Joe's high numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan Pomo

Member Since 2021
I am wondering if anyone thinks I should raise Joe's units from 3.25 to 3.50. His numbers are still so high. I did catch him stealing kibble from the young cat I have in the house. I did not think he could make it up into the cage she eats out of.
Also Joe went for a weigh-in yesterday and gained 1/2 pound
 
I too think you should up by 0.25u.

You might want to keep this link handy: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

From that page, I use the following section the most:

********************************************
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).

Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.

Reducing the Dose:

  • Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot.
********************************************
Based on the above, you can see that upping the dose is warranted for Joe's next shot. IMPORTANT NOTE: Just remember that when you increase the dose, hold it for three to six cycles. I held all my increases for SIX cycles and then would look at the cheat sheet to see my next move. If nadirs (lowest points) are in the right range you can hold until even longer. Any time you see the BG go below 90, reduce by 0.25u, even if six cycles have not been completed. Hope this makes sense. If I made any mistakes in my post, I hope @JanetNJ will let us know.

Good luck!!
 
Last edited:
Also I have bought mostly Turkey, Beef, Chicken and Duck Weruva's for Joe. Wondering about using either canned Sardines or canned Mackeral for treats/snacks and so he can get some Omega's. Any thoughts on this? Both are zero carbs. Joe has early stage 2 CKD and diabetes
 
Naughty naughty Joe. Pretzels are not for you! So glad he gained weight Susan. Once his blood sugar gets lower, he'll put even more on.
I can't speak for if sardines or mackerel are low in phosphorus. hmm. Are any of the Weruva sardine or mackerel varieties on the "CKD friendly" list?
 
Low-phosphorus seafood choices


Phosphorus content for a 3-ounce portion, cooked:

Seafood Phosphorus Content
Mahi Mahi 155 mg
Salmon, Atlantic
farmed 215 mg
Yellowfin tuna 210 mg
Sea bass 210 mg
Tuna, canned 130 mg
Rockfish 195 mg
King crab 192 mg
Lobster 160 mg
Oysters, Eastern 120 mg
Shrimp 120 mg
Snow crab 120 mg
 
Also I have bought mostly Turkey, Beef, Chicken and Duck Weruva's for Joe. Wondering about using either canned Sardines or canned Mackeral for treats/snacks and so he can get some Omega's. Any thoughts on this? Both are zero carbs. Joe has early stage 2 CKD and diabetes
Have you tried the purebites chicken treats?
 
Are any of the Weruva sardine or mackerel varieties on the "CKD friendly" list?
Yes, there are a ton of Weruva's on the "good list" that are fishy stuff BUT another group I belong to (and many vets) say fish choices are not good for cats due to the low quality of fish used and the toxins found in the fish sourced for cat food. In the articles I was sent, so much radiation and such gets into the fish they use for canned cat food. I am sort of paying attention to this at the moment although I was looking into fresh caught Salmon as a treat.
https://www.catwhisperer.se/why-fish-is-bad-for-cats/ one of the many articles I have read.
Another one: https://littlebigcat.com/why-fish-is-dangerous-for-cats/
 
Have you tried the purebites chicken treats?
I bought Joe, from Chewy, some freeze dried chicken bites and freeze dried minnows. He turns his nose up at both. Joe does not turn his nose up at much. I was thinking about soaking a minnow and see if he likes it better that way
 
I bought Joe, from Chewy, some freeze dried chicken bites and freeze dried minnows. He turns his nose up at both. Joe does not turn his nose up at much. I was thinking about soaking a minnow and see if he likes it better that way
Jack would allow me to do anything if it meant getting some freeze dried shrimp. He knows what it means when I say, "Shrimpies?" Then he follows me anywhere. Not all my cats like them, but he adores them. They're not as hard as the minnows. I can crush one on top of his food as a topper, and it crumbles.
You can find them on Chewy or Amazon.
https://www.chewy.com/purebites-shrimp-freeze-dried-raw-cat/dp/53165
 
Last edited:
Oh
I bought Joe, from Chewy, some freeze dried chicken bites and freeze dried minnows. He turns his nose up at both. Joe does not turn his nose up at much. I was thinking about soaking a minnow and see if he likes it better that way
too bad. Half my cats liked the purebites and half are not impressed. Lol
 
Jack would allow me to do anything if it meant getting some freeze dried shrimp. He knows what it means when I say, "Shrimpies?" Then he follows me anywhere. Not all my cats like them, but he adores them. They're not as hard as the minnows. I can crush one on top of his food as a topper, and it crumbles.
You can find them on Chewy or Amazon.
https://www.chewy.com/purebites-shrimp-freeze-dried-raw-cat/dp/53165
I will try these Shrimpies. Joe was such a slave to Temptations and had a jar with many bags in it. He got them multiple times a day by me and knew how to work anyone that came over too. I was a bad cat mom prior to him getting sick with indulging him in the wrong things
 
This video shows Cheddar taking off the lid to the treat jar and it happened all the time and then Joe knew how to take the bags out of the jar. Tag team criminals
 
Yes, Daphne is my dog and she helps me foster and socialize kittens. That is how I ended up with Cheddar. Cheddar is Daphnes cat
 
Cheddar is too smart for her own good and has to be caged at night or she gets into too much trouble. She pulled all those bags out of a cupboard
so she goes nite nite in her cage
 
Joe hates Cheddar. Joe walks with me and the dog and is waiting to go out and Cheddar ruined his chance to go out
 
Oh my God you are killing me with these videos:p
What a precious dog Daphne is I'm melting just watching her . She's very patient
Cheddar is some smart Kittie, I can't believe what she does and to go to her cage when you tell her to go nite nite is unbelievable.
I can't stop watching them :p

Joe is the boss lol he's so handsome
Cheddar looks young how old is she
 
Last edited:
Cheddar, Joe and Daphne are all so adorable and personable! Thank you for sharing those videos. They're highly entertaining. No doubt that Cheddar is a very smart cat, and it's easy to see that she likes to please you. I couldn't believe that she willingly went to her kennel for bedtime. It's adorable. You mentioned that Cheddar is Daphne's cat. I get that, because I once kept a kitten because my dog fell in love and literally begged for him. We had two other cats at that time, and they hated my Duke. But Gussy and Duke loved each other until the day that death separated them. Listening to Cheddar purr while she loved up Daphne was so heart warming. I watched that one a few times.
As for the temptation treats... Jack LOVED those things. To be honest, he also loves freeze dried minnows too, but not like he loves shrimpies and his old beloved temptation treats. I hope Joe likes them too.
 
I trapped Cheddar as a very wild feral kitten. Her and her brother. I brought them home to socialize and then get them into a Rescue. I always give kittens Daphne time because she loves kittens and then they can be adopted out as "dog friendly" this takes place in the bathroom first and later in a spare bedroom as wild, feral kittens are always caged at my house except for playtime. Daphne and Cheddar fell in love and I found I could not take her to adoption events. She also has a couple of handicaps, some mutated genes, (see the very long tail that she can lay flat against her body) I was scared no one would take care of her like I would. I have been fostering for years and years and had a golden rule to never foster fail. I told myself if I ever kept one I could no longer foster. Daphne convinced me. Because Cheddar turned out to be so mischievous, I have often regretted my decision as it is a full-time job keeping her out of trouble.
 
I can see how she's a full time job, but she's hilarious! I guess we can all be happy that every cat doesn't have the ability to problem solve. She's extremely intelligent.
I noticed the tail right away, as I have a kitty who holds her tail so high that it bends back a little. I never even considered that it could be a mutated gene. That's interesting. And I've had a few foster fails myself. Jack, one of my diabetics, wasn't allowed to stay in the foster home that I found for him because he hid behind a chair for 3 weeks then came out and pooped all over the furniture! I picked him up and he's been with me ever since. And he's never pooped on anything again (except one time in my daughter's shoes, and it was gross). And there were 2 other foster fails that I thought would be hard to home. One has since died from nasal cancer, and he was a real sweetheart. The other, I still have and she drools like a faucet and gets in trouble all the time. She's another orange girl like Cheddar, and the one who holds her tail bent back sometimes.

Here's my little drooling trouble maker. (I'm so grateful that she's not as bright as Cheddar!) Her name is Joey.
upload_2021-7-22_14-23-38.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-7-22_14-23-38.jpeg
    upload_2021-7-22_14-23-38.jpeg
    27.3 KB · Views: 681
I can see how she's a full time job, but she's hilarious! I guess we can all be happy that every cat doesn't have the ability to problem solve. She's extremely intelligent.
I noticed the tail right away, as I have a kitty who holds her tail so high that it bends back a little. I never even considered that it could be a mutated gene. That's interesting. And I've had a few foster fails myself. Jack, one of my diabetics, wasn't allowed to stay in the foster home that I found for him because he hid behind a chair for 3 weeks then came out and pooped all over the furniture! I picked him up and he's been with me ever since. And he's never pooped on anything again (except one time in my daughter's shoes, and it was gross). And there were 2 other foster fails that I thought would be hard to home. One has since died from nasal cancer, and he was a real sweetheart. The other, I still have and she drools like a faucet and gets in trouble all the time. She's another orange girl like Cheddar, and the one who holds her tail bent back sometimes.

Here's my little drooling trouble maker. (I'm so grateful that she's not as bright as Cheddar!) Her name is Joey.
View attachment 61820
Oh she's adorable Carolyn
@Daddy Jack's Mommy
 
Last edited:
img_20180916_004910-jpg.56996


Carolyn your Joey sort of reminds me oh Tyler's brother Perry, he passed last Oct , and boy do I still ache for him. He was my heart kitty, the love of my life, don't get me wrong I love Tyler's to pieces, but Perry was mine
 
img_20180916_004910-jpg.56996


Carolyn your Joey sort of reminds me oh Tyler's brother Perry, he passed last Oct , and boy do I still ache for him. He was my heart kitty, the love of my life, don't get me wrong I love Tyler's to pieces, but Perry was mine
I'm so sorry for that loss. It's painful to loss any fur baby. But it hurts, in another way altogether, when we lose a kitty who held a special place in our hearts. I once lost a cat whose presence took up the entire room that she entered. I didn't realize just how much of my heart she held until she was no longer with me. I know how it feels...
 
I'm so sorry for that loss. It's painful to loss any fur baby. But it hurts, in another way altogether, when we lose a kitty who held a special place in our hearts. I once lost a cat whose presence took up the entire room that she entered. I didn't realize just how much of my heart she held until she was no longer with me. I know how it feels...
I'm sorry for your loss also ♥:bighug::bighug:
 
I can see how she's a full time job, but she's hilarious! I guess we can all be happy that every cat doesn't have the ability to problem solve. She's extremely intelligent.
I noticed the tail right away, as I have a kitty who holds her tail so high that it bends back a little. I never even considered that it could be a mutated gene. That's interesting. And I've had a few foster fails myself. Jack, one of my diabetics, wasn't allowed to stay in the foster home that I found for him because he hid behind a chair for 3 weeks then came out and pooped all over the furniture! I picked him up and he's been with me ever since. And he's never pooped on anything again (except one time in my daughter's shoes, and it was gross). And there were 2 other foster fails that I thought would be hard to home. One has since died from nasal cancer, and he was a real sweetheart. The other, I still have and she drools like a faucet and gets in trouble all the time. She's another orange girl like Cheddar, and the one who holds her tail bent back sometimes.

Here's my little drooling trouble maker. (I'm so grateful that she's not as bright as Cheddar!) Her name is Joey.
View attachment 61820
Joey is the cutest!
 
Joe went up to 3.5 yesterday and today his numbers are very high. worried.
 
upload_2021-7-22_17-55-5.png
upload_2021-7-22_17-55-5.jpeg

upload_2021-7-22_17-57-3.png
upload_2021-7-22_17-57-3.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-7-22_17-55-5.jpeg
    upload_2021-7-22_17-55-5.jpeg
    111.8 KB · Views: 427
  • upload_2021-7-22_17-55-5.png
    upload_2021-7-22_17-55-5.png
    663.2 KB · Views: 492
  • upload_2021-7-22_17-57-3.jpeg
    upload_2021-7-22_17-57-3.jpeg
    97.3 KB · Views: 427
  • upload_2021-7-22_17-57-3.png
    upload_2021-7-22_17-57-3.png
    618.2 KB · Views: 471
Joe went up to 3.5 yesterday and today his numbers are very high. worried.
I don't really know why it's not coming down. The wbc is not super high in the labs but not low either. Makes me wonder if an infection was brewing and contributing to the higher numbers.


There's a labs tab on the spreadsheet. If you enter the values it makes it easy to compare Bloodwork over time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top