam on my end.
I mean, what's worse... FCC's BG values being higher for an extra few days or him dropping too low to quickly into unsafe territory? Maybe compromise and start with Tight Regulation since it allows quicker dose increases/decreases (with increased testing)?
 
Would it matter that I won't have readings for several days after starting the insulin?
It means you would be shooting the insulin blind. So basically you don't know if his current number is too low to shoot, and you won't know how low the insulin will drop him down. So I recommend you test him for those reasons. Also, you already have the supplies. Are you heating up his ear sufficiently beforehand? What are you using to heat his ear up? Hot rice pack?

Edit: Cats can also go into diabetic remission really fast sometimes. Like they will get started on insulin and then BAM! days later their numbers are normal. Always amazed when I see those results on here! So this is just another reason that you want to test.
 
Last edited:
It means you would be shooting the insulin blind. So basically you don't know if his current number is too low to shoot, and you won't know how low the insulin will drop him down. So I recommend you test him for those reasons. Also, you already have the supplies. Are you heating up his ear sufficiently beforehand? What are you using to heat his ear up? Hot rice pack?

I think I am. I’ve been using the warm rice pack. He wasn’t into an ear massage. He has developed the ability to tuck his ears in to keep me from reaching the spot and also manages to escape my hold if I happen to get blood (that one time) so I don’t think the drop is big enough. I can easily put the pack on though because he just thinks he is getting affection everywhere. I know there’s a lot of practice involved for both of us and I am trying to approach it like it’s not big deal. I don’t think he’s fallen for it.


I mean, what's worse... FCC's BG values being higher for an extra few days or him dropping too low to quickly into unsafe territory? Maybe compromise and start with Tight Regulation since it allows quicker dose increases/decreases (with increased testing)?

I feel strongly that I want to start him out on the best pathway for his success. If I’m lucky, thats remission, but I also just think it’s best to fine tune it to his body. That’s what will ultimately make him feel the best regardless of remission daydreams. That’s why TR appeals to me, but I still don’t know if we can successfully get his blood four times a day. That’s looking like an impossibility right now.

Thank you as always. It helps to feel like their our people in both my corner and his and I’m definitely in his.
 
If you are using a lancing device, you can set it to a deeper level. If you are free handing, you may need to poke a little harder.
Whatever blood you can get can be scraped onto a clean fingernail and you can test from it.

Testing will soon become second nature, I promise. :bighug:
 
I haven't examined the pen properly because I was leaving that part with my partner for a few days. If the pen only changes doses by 1 whole unit did you find that this worked for you despite not being able to fine tune the adjustment?

We have only just started and Clawdius is being given 1 unit 2x daily. I haven't done a glucose curve yet but the change in him is remarkable. I am hoping that this will be his normal dose but we'll see. If I have to change to something other than whole units I will deal with it then, likely syringes into the cartridge since I had to buy 5 pens at once. I was feeding Clawdie 1/2 can of Friskies twice a day but he was still frantic for food and actually going into the garbage which he has never done. I couldn't really get a straightforward answer from the vet about how much to feed so I added another 1/6 of a can to each meal and it seemed to do the trick. He even gained half a pound between visits and he is a lot happier.
 
I tried to stick him again after changing the batteries for the glucometer. No blood, but I don't know if the Lancet went in. I want to test it on me again, but don't want to run out of lancets before I get a new supply.

I tried the pen that came with the alphatrak glucometer (unfortunately all the strips were expired so we will pass it on) and it stung a little. Definitely drew quite a bit of blood out of me and it took awhile to stop. I think that one is too thick and would hurt him? I don't know. Obviously it stopped hurting pretty quickly and I would be fine stabbing myself all day, but not him.
 
Testing will soon become second nature, I promise.

It will, honest. It doesn't take long to get into a routine once you figure out what that will be. Even a major needle phobic like me got used to it very quickly and I don't even cry any more when I give the shots. It's just a part of life now. Although it will be interesting to see what happens when I have to get my own next needle!
The hardest part for me, and it sounds like for you too, is sorting through all the information (some of it conflicting) to understand what needs to be done now. This site has been a blessing. I don't have a partner so I sympathize with you both trying to find common ground to agree on what's best for your sugarbaby. It will eventually get easier, I promise.
 
I tried the pen that came with the alphatrak glucometer (unfortunately all the strips were expired so we will pass it on) and it stung a little. Definitely drew quite a bit of blood out of me and it took awhile to stop. I think that one is too thick and would hurt him? I don't know. Obviously it stopped hurting pretty quickly and I would be fine stabbing myself all day, but not him.[/QUOTE]

My vet tech advised me not to use the pen thing with the lancets. She prefers to just use the lancets themselves because you have more control. I noticed too that when she did it she went into the vein at an angle instead of straight on like the pen thing does. I don't know if that makes a difference in how much blood you get but it really lowers the risk of the lancet going through the ear. Clawdie didn't even seem to feel it. I don't think he would like the click of the lancet thing.
 
I have now successfully gotten him to bleed twice, but it hasn't been enough for a reading. He will not allow me to "milk" his ears, but they do get nice and warm beforehand. I think I am going to have to try the other lancets and see if they will work.

After taking the day to talk through it, I was able to use some of the very helpful explanations on this forum as to why I thought it would be best to pick one of the methods on here rather than listen to the vet. I think the most realistic one is SLGS until I can get better at testing. I am still waiting for the vet to reply about an appropriate amount of food just before insulin and also calories in general. I am hoping he gets back to me tomorrow morning. I know how we should approach it to start, but I don't think my partner is convinced about the keeping the food away for a couple of hours.

I am determined to get a successful reading. I am going to try one more time tonight and then again in the morning. At least I can tell myself that I am helping his ears learn!

I was hoping someone would be able to confirm (or correct) this approach. First, get a reading on the glucometer. Start the insulin at 0.5 instead of the vet's suggested two since he is now on low carb wet food. Test periodically to gather info and also to help everyone get used to it. Try to test pre-shot and also partway through the day. Give several small meals throughout the day (this seems to be his prefered way of eating, although they might not be small enough). Can he recieved a small meal in the middle of the night? My partner is a sucker and can't turn the cats off like I can and often ends up giving them a little food.

Administer the 0.5 units twice a day, 12 hours apart. After between one and two weeks perform a curve, testing every two hours over a 12 hour period. Reassess and ask for help!

Do I need to worry about it not being enough over the course of the first week? Would this be evident by spot checks? And does it not matter because it has to be given at least a week to sort itself out?

I know there is more to it, but if I am doing those things that is an okay place to start?
 
My vet tech advised me not to use the pen thing with the lancets. She prefers to just use the lancets themselves because you have more control. I noticed too that when she did it she went into the vein at an angle instead of straight on like the pen thing does. I don't know if that makes a difference in how much blood you get but it really lowers the risk of the lancet going through the ear. Clawdie didn't even seem to feel it. I don't think he would like the click of the lancet thing

That's helpful to know, thank you.
 
Just to be really clear, going into the vein at an angle means like they do at the hospital when they are putting in an iv, lengthwise, not crosswise. You probably already knew that but just in case.......lol.
 
The Lancet went right through his ear and into my finger. Unless I somehow totally messed up and missed his ear entirely. I couldn't find blood. On him.
 
The Lancet went right through his ear and into my finger. Unless I somehow totally messed up and missed his ear entirely. I couldn't find blood. On him.
Oh no! I hope you didn't hurt yourself too much. I haven't stabbed myself with the lancet yet but I did get a dose of insulin during one of the first shots I gave. Jocie told me to get makeup pads, fold them in half and hold them against the inside of the ear while testing so that if the lancet goes through the ear it will go into the pad and not your finger. Then you slide the pad over the ear so that it covers both sides of where you poked and gently press until the bleeding stops.
 
I think I am. I’ve been using the warm rice pack. He wasn’t into an ear massage. He has developed the ability to tuck his ears in to keep me from reaching the spot and also manages to escape my hold if I happen to get blood (that one time) so I don’t think the drop is big enough. I can easily put the pack on though because he just thinks he is getting affection everywhere. I know there’s a lot of practice involved for both of us and I am trying to approach it like it’s not big deal. I don’t think he’s fallen for it.
You want the rice pack really warm. The ear massage method only really works if you are more experienced. I find it far easier to draw blood with the hot rice pack.

My Dixie also does the ear tucking thing! What I do is gently wrap her ear around my left-hand index finger, and then use the lancet with my right hand.

I tried the pen that came with the alphatrak glucometer (unfortunately all the strips were expired so we will pass it on) and it stung a little. Definitely drew quite a bit of blood out of me and it took awhile to stop. I think that one is too thick and would hurt him? I don't know. Obviously it stopped hurting pretty quickly and I would be fine stabbing myself all day, but not him.
If they are the AlphaTRAK Lancet then it looks like they sell 28G ones which are great for beginners. It is good practice to do it on your finger, but please don't compare your finger pain to how his ears would feel! Cat ears will have different nerve endings than our fingers. When I have tested my finger, it will be in pain for the rest of the day :D. FCC's ears will not feel that same pain.

Personally, I use the lancing device that comes with the Bravo Meter I recommended. I have never got the hang of it with free-handing, and I prefer the lancing device because it has a nice clear target that I can line up with the ear at the same spot each time. Dixie doesn't mind the clicking at all. Seems like most people on here prefer free-hand though.

After taking the day to talk through it, I was able to use some of the very helpful explanations on this forum as to why I thought it would be best to pick one of the methods on here rather than listen to the vet. I think the most realistic one is SLGS until I can get better at testing. I am still waiting for the vet to reply about an appropriate amount of food just before insulin and also calories in general. I am hoping he gets back to me tomorrow morning. I know how we should approach it to start, but I don't think my partner is convinced about the keeping the food away for a couple of hours.
There isn't any 'perfect' amount of food. I'll copy what I do here:
I give Dixie 210 calories:
  • shot time: bg test, give 30g food, give insulin
  • +2 hrs after insulin: 30g food
  • +4 hrs after insulin: 20g food
  • +5 hrs after insulin: 10g food
  • +10 hrs after insulin: remove all food
This gets done twice a day.

Can he recieved a small meal in the middle of the night? My partner is a sucker and can't turn the cats off like I can and often ends up giving them a little food.
Yes, definitely! I give Dixie 4 meals in the daytime and 4 meals at nighttime. You can also free-feed if that works for you. You just want to remove the food 2hrs before insulin shot time.

I was hoping someone would be able to confirm (or correct) this approach. First, get a reading on the glucometer. Start the insulin at 0.5 instead of the vet's suggested two since he is now on low carb wet food. Test periodically to gather info and also to help everyone get used to it. Try to test pre-shot and also partway through the day. Give several small meals throughout the day (this seems to be his prefered way of eating, although they might not be small enough). Can he recieved a small meal in the middle of the night? My partner is a sucker and can't turn the cats off like I can and often ends up giving them a little food.

Administer the 0.5 units twice a day, 12 hours apart. After between one and two weeks perform a curve, testing every two hours over a 12 hour period. Reassess and ask for help!

Do I need to worry about it not being enough over the course of the first week? Would this be evident by spot checks? And does it not matter because it has to be given at least a week to sort itself out?

I know there is more to it, but if I am doing those things that is an okay place to start?
That sounds like the SLGS method. I would recommend to try and test as often as you can though, because if it is difficult to do now, then imagine how annoying doing a glucose curve in one day will be! Make sure that after each test you give him a nice low-carb treat as well. You basically just need to get over this initial hump of failed tests... after that, it will be so much better.

Do I need to worry about it not being enough over the course of the first week? Would this be evident by spot checks? And does it not matter because it has to be given at least a week to sort itself out?
Nobody can say for sure without the blood sugar readings. When you first start out, you will want to try and figure out where FCC's nadir (lowest blood sugar reading of the cycle) is. Each cat is different. It could be +4 hrs after insulin, +6 hrs, etc. So try getting spot checks at varying times to get an idea of what his blood sugar is doing.

Also, regarding worrying about it not being enough... even if you get him up to 2 units, it still might not be enough. It isn't just about getting to that perfect dose, but also how long you are able to bring his levels down. He needs time to heal... so don't get too caught up in regulating him super fast. You will often hear here that it is a "marathon and not a sprint"!

Here is a mapping of Dixie's preshot values (tests before insulin shot so they will be highest of each cycle) since her diagnoses
preshot values.PNG

You can see that it took many months to bring her down and get her regulated! It wasn't about getting her to some perfect dose, because she really stayed on quite a low dose for a long time. But it was just about giving it time and also making sure her other health was in tact (getting her dental really brought her values down).

The Lancet went right through his ear and into my finger. Unless I somehow totally messed up and missed his ear entirely. I couldn't find blood. On him.
Hah! That is your rite of passage here :D. When I started, I would take strips of paper towel, fold the over, and wrap them on my finger. I've gotten better at it now and I just wrap a single toilet paper sheet on my finger, making sure to overlap it. Some people use cotton balls or makeup-remover pads, but I prefer to save money there and just use toilet paper.

8-jpg.58988


(I got more pics in this thread)

When starting out, start trying to get the BG test 30 mins before you are planning to give the insulin shot. Give yourself extra time.
 

Attachments

  • preshot values.PNG
    preshot values.PNG
    95.4 KB · Views: 514
Not sure if you had the vet visit yet showing how to dose the insulin, but you can always make a post here or a daily thread on the lantus forum. Take a pic of the syringe and get others to double-check that you are doing the first dose correctly. We all went through the same learning process you are going through now, so we are really happy to help! No question is too small.
 
Some extra info:
  • Accu-chek Aviva Nano meter you are using requires 0.6 microlitres of blood
  • Bravo Meter requires 0.5 microlitres $39.99/100 = $0.40/test (DiabetesExpress)
  • FreeStyle Lite requires 0.3 microlitres $74.99/100 = $0.75/test (London Drugs)
  • AlphaTrak 2 meter 0.3 microlitres $88.59/50 = $1.77/test (eBay)
The FreeStyle lite and AlphaTrak meters are special because if they don't get enough blood initially, then you get up to 60 seconds to add more blood. The AlphaTrak is calibrated for pet blood, so its numbers will differ from the human glucometers (the rest in the list). So you will need to use a special spreadsheet for the pet one if you decide to use it and will need to follow different numbers in the dosing protocol. Just thought I would mention that because you noted you had an AlphaTrak as well!

upload_2021-6-14_6-53-6.png

(Source)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-14_6-53-6.png
    upload_2021-6-14_6-53-6.png
    48.3 KB · Views: 693
Is this something that you made or bought? How long do you hold it on his ear before poking and I assume you take it away before poking or am I wrong?
I made it. I put 1/2 cup of rice in a thing anklet sock and tie it up. Then I microwave it for 20 seconds. It will usually be a bit hot to the touch of my inner arm, but that is ok because it will cool down by the time I get the test supplies ready.

I hold it on top of the ear. Not sure how long exactly I hold it... when I started out, I would hold it for 60 seconds and actually count it out. But now, testing is easy and maybe I hold for < 20 seconds.

If you shine a flashlight beneath the ear before and after warming, then you should see a difference if you warmed it enough.

I do take it away before poking.

Edit: Oops! Thought this was directed at me! Oh well I will leave it up anyways :P
 
Thank you all once again. We received a reply from the vet today and he told us FFC should be getting 250 calories. It’s nice to have a solid number. It’s pretty close to what we calculated, but there was some variance. He is supposed to email us with his recommended food serving just before shot time, but with the guidance I have received here I think I can work it out. I’m still running into problems since the cats eat in such different ways, but Typewriter will get a little food on the sly since she is a nibbler. I did notice that he didn’t eat very much when I put his bowl down this morning after keeping it away for two hours, but I suspect I put too much down during the last feeding.

Oh no! I hope you didn't hurt yourself too much. I haven't stabbed myself with the lancet yet but I did get a dose of insulin during one of the first shots I gave. Jocie told me to get makeup pads, fold them in half and hold them against the inside of the ear while testing so that if the lancet goes through the ear it will go into the pad and not your finger. Then you slide the pad over the ear so that it covers both sides of where you poked and gently press until the bleeding stops.

I’ve stabbed myself several times because I wanted to make sure I understood how the pen worked and to get an idea of what it felt like. I am very happy to know that, as someone mentioned above, it doesn’t feel the same to him.

Hah! That is your rite of passage here :D. When I started, I would take strips of paper towel, fold the over, and wrap them on my finger. I've gotten better at it now and I just wrap a single toilet paper sheet on my finger, making sure to overlap it. Some people use cotton balls or makeup-remover pads, but I prefer to save money there and just use toilet paper.

Toiler paper is a good idea. The cotton balls were just annoying him more so I stopped trying to use them. I don’t think he would care if I had something wrapped around my finger. I am going to try the ear wrap strategy, but I am pretty sure FCC will try to wriggle out of it as fast as possible.

It was very helpful to see the blood drop sizes.

Not sure if you had the vet visit yet showing how to dose the insulin, but you can always make a post here or a daily thread on the lantus forum. Take a pic of the syringe and get others to double-check that you are doing the first dose correctly. We all went through the same learning process you are going through now, so we are really happy to help! No question is too sma

I might take you up on that. My partner was shown how to do it with a saline pen, but that is obviously very different from a syringe. We have watched a few videos and I will figure out his comfort level later today. I am determined to get some blood out of him beforehand and just trying to think of all this failure as me learning and him hopefully chilling out a bit more. He does like the treat at the end.

Is this something that you made or bought? How long do you hold it on his ear before poking and I assume you take it away before poking or am I wrong?

I made it and only manage to keep it on his ear for about 30 seconds. I know a flashlight is a good idea, but am finding that the more things around FCC the more uncomfortable he seems to get. I do remove it before testing. I will study the sweet spot a little more and try again in an hour or so. It’s got to work sometime and I do feel like it’s really important to get a couple readings before the insulin. Once it becomes easier I will examine whether it makes more sense to change the approach. I like the idea of TR, but know it won’t work for me yet.

I’ve just started to keep track of his water intake. I probably should have done that before. He drank roughly 200ml over a period of 20ish hours and I feel like that is a lot less than he was drinking before.

I just received a copy of the email from the vet who has of course mentioned Purina MD and said we should come get a curve done 7 days after we start. Apparently they didn’t listen when we said we would be home testing? He also just said a full meal so I will just stick to an estimation based on the information provided here.

As always, thank you for being such lovely lifesavers. You’re making all the difference for me and for FCC.
 
Quick question (who am I kidding, they are never quick). I have not figured out the spreadsheet or any numbers really yet. I have been so focussed on getting that drop of blood and trying to work out a plan. I finally got a reading! Is the number on the human glucometer going to be the same as what was in his vet test results? I know he needs many pokes and not just one, but tonight it read 19.1 (converts to 344). The results on his test were 27.2. Can I interpret this as progress?
 
I am having a late night freak out about the beginning of insulin injections tomorrow. Since I never really talked to the vet after all the tests I didn't tell him I was not going to follow his prescription of 2 units twice a day and instead use the SLGS regiment. When I said I wanted to do home testing he said okay, but then we received an email saying we should book FCC for his curve in 7 days. I am worried he won't be open to helping look at the numbers or won't accept a curve done with a human glucometer. I'm also terrified I'm doing the wrong thing.
 
Take a breath. You're doing fine. More than likely this was something like a stock email and they always say that about the testing. There should be no problem with you home testing and you don't have to put it into the spreadsheet for the vet. You just have to write down the times and the readings. I would let him know that you are researching and have noticed that most cats are started at 1 unit 2x daily and are wondering why he wants to start at 2 units. Maybe there was a misunderstanding or maybe he has a reason, who knows? If he doesn't like that you are asking questions or won't accept your curve or a human glucometer I would think about looking for another vet quite honestly. Let us know what happens.
 
You're doing fine. More than likely this was something like a stock email and they always say that about the testing. There should be no problem with you home testing and you don't have to put it into the spreadsheet for the vet. You just have to write down the times and the readings. I would let him know that you are researching and have noticed that most cats are started at 1 unit 2x daily and are wondering why he wants to start at 2 units. Maybe there was a misunderstanding or maybe he has a reason, who knows? If he doesn't like that you are asking questions or won't accept your curve or a human glucometer I would think about looking for another vet quite honestly. Let us know what happens.

Thank you. Sorry, it’s been a tough night/day. I ended up giving him 1 unit instead of the .50 suggested in the SLGS protocols. My partner is confused because of the syringes and the pens and even with the videos we watched it seemed impossible to figure out how to put such a tiny amount in a syringe. Then there’s all the stuff about not shooting air into the pen and he got understandably frustrated and stressed out so we ended up using one of the handful of disposable needle tips the vet technician gave him when they did the demo. Because of this we were stuck using a whole number. We are going to work on figuring it out, but I like the suggestion of just saying something like that to the vet. I know it’s possible I will have to try and find a new one, but I am hoping this all smoothed over. I’ve been poking his ear all day and gotten a couple of successful readings, but more importantly I think both FCC and I are getting more comfortable with the repeated stabbing of his ear. He’s a big fan of the treats after. I feel bad for basically not following the vet or the recommended protocol, but I thought it was important we get him started after having so many delays. My partner thinks I am trying to put too much information in my brain and am confusing everything. Which is true in a way, but I am always going to try and understand what is best for my cat. I know the waves of panic will eventually subside. I am looking at automatic feeders right now because the cats did not want anyone to sleep if they didn’t have food to stare at even though they probably wouldn’t eat it if it was there. Tomorrow I am going to start tackling understanding the spreadsheet because I know it’s an invaluable resource and much better than my hand kept notes.

Thank you ladies so much. Just trying to get my head on straight.
 
I find the pens easier not just because they don't look so much like needles but because I don't have to worry about air getting in or measuring doses. If I can get over the needle phobia enough I might go for syringes if they are a significant savings but I'm not sure. I think the syringes should be very thin and it should be pretty easy to suck up that small amount. FarmKitty would know I'm sure. The spreadsheet looks a little daunting at first but it's actually pretty easy to understand once you know what the initials and numbers stand for. Just be sure you pick the right one for the glucometer (human or pet) you are using.
 
Quick question (who am I kidding, they are never quick). I have not figured out the spreadsheet or any numbers really yet. I have been so focussed on getting that drop of blood and trying to work out a plan. I finally got a reading! Is the number on the human glucometer going to be the same as what was in his vet test results? I know he needs many pokes and not just one, but tonight it read 19.1 (converts to 344). The results on his test were 27.2. Can I interpret this as progress?
Awesome you got the reading! No, the human glucometers are calibrated differently so it will not be the same as what the pet glucometers would read. There is no way to convert from one to the other (a few people on the forum have tried in the past). If you'd like to learn more, you can use the forum search feature or try out Google (my preference). For example, google "difference between human and pet glucometers site:felinediabetes.com". Including that 'site' part will tell Google to just search this forum! I use it all the time.

The human meters tend to read lower values. For instance, the "take action your cat is low" number on the pet meter is < 3.7 mmol/L but if you have a human meter then you actually look for < 2.7 mmol/L. The large majority of people here use the human numbers, so keep that in mind while you are reading posts and other's spreadsheets. The pet glucometer spreadsheets will have a big red warning message letting you know that they are pet-calibrated values. We don't care as much about what FCC's BG values are "exactly". Instead, we care more about the trend and also keeping him safe if he goes too low. So the human glucometer is sufficient for this.

So even though we can't directly compare FCC's pet BG reading to the one you just took, the new value is lower and it looks like progress to me. It is hard to say because at the vet visit FCC could be stressed, just ate, having a bad time, etc. Or it could be that the food switch is making a big difference. But either way, it is very exciting! :cat:

I am having a late night freak out about the beginning of insulin injections tomorrow. Since I never really talked to the vet after all the tests I didn't tell him I was not going to follow his prescription of 2 units twice a day and instead use the SLGS regiment. When I said I wanted to do home testing he said okay, but then we received an email saying we should book FCC for his curve in 7 days. I am worried he won't be open to helping look at the numbers or won't accept a curve done with a human glucometer. I'm also terrified I'm doing the wrong thing.
I mean, look at it this way... you are starting with a safer dose and moving up. The only worry I could imagine is if you think you aren't treating him quickly enough. Yes, diabetes will damage his body over time, but you starting him on a higher dose of insulin now vs 3 weeks from now is pretty small in the grand scheme of things. You are doing a lot more than many cat owners would do, so please don't worry about doing the wrong thing. You are basically doing what the vet is saying, but then just taking it one step extra. It is obvious that you care about FCC very much by what you are doing here.

In my opinion, don't tell the vet about the SLGS regimen or the starting dose, and just don't respond to the email about the curve. If you want the curve in the future, you can book that anytime you want.

At this point, the vet has done all they can for you. It is now up to you to establish a good testing/insulin routine with FCC, and gather data. Learn the ins and outs of how to treat him. Get a few months of data and see his numbers do. Adjust the insulin dose and continue on from there.

If FCC's numbers start to get weird like staying continuously high, or unexpectedly jumping up to a higher range than normal, then you can get a vet checkup done and see if something else is going on. The numbers can change depending on if your cat is getting an infection and other things like that. If FCC starts to show other symptoms, then take him to the vet.

But don't expect to take in your spreadsheet of numbers to him and have him look at them in any meaningful way. Lots of vets are adamant that the pet glucometers are the only way.

I have Dixie's numbers regulated to the ideal numbers right now. That is because of choices I made and was nothing to do with my vets. The daily BG monitoring, the switch to low-carb food, the dental, and the switch from ProZinc to Lantus were ALL ideas from this forum, and were NEVER recommended by the vet to improve her diabetes (and I went to the vet a lot at the beginning because Dixie had stuff going on haha). When she had her dental, her numbers dropped drastically within a few days and I was able to catch it with the BG readings and lower her dose... what if I wasn't doing those readings and didn't read up on the diabetes stuff? Would I have been keen enough to notice her having hypoglycemic symptoms? Who knows...

My partner is confused because of the syringes and the pens and even with the videos we watched it seemed impossible to figure out how to put such a tiny amount in a syringe.
Yeah it can be a super tiny amount for cats... What I do is insert the needle and draw up more than I need. Then remove the needle and tap the air bubbles to the top. Then squirt the excess down the sink drain until I get to the dose I need.

Then there’s all the stuff about not shooting air into the pen and he got understandably frustrated and stressed out so we ended up using one of the handful of disposable needle tips the vet technician gave him when they did the demo.
Yeah in a typical vial (not like the special cartridges you have), if you only draw up insulin and never replace it with any air then the air pressure gets really low in the vial and it gets really hard to draw up any insulin (I know because I got lazy and this happened :D). So with vials you shoot some air into it beforehand and then draw up insulin. This is what most people will be used to.

However, with the Lantus cartridges, it takes care of this for you! As you draw insulin, the bottle will get smaller so there are no air pressure issues. So basically that is why you see warnings to NOT inject air into the cartridges (since that isn't what people are used to doing). Hopefully that clears things up for you!

Because of this we were stuck using a whole number. We are going to work on figuring it out, but I like the suggestion of just saying something like that to the vet. I know it’s possible I will have to try and find a new one, but I am hoping this all smoothed over. I’ve been poking his ear all day and gotten a couple of successful readings, but more importantly I think both FCC and I are getting more comfortable with the repeated stabbing of his ear. He’s a big fan of the treats after. I feel bad for basically not following the vet or the recommended protocol, but I thought it was important we get him started after having so many delays. My partner thinks I am trying to put too much information in my brain and am confusing everything. Which is true in a way, but I am always going to try and understand what is best for my cat. I know the waves of panic will eventually subside.
There is nothing wrong with gathering more info. That is what I did when starting out. I learned from this site and went to my vet to clarify things (which honestly, was never useful...). You gotta do what you gotta do. I recommend that you try to get as many tests as you can in. During the first few days, the Lantus will start building up the depot and will have a stronger and stronger effect on him, so look out for that! And please don't make any mistakes with the pen dosing. Hopefully the instructions you saw online were clear about that.

I am looking at automatic feeders right now because the cats did not want anyone to sleep if they didn’t have food to stare at even though they probably wouldn’t eat it if it was there.
I found the automatic feeder to work great to take the feeding attention off of me. Dixie will lay next to the feeder now instead of bugging me :)

Tomorrow I am going to start tackling understanding the spreadsheet because I know it’s an invaluable resource and much better than my hand kept notes.
Great idea! You will want to use the World Spreadsheet Template linked to the bottom of this thread. Looks like you already got a handle on converting between mmol/L and mg/dL. The spreadsheet will just convert to mg/dL automatically for you so that the Americans here can understand :p. Pretty much everyone on the forum uses mg/dL which I never got familiar with... always need to divide by 18 every time I read posts here :mad::D
 
It is a good idea to set up your signature, it's at the end of everyone's post in gray

Click on your name upper right hand corner , a drop down will appear , tap in signature , fill out info
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback. There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
@Acadaca
 
Last edited:
Thank you. That helped clear up some things for me. I think I would rather not deal with the vet and use all the information that everyone here has so diligently put together. It also makes sense to just concentrate on the numbers I get and not what the conversion to a pet reader would be. The trend is definitely the most important thing along with knowing if the numbers are dangerously low. I don't think listening to the vet and going in all the time is an affordable option for me so it's a bonus that it's better for FCC. Don't get me wrong, if I had to I would find a way. Should he be getting general regular checkups if everything else is going okay?


Yeah in a typical vial (not like the special cartridges you have), if you only draw up insulin and never replace it with any air then the air pressure gets really low in the vial and it gets really hard to draw up any insulin (I know because I got lazy and this happened :D). So with vials you shoot some air into it beforehand and then draw up insulin. This is what most people will be used to.

However, with the Lantus cartridges, it takes care of this for you! As you draw insulin, the bottle will get smaller so there are no air pressure issues. So basically that is why you see warnings to NOT inject air into the cartridges (since that isn't what people are used to doing). Hopefully that clears things up for you!

This is very helpful because my head was spinning with trying to understand the air/syringe thing. Thank you. We squirted the pen into the air a few times today with the pen needle and are concerned it isn't working. Basically 1 unit is two very
slow moving little drops and 2 is a squirt. I can upload a picture if I need to, but I am on my phone so I have to wait to get to my computer.

found the automatic feeder to work great to take the feeding attention off of me. Dixie will lay next to the feeder now instead of bugging me :)

I sure hope that's what happens. FCC has been really amenable to all the changes considering what he is going through, but Typewriter is not happy. She's got 8 years on him so I think her schedule is more important to her? She is also the one who would nibble on the dry food throughout the night. I have been waking up (or have been woken up) to give them a couple small meals at night and she will sometimes torment me relentlessly and then turn her nose up at the food. I actually feel pretty bad about all the changes she is going through too, but I am sure it will sort itself out. Especially considering how much better the wet food is for her too.

I noticed FCC'S poop is still very stinky, but also much more solid and brown than it has been in the past. Maybe TMI, but I am thinking it might be important. He is also drinking roughly 200ml of water every 24 hours which is way less than before.

I didn't wake up with panic in my chest this morning. Progress!

Thank you.
 
don't know if you are using Lantus?
Here is a photo of the pen and the cartridge. I would keep it in the fridge, it will last much longer

Yes, that is what I am using. I don't have to worry about it saying it causes discomfort if it's cold? Obviously I would like to extend it's lifespan as long as possible. Will any harm come to it because it has been out of the fridge for two days? I imagine everyone just does an eye test to tell if it's still good?

Thank you for the picture of the syringes.
 
f you do need help setting up your SS we do have a member who can set it up for you just ask

Thank you again! I am going to try today because I think it is important I try and understand things as best I can, but I will reach out for help if I can't make it work.
 
Yes, that is what I am using. I don't have to worry about it saying it causes discomfort if it's cold? Obviously I would like to extend it's lifespan as long as possible. Will any harm come to it because it has been out of the fridge for two days? I imagine everyone just does an eye test to tell if it's still good?

Thank you for the picture of the syringes.
I really wouldn't leave it out for two days
Before using it you can maybe leave it out for about 10-15 minutes to warm up if the cold bothers your kitty.
Keep the pens in a middle shelf, not in the door
We have many members here from Canada and they can tell you where to buy the syringes.
I'm from the US so I wouldn't know :cat:
 
Thank you. That helped clear up some things for me. I think I would rather not deal with the vet and use all the information that everyone here has so diligently put together. It also makes sense to just concentrate on the numbers I get and not what the conversion to a pet reader would be. The trend is definitely the most important thing along with knowing if the numbers are dangerously low. I don't think listening to the vet and going in all the time is an affordable option for me so it's a bonus that it's better for FCC. Don't get me wrong, if I had to I would find a way. Should he be getting general regular checkups if everything else is going okay?
I think you will just need to wait and see how things go, but planning for blood/urine tests in 6 months would be a good idea regardless. Cats are so good at hiding their problems, and unregulated diabetes will make them more prone to issues so it is better to catch things sooner rather than later.

This is very helpful because my head was spinning with trying to understand the air/syringe thing. Thank you. We squirted the pen into the air a few times today with the pen needle and are concerned it isn't working. Basically 1 unit is two very
slow moving little drops and 2 is a squirt. I can upload a picture if I need to, but I am on my phone so I have to wait to get to my computer.
I wish I knew how the pens worked! Make a new post asking this if you are still having issues because there might be some people using them. Typically we just use the syringes because you can pick the dose better.

I sure hope that's what happens. FCC has been really amenable to all the changes considering what he is going through, but Typewriter is not happy. She's got 8 years on him so I think her schedule is more important to her? She is also the one who would nibble on the dry food throughout the night. I have been waking up (or have been woken up) to give them a couple small meals at night and she will sometimes torment me relentlessly and then turn her nose up at the food. I actually feel pretty bad about all the changes she is going through too, but I am sure it will sort itself out. Especially considering how much better the wet food is for her too.
It's hard, but try not to assume how they are "feeling" or what is important to them. I did that a lot in the beginning, such as assuming Dixie would miss her dry food too much (so I kept it longer than needed), or that she would hate to not free-feed. After starting these new routines, she was totally fine with them after a few days. Some things, like the insulin shots, took a few weeks but now it is just normal daily stuff. And you are right the the wet food is excellent! Very hydrating.

I noticed FCC'S poop is still very stinky, but also much more solid and brown than it has been in the past. Maybe TMI, but I am thinking it might be important. He is also drinking roughly 200ml of water every 24 hours which is way less than before.
The poop will change, although I thought it was supposed to be less stinky on wet food. It could just be an adjustment period. It would make sense that he is drinking less because he is now getting water from his food. I tracked Dixie's water intake for the first four months and she went from around 200mL to 150mL. I don't think it was that useful to track, but I guess it was just another nice observation about her getting better (unregulated diabetic cats drink a lot!). I no longer track that stuff.

Yes, that is what I am using. I don't have to worry about it saying it causes discomfort if it's cold? Obviously I would like to extend it's lifespan as long as possible. Will any harm come to it because it has been out of the fridge for two days? I imagine everyone just does an eye test to tell if it's still good?
A quick google search shows that some people take 70 units of Lantus a day, so I'd imagine bigger doses to cause more discomfort if they are cold. I think with the small units you are using, it won't be a big deal at all. If you notice issues with shot time and have tried troubleshooting everything else (injection technique, etc.), then maybe it is worth leaving it out on the counter to warm up for 10 mins. But right now that just seems like extra work that you probably don't need on your plate :p

It will degrade faster at room temp, so hard to say how long it will last. You really just gotta try it out and see. Once you got the BG data, you will get a feel for when the insulin starts losing its touch.

Thank you. The middle shelf is good to know too, I was contemplating the best place to leave it. I knew the door wouldn't work or the bottom shelf because it gets too cold at the back. I appreciate all your help.
I keep mine on the bottom shelf because my top one can freeze, so I think it will be different for everyone. If you've got a thermometer then put it in there and see where is best!
 
It's hard, but try not to assume how they are "feeling" or what is important to them. I did that a lot in the beginning, such as assuming Dixie would miss her dry food too much (so I kept it longer than needed), or that she would hate to not free-feed. After starting these new routines, she was totally fine with them after a few days. Some things, like the insulin shots, took a few weeks but now it is just normal daily stuff. And you are right the the wet food is excellent! Very hydrating.

I am so guilty of that. My partner is always telling me to stop saying that I think the cat is feeling sad or defeated. I have no idea how he is actually feeling. It's just he's lying on the floor looking so pitiful and handsome. I sure hope he doesn't feel the way I suggest he might be.
wish I knew how the pens worked! Make a new post asking this if you are still having issues because there might be some people using them. Typically we just use the syringes because you can pick the dose better.

I will do this as soon as I have access to a computer. A good idea since we're a little concerned we're not giving him anything. The plan is to move to syringes tomorrow or the next day anyway.

A quick google search shows that some people take 70 units of Lantus a day, so I'd imagine bigger doses to cause more discomfort if they are cold. I think with the small units you are using, it won't be a big deal at all.

Wow. I had no idea some people took so much. Makes sense when a husky little cat is my point of reference. That also would explain why they might say it feels uncomfortable. I think you are right that as I gain experience I will develop a bit of a feel for things. Learned cat caring skills will hopefully become reflexes.

I think you will just need to wait and see how things go, but planning for blood/urine tests in 6 months would be a good idea regardless. Cats are so good at hiding their problems, and unregulated diabetes will make them more prone to issues so it is better to catch things sooner rather than later.

It's good to have a bit of a frame of reference so that is useful, thank you. I will take it a few steps at a time, but also plan for a checkup around then. I will probably do a bit of price checking to see if my vet is charging me the standard amount. I hate how they are unregulated. At least that's the case in BC and I assume Canada.
The poop will change, although I thought it was supposed to be less stinky on wet food. It could just be an adjustment period. It would make sense that he is drinking less because he is now getting water from his food. I tracked Dixie's water intake for the first four months and she went from around 200mL to 150mL. I don't think it was that useful to track, but I guess it was just another nice observation about her getting better (unregulated diabetic cats drink a lot!). I no longer track that stuff.

His poop was a lot worse before. I think it is certainly trending in the right direction. I don't think I will be as dilligent with his water intake monitoring as I am right now, but it was on the paper printout from the vet so I thought I should get a baseline post diet change. He no longer tries to drink the rainwater that has gathered in things up on our balcony. I think that's a win.

I found two images of the same thing online. This is what to ask your pharmacist for. BD insulin syringes 3/10cc 31g.

Thank you for the images. I am fairly certain that's what the pharmacist gave me when I went back the second time armed with a piece of paper.
 
I have only used the pens. Remember that there are 100 doses in the pen and it will make more sense to you that one dose is only a couple of drops. I get the pen out of the fridge when I get the food ready and give the shot when he's finished eating. Even if I take it right out of the fridge and give it there is so little that the cold has never bothered him. I think I am more concerned than he is. A tip my vet tech gave is that after you give the needle pet a bit where you gave it and then smell your finger. Insulin has a distinct smell and you can tell if you actually got it in or not. You should not be able to smell anything if you got it in. She wasted a dose so that I could see how much it was and what the insulin smelled like. It helped a lot.
 
A tip my vet tech gave is that after you give the needle pet a bit where you gave it and then smell your finger. Insulin has a distinct smell and you can tell if you actually got it in or not. You should not be able to smell anything if you got it in. She wasted a dose so that I could see how much it was and what the insulin smelled like. It helped a lot.

Very helpful to know. I will smell some tomorrow. Thank you for passing the tip along.
 
Hi guys. I am having a really hard time getting FCC’s BG reading. At this point I’m worried we are going to have to get the vet to do it. This is day three of insulin and there’s only been one day where I’ve managed two readings. I know they are vitally important to this process. I’ve been using the 28 g lancets and now have moved the pen up to 4.5 for a deeper penetration. I usually see blood, but it’s rarely enough. I have tried milking his ear, but he’s starting to get really antsy during the process. He used to be pretty chill. He’s a big cat and it’s hard to contain his squirming. I know the one good thing is all this blood should eventually make it easier, but that doesn’t help right now. I have studied the diagram for the sweet spot and watched several videos on YouTube. I am trying very hard not to feel frustrated because I know that will only make things harder for both of us and that he will feel my emotions. I think I’ve managed to keep my vibe relaxed, but who knows at this point. I try multiple times a day and usually more than once a session. He doesn’t make any noises so I don’t think I’m really hurting him, but I sure am annoying him. I use the warm rice sack and I have tried both stroking it repeatedly towards the tip of his ear and just resting it there. He doesn’t seem to mind the click of the pen and always gets some freeze dried chicken treats. I am not comfortable using just a lancet right now because I am worried I will stab both of us and much too hard (worried about stabbing me because I don’t want to contaminate anything). I haven’t brought a flashlight into the mix because I don’t think I’m coordinated enough and I think it will just give him another opportunity to squirm away. He doesn’t run away when I bring out the kit, he still comes to me, but he no longer settles. I don’t think wrapping him up would help because he hates that kind of contact and would start running away from me. I’ve tried being both gentle and firm in my restraint. He obviously prefers the former, but it often doesn’t allow me to get the strip to his ear without him moving it away from me and losing any possibility of blood collection.

I’m sorry this is so long winded, but I wanted to try and cover all my bases. Thank you for taking the time to read it all and for all the help.
 
I also had a lot of trouble when I first started home testing. Does FCC like to play a lot or is he a pretty chill cat? I got my first really good blood sample after Sophie had been running around like crazy during the summer and her ears were super hot. And I also managed to hit the vein on accident, so it looked like a crime scene :woot: If he likes to sunbathe or snuggle under a blanket, maybe also try to snag one after that as well.

If you haven’t already tried, you can also poke two holes right next to each other and sometimes the two droplets will merge into a larger one and make it easier. If you manage to get a good sized drop but he won’t sit still, you can also scrape it onto a clean fingernail and then stick the strip into that to get the reading.

For some people, they have no trouble right from the start. For others (me), it takes some time. When I was first starting I would try a few pokes and if I couldn’t get a sample I would let her go, give her a treat, and just try again later. Eventually with more poking the ears will start to bleed better. Testing is important, but try not to stress too much right now. You and FCC will eventually get the hang of it :bighug:
 
Get a flashlight out and shine it beneath his ear so that his veins light up from above and just check it out for a while. Then, get your hot rice pack and heat his ear up for 60 seconds. Then shine the flashlight again and check it out. You should see a lot more capillaries when his ear has heated up. Hopefully this will give you an idea of what you are working with. This is just a one time thing.

When I started out, I used a headlamp which made the whole process a lot easier if Dixie was laying in the dark. Sometimes the blood spot can be hard to spot.

Try to get him when he is in his sleepy mood. If he is up and about, then it will be more difficult!

When you test him, try not to show any signs of stress because they always seem to pick up on it... maybe hum a happy tune while you do it to keep you both calm.

Keep up the routine each time. Shake something to get his attention, get him in the same spot each time, and always reward with chicken treat no matter what. You are just in the most difficult part of the process, but he will soon get the idea of how it all works if he keeps getting rewarded with treats!

Make sure to have the strip in the glucometer and very nearby when you are testing him. The worst thing is when you get enough blood and then it absorbs into the hair.
 
For some people, they have no trouble right from the start. For others (me), it takes some time. When I was first starting I would try a few pokes and if I couldn’t get a sample I would let her go, give her a treat, and just try again later. Eventually with more poking the ears will start to bleed better. Testing is important, but try not to stress too much right now. You and FCC will eventually get the hang of it

Thank you for sharing your experience and support. I will keep trying and feel better knowing other people have had similar struggles. I just hate not being able to do all the things he needs me to do to help him in managing his illness. He's being such a trooper.

He's very chill, but his favourite place is to be curled up in a good which is generally not optimal for testing because he squishes himself in and startles at a touch. I will try running him around first, he does like his laser pointer. Thank you.

When you test him, try not to show any signs of stress because they always seem to pick up on it... maybe hum a happy tune while you do it to keep you both calm.

I appreciate all of your advice. Using the flashlight as a one time measure is a smart way to go about it and not something I had thought about. I will definitely try this although I will spare us both from being subjected to my humming. Relaxing music is a great idea though.

Almost time to try again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top