Joe dropped low, do I need to decrease by .25

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan Pomo

Member Since 2021
Joe had a low reading .68 at his +6 today.
Does this mean I drop his dose by .25 for his evening dose?
I am basing my question on this in the Prozinc stickies

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
 
thanks Bron but a little too late. I am doing SLGS. I was just not certain. Still am not about so many things. TRYING though.
I gave him his dose 45 minutes ago and because I was uncertain I gave him a fat 3. His dose was 3.25
 
thanks Bron but a little too late. I am doing SLGS. I was just not certain. Still am not about so many things. TRYING though.
I gave him his dose 45 minutes ago and because I was uncertain I gave him a fat 3. His dose was 3.25
Sorry no one got back to you sooner.
Fat and skinny doses are for when the cat has almost reached the best dose and the dose just needs tweaking.
Joe is not at that point yet. So if you need to increase or decrease, do it in 1/4 unit increments.
So next dose go to 3 units:)
 
If you look at Starbursts SS you will see once we hit that breakthrough dose we were reducing by quite a bit afterwards (some of them were attempts at "token" doses that still dropped her low). This is a good thing in my book.
Starbursts SS looks amazing. It is confusing to me though and allow me to question you, only because it will help in my care of Joe. Between 7/31 and 8/1 you reduced quite a bit. Can you tell me what led to you reducing insulin here?
 
Starbursts SS looks amazing. It is confusing to me though and allow me to question you, only because it will help in my care of Joe. Between 7/31 and 8/1 you reduced quite a bit. Can you tell me what led to you reducing insulin here?
We had stalled for an hour that PM and she hadn't moved and she had dropped under 90 that day. I was being super cautious and it was meant to be a token dose (the potential for a hypo scares me). The following several days she kept dropping lower and the duration was long
 
We had stalled for an hour that PM and she hadn't moved and she had dropped under 90 that day. I was being super cautious and it was meant to be a token dose (the potential for a hypo scares me). The following several days she kept dropping lower and the duration was long
I see. Good to know. Joe and Starburst are eating a lot of the same foods. He loves Jeopurrdy and La Isle Bonita
 
401 at PMPS. Gave 3. and did not decrease again tonight.
Still looking for an answer as to if I should have. Thanks
 
Joe hid all day today and hardly ate. I could only test him once. NOt sure why he is not feeling good. When he is not food motivated, I can not test him. Getting ready to try to get him to let me test this evening
 
Still acting aloof. Wants to be on the porch. I am letting him. He will come in when I make him
 
I emailed my vet last night and he called me this morning. After a good conversation, we determined we will chalk yesterday up to a bad day (maybe his kidney disease) and just keep on keeping on. He says as long as Joe seems to feel ok today and is eating, that I should just watch him
 
I emailed my vet last night and he called me this morning. After a good conversation, we determined we will chalk yesterday up to a bad day (maybe his kidney disease) and just keep on keeping on. He says as long as Joe seems to feel ok today and is eating, that I should just watch him
Even my healthy cats have an off day.
 
Smorg, do you think I should make him a vet visit tomorrow?
Oh! Didn’t see this. If he’s not eating for more than a day I sure would. Gosh that’s stressful. I’m glad you were able to talk to your vet.
He’s eating well today, or still a little off?

ETA: he was pretty high yesterday, and he’s been in much lower numbers recently. You know your cat, but I’d venture to guess part of the not wanting food was due to 400 BG in the middle of his cycle.
 
Smorg, I accidentally coded yesterday Aug 26, I just changed it to the correct date of Aug 27. You can see yesterday's readings now.
I did not do any in the evening as 1) he is grumpy 2) I am on my third evening of trying to trap a kitten in the bushes at the nearby IHOP. I can only do it at night because the daytime traffic is huge. This kitten has got me stumped. I found some food dishes yesterday under some bushes so I think someone is feeding and this takes away the only motivation for the kitty to go in the trap. Hunger. I left a note for them not to feed and am going back one more time tonight with a drop trap. Sweet little kitty will come out and come close if I offer food but runs if I make a move. And will investigate the trap, walking all around it, but will not go in it. I caught his/her sister on Tuesday night and have her in my garage. Sweet but absolutely terrified. I think possibly seeing the sibling go in the trap has made this other little one trap savvy
 
I see you had some nice numbers on 1 unit... I don't think you should have gone back to 1.25.... ProZinc is based on how low the dose takes them and not so much the preshot. I think he may have been going too low for several days.
I see you had some nice numbers on 1 unit... I don't think you should have gone back to 1.25.... ProZinc is based on how low the dose takes them and not so much the preshot. I think he may have been going too low for several days.
wait. What? Are you sure this message was meant for me and JOe?
It has been a long time since Joe was at 1. or 1.25
 
Smorg, I accidentally coded yesterday Aug 26, I just changed it to the correct date of Aug 27. You can see yesterday's readings now.
I did not do any in the evening as 1) he is grumpy 2) I am on my third evening of trying to trap a kitten in the bushes at the nearby IHOP. I can only do it at night because the daytime traffic is huge. This kitten has got me stumped. I found some food dishes yesterday under some bushes so I think someone is feeding and this takes away the only motivation for the kitty to go in the trap. Hunger. I left a note for them not to feed and am going back one more time tonight with a drop trap. Sweet little kitty will come out and come close if I offer food but runs if I make a move. And will investigate the trap, walking all around it, but will not go in it. I caught his/her sister on Tuesday night and have her in my garage. Sweet but absolutely terrified. I think possibly seeing the sibling go in the trap has made this other little one trap savvy
Have you tried a drop trap? And do a big pile of tuna!
 
Have you tried a drop trap? And do a big pile of tuna!
Going with a drop trap tonight. I have been using Tuna in oil. She comes out to play and seems to want to come to me but she will not. And she will not go in a trap. I eventually give up and just feed her and she will come pretty near for the food but the minute I move an inch she runs
 
Smorg, I accidentally coded yesterday Aug 26, I just changed it to the correct date of Aug 27. You can see yesterday's readings now.
I did not do any in the evening as 1) he is grumpy 2) I am on my third evening of trying to trap a kitten in the bushes at the nearby IHOP.

Ahh ok. I see now. Better numbers yesterday and today! I'm sorry he's grumpy, but you really gotta try and give him those nighttime tests, especially as his pre-shot numbers get lower. I hope you've been talking to Janet about how important it is to keep him safe, as kitties do get lower blood sugar at night.

How is he feeling today, better appetite?
 
Finally trapped the little imp with a drop trap and mackeral. She is very sweet and resting in my garage with a fan on. She has been given a Capstar for fleas and I will deworm her tonight. Hopefully she is going to a foster other than me so I can concentrate on Joe man

239888141_10209575933552161_1512503073443349400_n.jpg
 
Finally trapped the little imp with a drop trap and mackeral. She is very sweet and resting in my garage with a fan on. She has been given a Capstar for fleas and I will deworm her tonight. Hopefully she is going to a foster other than me so I can concentrate on Joe man

239888141_10209575933552161_1512503073443349400_n.jpg
Great job!!!
 
Oh NO! Joe is low at AMPS. 137. He has hardly eaten all weekend and hides from me. I am amazed I got a test in. I am waiting and have been waiting for MOnday morning to get here and his vet to call me. I have sent two emails to the vet and am expecting to get a morning appt for Joe.
Not sure is I should give insulin. There is no more stalling possible. Joe will not stand it. I can possible get a shot in
@JanetNJ
 
I fed him something he likes (but not good for him) in order to get second AMPS and he grumbled when I poked his ear. Will not let me hold sock to it for warming. Hard to get blood. He will not eat any of his food he is supposed to have. @Bandit's Mom
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top