Joes Bloodwork. Any and all input appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.
As I said in my original post: "I have used a phosphorus binder (aluminium hydroxide) in the past"

Your Labs tab show a level of 5.4. I like to keep the phosphorus level in the middle of the range so using a lille binder no would not be unusual.
4.5 not 5.4. What is a good phosphorus level for a cat that does not have CKD?
 
You might want to talk to your vet about this but from what I know, you don't need a phosphorus binder if the number is under 6. https://felinecrf.org/phosphorus_binders.htm

You filled in 5.4 on your lab spreadsheet. You might want to correct it as there is a big difference between that and 4.5.
HI Perfumed, his Blood test from last time was 5.4. This time it is 4.5. I thought Larry was looking at the above test
 
Good job adding the labs, that must have been a lot of work. But satisfying seeing them side by side with the lower P of 4.5. What was Joe eating when he was diagnosed with diabetes?

I see you're getting more mid-cycle tests in. You need to get a test right before his PM shot, even if his mid-cycle test was high. Reason being, safety, of course, and also it's a good thing to compare to his +2 to get an idea if it's going to be an active cycle.
If the latest test you have is his AM +8, then when you get his PM +2, it's hard to get a good idea of where he was at shot time.
 
Last edited:
OK Smorg. I am on it. Will do tonight. Wish I could raise him again another .25
 
@JanetNJ, can I just raise Joe back up to his 3 units? Maybe in every other day increments. He was doing good at 3 units
 
Me too, I liked that 3U dose. Ask Janet or another Prozinc user? What's the protocol with SLGS again, 10 cycles on this dose?
One week Smorg.

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
Yay for lower pink preshot!
You know, I’d forgotten the 3U took him below 90, which is a reduction with SLGS. So maybe 2.75?
I wonder if @JanetNJ will say you can go back up to that quicker than standard protocol. After all, the only reason you dropped down to 2 was because of the low PS on the 30th.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top