tibbs5
Member Since 2014
Boy do i feel silly. I had been using a ketone test strip that was just for ketones and I had gone out and purchased a keto-diastix that checks both ketones and sugar. Well i must have been very tired when i was reading the strip the other night because i was actually looking at the glucose line and not the ketone line !!! yikes. so happily, he does not have ketones in his urine. There was just a trace amount of glucose. Needless to say, I am relieved. I still have not done the +5 to +7 numbers. I know I have to do it. He is finally getting used to the preshot check so i think i can get him used to the in between check soon. It is so hard to coordinate this testing while having to work full time. I don't have anyone else who can help so trying to schedule my work around getting his testing done is difficult. I am working on several solutions so hopefully it will get better. He seems to be doing ok, eating a bit more and playing too. He is going in for blood work to check his liver functions in the next few days. at least i have been able to give him his dose twice per day now so that is good. He is at .5 and as soon as i get the midway numbers, maybe he will be due for an increase? His preshot numbers are still in the 300-400 range so i really have to get on that +7 so we can determine if he needs more insulin. It has only been 1.5 weeks since dx. how much more time would you say he should be on this .5 dose until we look at changing anything? i know it takes a while to stabilize on a dose especially since he just started.
thanks everyone.
take care
Nadine
thanks everyone.
take care
Nadine