Jul 23 - Tibbs amps 301- no ketones !!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
Boy do i feel silly. I had been using a ketone test strip that was just for ketones and I had gone out and purchased a keto-diastix that checks both ketones and sugar. Well i must have been very tired when i was reading the strip the other night because i was actually looking at the glucose line and not the ketone line !!! yikes. so happily, he does not have ketones in his urine. There was just a trace amount of glucose. Needless to say, I am relieved. I still have not done the +5 to +7 numbers. I know I have to do it. He is finally getting used to the preshot check so i think i can get him used to the in between check soon. It is so hard to coordinate this testing while having to work full time. I don't have anyone else who can help so trying to schedule my work around getting his testing done is difficult. I am working on several solutions so hopefully it will get better. He seems to be doing ok, eating a bit more and playing too. He is going in for blood work to check his liver functions in the next few days. at least i have been able to give him his dose twice per day now so that is good. He is at .5 and as soon as i get the midway numbers, maybe he will be due for an increase? His preshot numbers are still in the 300-400 range so i really have to get on that +7 so we can determine if he needs more insulin. It has only been 1.5 weeks since dx. how much more time would you say he should be on this .5 dose until we look at changing anything? i know it takes a while to stabilize on a dose especially since he just started.
thanks everyone.
take care
Nadine
 
Whew!!! Best news of the morning. I was worrying about you two. He's probably due for an increase now but without the nadir checks I don't know by how much. The way I do my testing is with meals since I feed 4 times a day. So right before I feed lunch they get tested which works out to their +6

But others who work full time will a lot of times do just preshots, a couple random spot checks from when they get home from work and a test right before bed. Then run either a full curve (testing every 2hours from shot to shot ) or a mini curve (testing every 3hours shot to shot ) on their days off.

When I was working and because I'm a test aholic on the weekends I'd run back to back curves over the weekend. Saturday I'd test the even hours and Sunday I would test the odd hours. Now I in no way shape or form expect you to test that much. I'm just a data freak. Lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
LOL.. I would be a data freak too but my kitty wants me to get away from him. :-D :-D

here's Mr. Tibbs cat(2)_steam lol. I am so happy that it was my tired little brain that looked at the wrong readings !!!!!!
 
actually he's much better about getting tested since i started giving treats and dancing & singing for him. it really works !!!!
 
Lol yes it does and only makes you feel like an idiot at first. Lol

Happy momma bean, happy kitty cat. Wait for Halloween when my Autumn explains why it's really Happy Autumn's day. Lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top