July 24 Blackie AMPS-157

Status
Not open for further replies.

Team Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
July 23

AMPS - 157
+6 - 126
+10 - 167
PMPS - 213
+5 - 299

I asked this a while back but didn't get responses. Ever since being diagnosed Blackie's hair on his inside back legs have been shedding out and its almost bald. Is this a side effect of the disease or the treatment?
 
That's an interesting question, but I have no answer.
What about posting your question over in health and see what info you can get from others that do not come over to Lantus board.

When Shadoe had her u/s and her belly was shaved, the hair that has grown back is very different, very coarse and rough now, where before it was fairly silky.

What does your vet have to say about it? Is it the same on both legs and in the same spots?
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
What does your vet have to say about it? Is it the same on both legs and in the same spots?

Haven't seen our vet since the diagnosis. I'm not sure if I want to go back to my regular vet, she raised the dose too quickly in the beginning.

The balding doesn't happen in the same spots. Every summer he sheds quite a bit but never from the legs.
 
Is he licking the spots a lot? Like does it seem itchy, like a flea or some other allergy to something?
 
J.D. at times pulls out big hunks of fur from himself. I asked his regular vet, and the vet said it was probably an allergy, and didn't want to give him medicine for it because the medicines are mostly steriods, and he didn't want to give steriods to a diabetic cat.
Hopefully, Blackie will feel better once the summer is over and it starts to be a bit cooler.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top