Joe dropped low, do I need to decrease by .25

Status
Not open for further replies.
What did he eat? Is it possible he is bored of his old food?
Yes, no interest in his "good for him" food
He ate about 1/8 of a can (big teaspoon) of FF kitten Tuna Pate. (high phosphorus)
Should I give insulin Bandits mom?
 
If I do another feed without giving insulin, I doubt I will get another chance. I think I can lure him out for one more bite but after that giving insulin might be impossible. I am going to wait a minute and see if @JanetNJ weighs in
 
his teeth are fine. I cheated yesterday when he would not eat and gave him some temptations and he can crunch his way through those no problem
So could my cat Allie. She just had 7 pulled. Lol. But if the gums don't look red or inflamed then they are probably not the issue.
 
aha. Ok. I am working on getting him in to the vet today and I will get his teeth checked.
I would say I will check but he is so grumpy and uncooperative right now
 
I have decided Joe is in hospice care now with me. I will not drag him out to test him. I will not be getting any bloodwork done to send off to somewhere specific. It is the hardest thing...I think he is telling me something.
He is saying, NO MORE testing, NO MORE crappy food, give me something good to eat and let me rest in peace. I am going to do that now.
 
I made this decision based on 1) the vet could not see him today and I do not want to drag him to a specialist 2) he is resisting all efforts to help him 3) his quality of life has not been good all week.
 
I made this decision based on 1) the vet could not see him today and I do not want to drag him to a specialist 2) he is resisting all efforts to help him 3) his quality of life has not been good all week.
If it's pancreatitis it's treatable. But do what you feel is best. You know him better than anyone.
 
If it's pancreatitis it's treatable. But do what you feel is best. You know him better than anyone.
Janet, thank you for your input. It just seemed like if it is pancreatitis that would be one more organ that is failing him. I guess I was thinking of pancreatic cancer. I spent the day just letting him be. Not forcing him to do anything and when he came out of his hiding spot and I was able, I did a quick glucose test and he was 141. I also let him eat his favorite foods today. My vet was out and I got an email that she would call me tomorrow.
Once again, your input is wonderful
 
Janet, thank you for your input. It just seemed like if it is pancreatitis that would be one more organ that is failing him. I guess I was thinking of pancreatic cancer. I spent the day just letting him be. Not forcing him to do anything and when he came out of his hiding spot and I was able, I did a quick glucose test and he was 141. I also let him eat his favorite foods today. My vet was out and I got an email that she would call me tomorrow.
Once again, your input is wonderful
It's more important that he eat than worry about the carbs. Pancratitis isn't pancreatic cancer. It's an inflammation of the pancreas. When my Zimmy had it the treatment was sub q fluids, bupe for pain and cerenia for nausea. I am glad he ate for you.
 
Oh no Susan. Pancreatis sounds like a lot huh. But it's not a death sentence! I'm glad you let him eat more enticing foods.
I just got on and messaged you back, please keep us updated as to if you can go into the yet, k?
 
Oh no Susan. Pancreatis sounds like a lot huh. But it's not a death sentence! I'm glad you let him eat more enticing foods.
I just got on and messaged you back, please keep us updated as to if you can go into the yet, k?
She didn't get him diagnosed with pancreatitis.... I just thought some of his behaviors sounded like that could be the issue. (Hiding, poor appetite)
 
Hi all and my guru @JanetNJ
I do not know what Joe is doing but last night at dinner time he bounded onto the testing table, as compliant as could be. I presented him with Mackeral bites and he presented his ear for testing. No crying from him as I poked and got blood. His BG was 155. I gave that token dose of 2 units and feed him a good meal as I was giving it.
Same thing this morning. Ready to eat and willing to let me test.
Morning BG was 216.
Confused now about what I am doing and how much insulin to give. Also not sure he will stay compliant so just went with 2 units again.
I do not know what I am doing and I definitely do not know what is going on with him.
Waiting on the call from his vet with her hopefully making time to get him in.
I will ask for a full blood panel with a urinalysis.
Wondering if I should still ask for the fPLI test Janet?
 
This is great news! Is his appetite back, along with his spirits? The blood panel will reveal what he can't tell you is going on.
That's good to be careful with the dose if you don't know that you'll be able to get readings. It looks like it's not that bad with 2 units so far, he's still staying in the blues, and maybe even a little green.
In my experience, a good vet will fit you in if you express the seriousness. Make it clear that he is barely eating, for what is it now, 6 days? If you say he's not eating, they should take that very seriously.
Don't lie, but you know, make it sound just bad enough to get seen ;)
If @JanetNJ says it sounds like Pancreatitis, go for the test while you're at it.
 
Hi all and my guru @JanetNJ
I do not know what Joe is doing but last night at dinner time he bounded onto the testing table, as compliant as could be. I presented him with Mackeral bites and he presented his ear for testing. No crying from him as I poked and got blood. His BG was 155. I gave that token dose of 2 units and feed him a good meal as I was giving it.
Same thing this morning. Ready to eat and willing to let me test.
Morning BG was 216.
Confused now about what I am doing and how much insulin to give. Also not sure he will stay compliant so just went with 2 units again.
I do not know what I am doing and I definitely do not know what is going on with him.
Waiting on the call from his vet with her hopefully making time to get him in.
I will ask for a full blood panel with a urinalysis.
Wondering if I should still ask for the fPLI test Janet?
That's awesome!!! If he's feeling better and eating ok than you can mention it to the vet and see what they think as far as the test goes. It's generally not an expensive test. My vet can do it in house. I like the two unit dose. :).
 

Ah, just saw this. Very good info, thanks.

"Pancreas-specific lipase is measured with a test called Feline Pancreatic Lipase Immunoreactivity, known simply as fPLI. The test requires only a simple blood test. A fasting sample is preferred, but it is not essential for the accuracy of the test.

Does the sample have to be sent away to a diagnostic laboratory?
There is now a version of the fPLI test that can be used in-clinic (SNAP fPL© IDEXX). This rapid “pet-side” test takes only a few minutes and gives an indication of whether pancreatitis could be the cause of the pet’s illness."

Sounds scary, looks easy to test for @Susan Pomo :)
 
Ah, just saw this. Very good info, thanks.

"Pancreas-specific lipase is measured with a test called Feline Pancreatic Lipase Immunoreactivity, known simply as fPLI. The test requires only a simple blood test. A fasting sample is preferred, but it is not essential for the accuracy of the test.

Does the sample have to be sent away to a diagnostic laboratory?
There is now a version of the fPLI test that can be used in-clinic (SNAP fPL© IDEXX). This rapid “pet-side” test takes only a few minutes and gives an indication of whether pancreatitis could be the cause of the pet’s illness."

Sounds scary, looks easy to test for @Susan Pomo :)
I've had snap tests done. Usually got the results in about 15 min
 
HI Janet and Smorg.
Vet called, she was off on Monday so this is why she did not call. She is getting us in at the end of the day. I am opting for a full-blood panel, including the pancreatitis one. I think it will all be sent off to give me my best cost.
He is eating as he usually is. Smorg, the not eating went on for 4 days, Friday through MOnday and he came back out hungry MOnday evening.
I think it is Smorg that knows the program well, the SS program. I have printed it before to take it to her and it was so small no one could see it.
Is there a way to print it just showing a few days and have it not be so small?
 
HI Janet and Smorg.
Vet called, she was off on Monday so this is why she did not call. She is getting us in at the end of the day. I am opting for a full-blood panel, including the pancreatitis one. I think it will all be sent off to give me my best cost.
He is eating as he usually is. Smorg, the not eating went on for 4 days, Friday through MOnday and he came back out hungry MOnday evening.
I think it is Smorg that knows the program well, the SS program. I have printed it before to take it to her and it was so small no one could see it.
Is there a way to print it just showing a few days and have it not be so small?
Sweet! So happy to hear he's eating normally.
Regarding printing it, hmm. I don't know what to tell you. Maybe take a screen grab/screenshot of it and then on your computer enlarge it or zoom in so it's bigger? You could also write out the numbers manually, it might make it easier for her to see them like:
Test before shot:
Insulin Dose:
Test 3 hours later
Test 6 hours later
etc...

More of a format they are used to. I know my vet's head would start smoking if I showed her mine. My husband still gets cross eyed looking at it.
 
Sweet! So happy to hear he's eating normally.
Regarding printing it, hmm. I don't know what to tell you. Maybe take a screen grab/screenshot of it and then on your computer enlarge it or zoom in so it's bigger? You could also write out the numbers manually, it might make it easier for her to see them like:
Test before shot:
Insulin Dose:
Test 3 hours later
Test 6 hours later
etc...

More of a format they are used to. I know my vet's head would start smoking if I showed her mine. My husband still gets cross eyed looking at it.
you are hilarious. The photo is a good one, I might do that
 
Joe went at 5:30 for his visit. They could not get urine from him because he peed all inside his carrier on the way. They could not get a fecal from him but he did poop in his carrier on the way home. LOL.
They had to muzzle him to get his blood because he was disgruntled. I wish they would have told me and I would have held him. He weighed 9.5 so he has lost 6 ounces during his sick period. The vet has sent the tests off to the lab and it will be a couple of days. She does not think Pancreatitis but will be checking for it. She thinks maybe a bladder infection. She is curious to know what his kidney values are.
He ate before we went and ate as soon as we got home so his appetite is back. He is acting like he feels fine.
I have a kit like thing that I will be getting both a urine and fecal sample with tomorrow
 
LOL. I'm sorry, that's not funny, sorry Joe. Oh, they are quick with that muzzle huh. So you're allowed into the vet where you are? Frustrating they resorted to muzzle. Sometimes they are too clinical. Well it's done now. 6 ounces man. I guess he really wasn't eating much though.
Why does she not think pancreatitis?
Good that he's eating so you'll get a nice poo sample tomorrow. I would not think of preemptively bringing a poo sample. I wonder how they do it at the vet? :nailbiting:
 
they manipulate something. I saw her doing it to him. They called me in the room because they were having trouble getting blood. I saw them grab the muzzle off before I got in there. Yes I am allowed to go in the vet's office. This is Georgia. Most think Covid is a hoax. I am going to state I do not want him muzzled ever again. NO wonder he is always grumpy when he comes out of where they take him
 
I saw them grab the muzzle off before I got in there.
PFFFFF. o_O
Poor Joe butt!
California, you can't go in. I have never even seen what my vet looks like!

A little tip, send an old phone in with him on record mode in his carrier, tucked under the pad unless you have a vet you can trust.
I did that when we moved here. Three tries, and I am now with a wonderful kind honest vet...
 
Joe went at 5:30 for his visit. They could not get urine from him because he peed all inside his carrier on the way. They could not get a fecal from him but he did poop in his carrier on the way home. LOL.
They had to muzzle him to get his blood because he was disgruntled. I wish they would have told me and I would have held him. He weighed 9.5 so he has lost 6 ounces during his sick period. The vet has sent the tests off to the lab and it will be a couple of days. She does not think Pancreatitis but will be checking for it. She thinks maybe a bladder infection. She is curious to know what his kidney values are.
He ate before we went and ate as soon as we got home so his appetite is back. He is acting like he feels fine.
I have a kit like thing that I will be getting both a urine and fecal sample with tomorrow
My cat Allie always pees on the way to the vet too. Lol. Poop you could just bag from the box and give them. Urine is a little harder. They will give you a collection jar and some gravel…. Kind of like what is in a fish tank so that it doesn’t absorb. Or if he will let you near him when he pees you can catch it.
 
What's with the red, Joe! Hopefully just bouncing, and not caused by the lower dose.
Good luck with the samples today!:nailbiting:
 
I was shown how to give insulin shots on the trunk of my car on a rolled up towel "cat". Granted, that was back in the spring, but still pretty funny.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top