Josie 3/23 -78 at 4.5+

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Josie

Active Member
AMPS - 105, fed
+13.5 - 149
+15 - 228 - gave a skinny .5 units
+3 - 280
+6 - 316
+7 - Josie threw up, which prompted me to test again - 376!!!

I can't understand why she rising like this. I can't imagine a slightly lower dose would make such a difference. It has to be something else. She sneezed a few times last night. I was going to take her into the vet, especially since one of my other cats just got over an upper respiratory infection about 5 days ago. But I haven't heard her sneeze since so I held off. I wonder if she's sick and that's why her numbers are rising.

I'm getting pretty concerned and wondering if I should take her to the vet? But for what? Sneezing twice last night? Throwing up once today? Having numbers in the high 300's when she is a diabetic? I almost feel like they'll wonder what they are seeing her for.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

I just fed her a little bit and she did eat. So I guess that's a good sign. She has actually seemed hungry all morning, so I was really surprised she threw up. I just don't know what to make of the rapidly rising numbers and the throwing up.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

URIs can be extremely contagious, and one or two sneezes would probably be enought for me take her to to the vet. Likewise, because of the FD, I assume that anything like that could impact her more than a "healthy" cat.

Have you tested for ketones? Again, not trying to sound like a broken record, but the potential for an infection, the relatively low dose, and the presence of ketones can be a recipe for DKA. If not, do what you gotta do to get her to use the litter box. Usually just scooping and messing w/ it is enough to entice Grayson to visit.

Good luck.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Don't have a lot of advice to give. I know what you mean about questioning whether or not to take her in. But, you know her. If she were mine, I'd keep watching her for now. Oreo (our non-diabetic cat) has sneezed a few times the last couple of days. But, he sticks his nose into EVERYTHING (He's our 'dog.') so I'm pretty sure he's inhaled some dust or something that didn't belong in his nose! He also vomited a few days ago (First time ever and he's 5 years old.) - concerned me but then he ate another couple of means without incident. Then, vomited again, but not since. So, I don't know if it was a little bug or if he ate something he shouldn't have. (He has been known to eat dryer sheets!)

Also, when Hershey (the diabetic one) has vomited in the past (He sometimes pulls out his hair and then can't help but ingest some.), it has raised his BG. I'm thinking that's pretty stressful on the body. A-n-d, I think sometimes he's vomited from being hungry. I have been known to, why not him?

I know you don't like seeing the (376) but there's only a few hours left in this cycle. Try to stay calm (They know when we're stressin'.) and keep us posted with what's going on with her.

Sending up a prayer for y'all,

Libby
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Josie may just be having an "off" day . Anytime they don't feel well for whatever reason, that can cause numbers to rise.
Do you have any Ketostix and check for ketones?
Just for peace of mind I would check, with rapidly rising numbers, and vomiting and possible URI. Just to be safe.
Vomiting just once is probably not anything to worry about unless it continues and she isn't eating well.
I would just watch the sneezing and if shes worse go to vet and get an antibiotic, unless she has ketones, then you need to take her in so she can start something to clear up infection right away.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Grayson & Lu said:
URIs can be extremely contagious, and one or two sneezes would probably be enought for me take her to to the vet. Likewise, because of the FD, I assume that anything like that could impact her more than a "healthy" cat.

Have you tested for ketones? Again, not trying to sound like a broken record, but the potential for an infection, the relatively low dose, and the presence of ketones can be a recipe for DKA. If not, do what you gotta do to get her to use the litter box. Usually just scooping and messing w/ it is enough to entice Grayson to visit.

Good luck.

The weird thing is, he hasn't sneezed in 5 days. If she has caught his URI, I wonder why she didn't catch it sooner?

I was testing for ketones, but then she became VERY upset at me stalking her in her litter box. When I was trying to test a few days ago she went in the litter box twice and just stared at me and didn't go. That freaked me out. Since she has had UTI's, I didn't want to make her upset and paranoid and NOT go. So because of that and her relatively low numbers and the fact that she was finished with her antibiotic, made me feel as though I could hold off on testing her urine until I could test her without bothering her. I am hoping I didn't make a huge mistake. I do have some aquarium gravel in a litter box now, so I can test her as soon as she goes. Unfortunately, she can't be coaxed to go. I'll have to wait until she goes on her own. I hope this is soon.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Do you add water to her food? Was just thinking the extra water might give her 'incentive' to use the litterbox
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Angela&Henry said:
Josie may just be having an "off" day . Anytime they don't feel well for whatever reason, that can cause numbers to rise.
Do you have any Ketostix and check for ketones?
Just for peace of mind I would check, with rapidly rising numbers, and vomiting and possible URI. Just to be safe.
Vomiting just once is probably not anything to worry about unless it continues and she isn't eating well.
I would just watch the sneezing and if shes worse go to vet and get an antibiotic, unless she has ketones, then you need to take her in so she can start something to clear up infection right away.

I hope it's just an off day. I do have ketostix for when she goes to the bathroom. Which I hope is soon. She never used to throw up but she does occasionally now. It usually don't worry that much, but it's that combined with the rising numbers that concern me. I hope that maybe they are up just from the stress of getting sick.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

You guys have all mentioned ketones and believe me, that's my main concern. But the idea of ketones stresses me out so much other than just the usual reason. The thing I hate is that my vet does not take the idea of ketones seriously. Or rather, he does not think it's at all likely that she would get ketones. When he ran a urine sample and I asked if there were any he just sighed and said "No, but you do NOT need to worry about that. A cat would have to be at VERY high numbers for a VERY long time for that to happen." Which I know isn't true. So if she does have ketones I am concerned that they will even take it seriously or properly treat her. I am looking for a new vet, but I have been so busy with her day to day care that I haven't been able to find one.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Doug N Libby said:
Do you add water to her food? Was just thinking the extra water might give her 'incentive' to use the litterbox

That's a good idea. I do occasionally but I didn't this last time. I'll add some water to her food and see if she'll eat some more.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

What about constipation? Is it a possibility? Cats will throw up if they are constipated.
Adding the water does kind of help. If she is constipated right now it won't doing anything. Moving forward add the water to the food.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Jenn & Baxter said:
What about constipation? Is it a possibility? Cats will throw up if they are constipated.
Adding the water does kind of help. If she is constipated right now it won't doing anything. Moving forward add the water to the food.

No I don't think she's constipated. She went within the last 18 hours or so, at least. I think I am going to add a bit of water to her food from now on though, just in case she would ever have those types of issues.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

She is eating well. I just fed her a tablespoon of food and added about 1/2 teaspoon of water to that. She gobbled it up.

I'm wondering if I should feed her more? I think she'd eat more, but I'm hesitant because her numbers are kind of high. I don't want to push them higher. Or is that maybe not as big of concern right now?
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Holly and Josie said:
You guys have all mentioned ketones and believe me, that's my main concern. But the idea of ketones stresses me out so much other than just the usual reason. The thing I hate is that my vet does not take the idea of ketones seriously. Or rather, he does not think it's at all likely that she would get ketones. When he ran a urine sample and I asked if there were any he just sighed and said "No, but you do NOT need to worry about that. A cat would have to be at VERY high numbers for a VERY long time for that to happen." Which I know isn't true. So if she does have ketones I am concerned that they will even take it seriously or properly treat her. I am looking for a new vet, but I have been so busy with her day to day care that I haven't been able to find one.

Look at Grayson's spreadsheet and my posts on and after Feb 23rd. He got a MODERATE test result and EVERYONE - especially those that had had DKA experience - was pointing me to the ER Vet. And someone last week just had their cat go DKA and it was about $4000 to treat. The little $6 bottle at Walmart is one heck of an insurance policy.

I can't test enough. Every time he heads to the litter box, I'm there. We're still doing Subcutaneous fluids - now every other day, provided there's no ketones. I can't be cautious enough. The vet can test for ketones - which would catch them earlier than when they expel them in the urine. It's all about being proactive!
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Yes, diffently start adding the water to her food. Was 18 hours ago normal? I would start observing. If you see her straining or having complications then she might be constipated. I give Baxter Miralax per Dr. Lisa Pierson.

What is her schedule? When do you feed & shot?

By the way is that her picture? The orange cat?
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

I meant to tell you she is a beautiful kitty!

We add a couple of Tablespoons of water to each meal for Hershey. (He eats ~1/4 can at a meal.) He's very forgiving if I lose count and add too much water. Good thing, too, because last night it fell off the edge of the sink under the drizzling water. Okay, so last night he had soup! ;-)

I do hope Josie is just having an off day and will be back to herself in no time!
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Jenn & Baxter said:
Yes, diffently start adding the water to her food. Was 18 hours ago normal? I would start observing. If you see her straining or having complications then she might be constipated. I give Baxter Miralax per Dr. Lisa Pierson.

What is her schedule? When do you feed & shot?

By the way is that her picture? The orange cat?

She wets about 3x a day and goes #2 about 1x per day. It may have been less than 18 hours ago, it's just that I cleaned the litterbox 18 hours ago so I know it was definitely within that time frame. It was probably more like 12 hours ago or less.

We try to feed and shoot and noon and midnight. But we have been getting wildly off schedule lately thanks to some long runs. Last night she didn't get her shot until 4am, which was at 15+. At her PMPS she was only at 112.

I think I screwed things up last night. She keeps being to low to shoot and then we miss the jump at she's at like 300. At that point, we give her the full dose. Well, last night, I caught the jump early, at 228, and we reduced the dose just a little. That could be why her numbers are so high today. She didn't get enough insulin. But it was really just a little bit less. So I'm surprised at the awful numbers today.

Yep, that's her. She's our chubby little girl. (Although she's not quite as chubby now, thanks to her new low carb diet.)
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Grayson & Lu said:
Holly and Josie said:
You guys have all mentioned ketones and believe me, that's my main concern. But the idea of ketones stresses me out so much other than just the usual reason. The thing I hate is that my vet does not take the idea of ketones seriously. Or rather, he does not think it's at all likely that she would get ketones. When he ran a urine sample and I asked if there were any he just sighed and said "No, but you do NOT need to worry about that. A cat would have to be at VERY high numbers for a VERY long time for that to happen." Which I know isn't true. So if she does have ketones I am concerned that they will even take it seriously or properly treat her. I am looking for a new vet, but I have been so busy with her day to day care that I haven't been able to find one.

Look at Grayson's spreadsheet and my posts on and after Feb 23rd. He got a MODERATE test result and EVERYONE - especially those that had had DKA experience - was pointing me to the ER Vet. And someone last week just had their cat go DKA and it was about $4000 to treat. The little $6 bottle at Walmart is one heck of an insurance policy.

I can't test enough. Every time he heads to the litter box, I'm there. We're still doing Subcutaneous fluids - now every other day, provided there's no ketones. I can't be cautious enough. The vet can test for ketones - which would catch them earlier than when they expel them in the urine. It's all about being proactive!

Oops, missed your post. Oh yes, I take ketones VERY seriously. I just don't think the vet does. Which is stressing me out. Not only do I have to worry if she does have them, but if she does, will she get the proper treatment?
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Doug N Libby said:
I meant to tell you she is a beautiful kitty!

We add a couple of Tablespoons of water to each meal for Hershey. (He eats ~1/4 can at a meal.) He's very forgiving if I lose count and add too much water. Good thing, too, because last night it fell off the edge of the sink under the drizzling water. Okay, so last night he had soup! ;-)

I do hope Josie is just having an off day and will be back to herself in no time!

Aw, thanks! I do love the picture my husband took of her. We call it her "school picture" because the way she is sitting reminds us of an elementary school kid's yearly photo.

I am going to begin adding the water every time. It can't hurt. She didn't seemed to mind the water I added to her little snack and it was VERY wet. Funny that Hershey had soup last night!

I sure hope she's just having a off day. All of these things have happened individually... throwing up, unusually high numbers, etc. They just haven't happened at the same time, so I'm stressed.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Her numbers are probably just because she is off. It's not hard to get back on track & her numbers will be good again.

She is a very cute cat. I love her face. She is Garfield... :lol:
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

At +8 she was at 417. This is NOT good. At all. I have to wonder how much higher she is going to go.

Does anyone know if it's OK to give more insulin a bit early? Like 2 or 3 hours early? I have given it an hour early before, but not more. And if so, I wondering if I should increase the dose? I don't want to overreact and make her crash (I've done that before). But at the same time, I can't see just giving her .5.

I am still waiting for her to decide to wet so I can test her urine. In the meantime, I have been annoying her trying to smell her breathe. It smells like cat breathe to me. Does anyone know if the acetone smell is really, really obvious? And does that only happen with high levels of ketones?

I have not heard her sneeze in about 10 hours, so that's a good thing.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Jenn & Baxter said:
Her numbers are probably just because she is off. It's not hard to get back on track & her numbers will be good again.

She is a very cute cat. I love her face. She is Garfield... :lol:

I hope she's just off and there's no serious reason behind it.

Yep, she is a female Garfield. She kind of has that personality, too. And, hey Garfield's creator is from Indiana, and so are we! Actually, in person Josie looks like one of her parents was an orange tabby and the other was a bulldog. She does not have a typical cat body type, at all. But she's adorable. Your cat is gorgeous!
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Josie, I wouldn't shoot more than 30 minutes early, it will get her off schedule too much.
The breath will have a distinct "sweet" "fruity smell sort of like pineapple or smell like acetone nail polish remover.
It may not smell really strong unless the ketones are very high, just try to get a test with the ketostix in her urine as soon as you can.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Hi Holly,
You mentioned earlier that she went into the box a couple times to pee and didn't (probably because you were watching or just because she knows you want her to pee!). Has she peed yet? I'm wondering if maybe she's got a UTI going on, which would raise her BGs too.

I didn't see anyone else ask today, but any chance part of that AM shot was a fur shot? Are you still shooting the scruff like your SS notes mentioned a few days ago?

Part of the numbers from the past 3 or 4 cycles might just be due to a small bounce routine from the greens she saw on the 21st. It could just be that the bounce needs to clear, which can take a cycle or two, or sometimes a couple of days, to clear.

It just looks to me like Josie is having an ECID day, trying to keep your life "interesting" because, well, she's a cat! And a big hunk of Orinch beauty too. That is an awesome photo of her...

Carl
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Sorry Holly, I called you Josie in my last post :mrgreen:
And shes very very cute, what a cute face, she looks like a little teddy bear. cat_pet_icon
Good luck with getting a urine sample soon.
I used to bring in an old litter box and just put a tiny amount of litter in the back corner, but then Henry would "save up" his pee and do a big amount at once and he would make a big mess (he has long hair) so one day I just tried going over and lifting his tail while he was peeing and holding the stick in the stream, he was completely oblivious to it, so thats what I do now. :mrgreen:
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Angela&Henry said:
Josie, I wouldn't shoot more than 30 minutes early, it will get her off schedule too much.
The breath will have a distinct "sweet" "fruity smell sort of like pineapple or smell like acetone nail polish remover.
It may not smell really strong unless the ketones are very high, just try to get a test with the ketostix in her urine as soon as you can.

OK, thanks for that info. It really doesn't smell like either of those things.

She never wants to go to the bathroom when I need her to go! But you can bet as soon as she does I will be rushing to her litterbox to test.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

carlinsc said:
Hi Holly,
You mentioned earlier that she went into the box a couple times to pee and didn't (probably because you were watching or just because she knows you want her to pee!). Has she peed yet? I'm wondering if maybe she's got a UTI going on, which would raise her BGs too.

I didn't see anyone else ask today, but any chance part of that AM shot was a fur shot? Are you still shooting the scruff like your SS notes mentioned a few days ago?

Part of the numbers from the past 3 or 4 cycles might just be due to a small bounce routine from the greens she saw on the 21st. It could just be that the bounce needs to clear, which can take a cycle or two, or sometimes a couple of days, to clear.

It just looks to me like Josie is having an ECID day, trying to keep your life "interesting" because, well, she's a cat! And a big hunk of Orinch beauty too. That is an awesome photo of her...

Carl

Yep, she has gone to the bathroom since. Basically, I tested her urine twice on Monday and she became VERY annoyed with me. She hissed and growled. Tuesday I tried again and that's when she refused to go. It scared me. She does have a history with UTI's and I felt that I was beginning to create "bathroom" issues for her. Which, at the time, I felt was more of a risk than ketones. So I laid off the testing. She went to the bathroom later that night and has gone 3x per day since. But unfortunately, I have not tested her urine in several days. I am kicking myself for this now.

The AM shot could have been a fur shot. It's possible. It was at 4am and my husband, the normal shot giver, was a bit groggy.

No more scruff shots. The only reason for that is because I was giving the shot and I'm not very good at it. The scruff is easier for me than the flank. So I figured better to give a so so shot than a fur shot. Unfortunately, because we are so far off schedule I am going to be giving the shot again today. There couldn't be a worse day for me to do it!

I did wonder if this was some sort of bounce. There were the low numbers on the 21st, but also last night. She was at 169 at 8+ and 105 at 11+. It is possible that the 105 wasn't the lowest number. Maybe she hit a really low number in between? I don't know.

Oh, yes, every day is a ECID for Josie. I think her spreadsheet is one of the most colorful on here.

Thanks! I do love that photo of her.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Angela&Henry said:
Sorry Holly, I called you Josie in my last post :mrgreen:
And shes very very cute, what a cute face, she looks like a little teddy bear. cat_pet_icon
Good luck with getting a urine sample soon.
I used to bring in an old litter box and just put a tiny amount of litter in the back corner, but then Henry would "save up" his pee and do a big amount at once and he would make a big mess (he has long hair) so one day I just tried going over and lifting his tail while he was peeing and holding the stick in the stream, he was completely oblivious to it, so thats what I do now. :mrgreen:

Oh, that's OK, I have been called Josie a few times on here! It would be easy not to know which one of us was the human and which was the cat, based on our names!

Aw, thanks. I love her face, too.

Oh, I wish I could just lift her tail up. I tried that on Monday and she was MAD! She hissed and growled and jumped out of the box before she was finished. I felt so bad. So now I have switched to the aquarium gravel so I can just test her when she's done and not bother her. Hopefully that works. And hopefully she goes soon!
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

OK, tested again and she's at 355. I know there can be a 20% variance, so technically her BG might not be lower. However, at least it isn't higher. Yesterday, I was bummed that she seemed to be hanging out in the mid 200's, now I'm happy for the mid 300's. Oh what a little perspective will do...
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

OK, so I finally tested her urine. It was not a completely ideal sample. Basically she would NOT go in the aquarium gravel. It freaked her out. She kept jumping in and jumping out. So I put her in front of her regular litter box. She immediately jumped in. I tried to time it so she wouldn't decide to NOT go. By the time I got the strip in she was finished, but there was some wet urine on top. I dipped the strip in and tested, negative. But it did get a bit of litter on it. Then I realized on that further down on the strip there was a bit more urine, which probably dropped off of her. Tested that with another strip, which was really only enough to coat half of the little area. Negative.

So I feel somewhat better. I just wish I had gotten a better sample. It's just so hard because she hates being bothered in the litter box SO much. I really need to be able to find a way to test her without causing so much stress.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

You can try putting some saran wrap just under the top layer of litter which can make it puddle and not soak in so fast.
carl
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Its sounds like shes negative then; even if there was a little litter on it and then you used another that only filled half and it was negative it probably is as long as you held the first stick in for 10-15 seconds.
So thats good. Just keep watching her. Usually if my cat has a UTI infection, the first sign is he starts urinating just in front of the litter box or finishing up outside the box and his numbers go up.
I've never tried the saran wrap, but that sounds like it would work, just keep some handy near her litter box so you can quickly put it down without startling her when she gets in.
I looked at her ss and its possible her higher numbers today are from those blues she got on the 21st and she could have gotten down in the greens that shes not used to. And she was at 112 at PMPS last night and you shot late so the lower numbers combined with the late shot could just have her wonky.
Her number is not going up and has come down a little, so try not to worry too much unless she starts showing some other symptoms, she's peeing and pooing, eating and I assume hasn't spit up anymore.
As, the motto on here goes remember to breathe!
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Glad you got the ketone test - and MORE GLAD that it was negative. I know it's yet another dance step to learn, but it's a VERY IMPORTANT step that we must not miss!

Everything comes in time, but sometimes we have to sweat it out a little at the beginning. It's a learning curve for all of us - they have to trust us, and we have to be quick enough to catch them before they cover! I know it's a pain, but think of it as a proactive means to save him from DKA - which can be extremely critical or even deadly. That's why we do this dance - over and over and over again!

Good job!!!
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

carlinsc said:
You can try putting some saran wrap just under the top layer of litter which can make it puddle and not soak in so fast.
carl

Oh, OK put it under the top layer of litter. That makes sense. I read about saran wrap on here and tried it once. But I just put it on top. She moved it aside. I can see how if there is a layer of litter covering it how it would work better.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Angela&Henry said:
Its sounds like shes negative then; even if there was a little litter on it and then you used another that only filled half and it was negative it probably is as long as you held the first stick in for 10-15 seconds.
So thats good. Just keep watching her. Usually if my cat has a UTI infection, the first sign is he starts urinating just in front of the litter box or finishing up outside the box and his numbers go up.
I've never tried the saran wrap, but that sounds like it would work, just keep some handy near her litter box so you can quickly put it down without startling her when she gets in.
I looked at her ss and its possible her higher numbers today are from those blues she got on the 21st and she could have gotten down in the greens that shes not used to. And she was at 112 at PMPS last night and you shot late so the lower numbers combined with the late shot could just have her wonky.
Her number is not going up and has come down a little, so try not to worry too much unless she starts showing some other symptoms, she's peeing and pooing, eating and I assume hasn't spit up anymore.
As, the motto on here goes remember to breathe!

Thanks for all of your advice/suggestions!
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -a bit worried

Grayson & Lu said:
Glad you got the ketone test - and MORE GLAD that it was negative. I know it's yet another dance step to learn, but it's a VERY IMPORTANT step that we must not miss!

Everything comes in time, but sometimes we have to sweat it out a little at the beginning. It's a learning curve for all of us - they have to trust us, and we have to be quick enough to catch them before they cover! I know it's a pain, but think of it as a proactive means to save him from DKA - which can be extremely critical or even deadly. That's why we do this dance - over and over and over again!

Good job!!!

Yeah, I'm glad things turned out the way they did. You are so amazing the way you have dealt with Grayson's ketone issues! I hope it doesn't seem like I think it's too hard to test her urine or that it's not worth it, it's just that it upsets her SO much I felt really bad. I felt I was creating "bathroom issues" and I most definitely did not want her to start "holding it" for fear I would bother her in the litter box. Especially since she has had a UTI recently. I will need to test but I am going to have to do it in a way that doesn't freak her out. But when it's really necessary, like today, I know I just have to annoy her.
 
Re: Josie 3/23 -dropping now!

Wow, maybe my husband did give a fur shot this morning. Tonight's PM shot of .5 seems too be working almost TOO well.

PMPS - 371, gave .5
+2.5 - - 222, gave a little bit of low carb food
+3.5 - 137, gave 1/2 TBSP of medium carb food. I feel like I should try to slow that drop a bit.

It's kind of a steep drop, but hopefully I'll be able to manage it.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
Have you been through this before? Test every 15 to 20 minutes.

Good that you are feeding med carb food.

Yep, I have. I was testing every 45, then 30. But now that it's 78 I'm going to be testing every 20. I hope the additional medium carb food works. If not, I may have to break out the high carb food.
 
You don't need to break out the high carb until hers bg drops below 40 to 50.

Lets see what the med carb will do to bring her up first.
 
Rob & Harley (GA) said:
You don't need to break out the high carb until hers bg drops below 40 to 50.

Lets see what the med carb will do to bring her up first.

Yeah, that's kinda what I thought. She was 62 the other day at +4 and I managed it with just medium carb. But, since she took a bit of a big drop from 4+ and 4.5+, I thought she potentially could be that low.

Now at 5+ she is at 87. So she's rising a bit. I'm wondering if I should give her a bit more medium carb, some low carb or nothing and see what happens?
 
Fur shots.....hate 'em!

Well, it looks like the PM cycle has turned out to be interesting. Nice job with handling the drop! Here if you need me. Robin's got you covered though!

Carl
 
carlinsc said:
Fur shots.....hate 'em!

Well, it looks like the PM cycle has turned out to be interesting. Nice job with handling the drop! Here if you need me. Robin's got you covered though!

Carl

Yeah, so weird that my husband gave a fur shot. Normally I'm in charge of fur shots. ;-) But it's really starting to look like that's what happened.
 
Looks like you're pretty much out of the woods. Thank goodness! Now BREATHE - I'm sure you haven't for a while now!!!

Great job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top