Jenny: 9/28

How are you doing through all of this. I can tell you that I look at Jenny’s spreadsheet and I get so impatient. I know we will get her into better numbers and I want it to happen now. You would think I would have learned to be so patient and so “zen” about it all by now! I know what to do, but I still want things to happen faster.

You are doing a great job of getting those ketone tests! What kind of blood ketone meter do you use? I have a Nova Max Plus blood ketone meter. Those strips are expensive, but I figured it was a lot less expensive than another DKA and week of emergency hospitalization.

While we are on the subject of meters… why are you using the Alpha Trak? There’s nothing wrong with it, but the test strips are sooo expensive? When managing lower numbers you will need to use a lot of strips. A ReliOn meter is quite reliable and you can get 100 test strips for $17.88. Some people use the ReliOn for daily use and will give the vet a curve using an Alpha Trak if the vet insists upon the AT. My vet uses human meters in the clinic so I never had a problem, but then again she also knew I was testing at home and when I showed her my spreadsheet one time, she knew she didn’t have to worry because he was never going to be in danger on my watch.
 
Hi Suzanne! I can probably move to 4 or the three cats to 5pm, which is +7 or +8, but doesn't that leave too long between the two main feedings, i.e 4PM to overnight 9AM, or 17 hours? I guess what you're saying is I need to get up earlier! Let me think about my schedule and what I can do....thanks!
 
There’s nothing wrong with 9 am/pm schedule if it works for you! What time do you usually go to bed? 1 am? You got that +4 test last night so I was wondering.

I used to set alarms at night to wake myself up to test Darcy and feed him the numbers warranted it — then I went back to sleep.
 
Hi Suzanne! I can probably move to 4 or the three cats to 5pm, which is +7 or +8, but doesn't that leave too long between the two main feedings, i.e 4PM to overnight 9AM, or 17 hours? I guess what you're saying is I need to get up earlier! Let me think about my schedule and what I can do....thanks!
If you start at 9 a.m. then you would give breakfast at 9 a.m. and then a snack/small meal at 11 a.m. and another one at 1 p.m. If Jenny can’t wait for 8 more hours to get her dinner at 9 p.m., you could give another small meal at 3 p.m., which would be +6. Then dinner would be at 9 p.m. with at least one small meal at +2 which would be 11 p.m. If you were still awake at 1 a.m. you could give another small meal at 1 a.m. for the +4 snack. Then she would hopefully be able to make it through the night until her breakfast at 9 a.m. again.
 
The reason that first +2 small meal/snack is so important is that it is the time when ProZinc onsets in many cats (approximately - with some being a little earlier). If you can get a +2 on Jenny it would help pinpoint if she’s started to go down by +2. She should.

The +2 snack is important to help prevent steep drops in BG, which can trigger a bounce later on.
 
I will leave you alone for a while! Too much information, right! You don’t necessarily have to change your shot times. Many people have different shot times with their work schedules, etc. It’s not imperative to even decide that now. The snack times are more important than the actual shot time if it works for you. 😊
 
I'm doing ok, not as overwhelmed and settling into a routine. My husband is taking a bit longer to come around to the need for so much testing. We're out in the country and use a country vet for all the routine care of the cats. When we suspected diabetes I made an appt with the cat specialist vet in Tulsa, about an hour+ away. They tested, and during the couple days awaiting results, I found this forum and read, read, read. Four days later we returned to the vet, they confirmed diabetes, and basically said Here's some insulin and a box of needles, come back in a week. I asked about home testing and the vet was like, sure, if you want, but you need to use the same meter that we use so our numbers are compatible.

They gave me the meter name, then when I looked it up it's a vet-only meter that costs like $300 (glucose and ketones) and was like nope. So I got a Contour NextGen from walmart and a KetoSens from amazon and used that for the first week or so. Then on visit 2 a week later I showed the vet the numbers and she 1) loved the numbers and me using the glucose monitor, and 2) said I have to get a pet monitor or she can't use the numbers. So I got the AlphaTrack3. I feel like the whole testing thing is a "directional" question and not absolute numbers, within boundaries--are we going the right way? But to appease the Vet I'm using the AlphaTrak. On the 3rd Vet visit for a curve, I printed my spreadsheet and told her I was now using a pet meter, and asked for her ok to adjust doses under certain parameters (based on this forum, YOU) and the vet was very happy and said yes, call with questions or concerns, and come back in a month or do your own curve and call it in.

So long story on why I'm using the AlphaTrak. I'll go back to the NextGen probably in 30 or 60 days, whenever I get a couple more curves in for the vet. I want to keep the cat specialist vet on my side for a while longer; it's also a cat hospital so I need to keep the relationship. Jenny's initial ketones of 5.4 scare me.

Once I feel Jenny is stable and I'm in control, I'm going to work with a larger vet practice near me and see if we can just manage insulin and routine things there. The cat specialist vet is fine, but these Vets do NOT teach a thing about how to manage this. Just how to do the mechanics.
 
I'm thinking about how best to change the schedule to something I know we all can adhere to. I did give Jenny her +2 snack. Our human schedule is generally get up at 9am, go to bed around 1am. But we're retired so in theory the schedule is ours to set :). We're just not disciplined.
 
I feel like the whole testing thing is a "directional" question and not absolute numbers, within boundaries--are we going the right way?
You are right about this! To some extent anyway…. We are looking for trends and patterns. Of course, with low numbers we have to …. at some point …. say that a certain number (our reduction point) is where we need to reduce, but a lot of the rest of the time it’s trends and patterns we are looking at. Of course, we want preshot numbers to come down and of course we want kitty to spend time in the lower numbers, but it takes most people a long time to realize that it’s more than each individual number we are looking at.
 
So long story on why I'm using the AlphaTrak. I'll go back to the NextGen probably in 30 or 60 days, whenever I get a couple more curves in for the vet. I want to keep the cat specialist vet on my side for a while longer; it's also a cat hospital so I need to keep the relationship. Jenny's initial ketones of 5.4 scare me.
This is perfectly fine, and I completely understand we can work with a pet meter of course! Those high ketones at diagnosis are definitely scary. High ketones in and of themselves won’t necessarily cause a DKA, but high ketones plus something else like an infection amd too little insulin can really be a tipping point.

This is why I am so happy that you are testing for ketones regularly. If for some reason they started to creep up, we would need to adjust the insulin doses more quickly. As it is, we can take a little more time. It’s best in the first few weeks to take a little more time and then we can talk about doing a different protocol if needed.

How is your sweet girl behaving and feeling these last few days and the last week? How do you think she’s feeling?
 
Thanks Suzanne. +9 was 197. From her earlier nadir at 84, do I reduce to 1.5 tonight?
Yes. I was just getting ready to answer this!
I would go ahead and reduce her dose to 1.5 starting tonight. If we find her numbers start to creep up, we can always go back up. She’s doing very well. You are a wonderful cat mom to her (and I bet to the other two as well!). For now, we will stick to the SLGS! 🙂
 
but doesn't that leave too long between the two main feedings, i.e 4PM to overnight 9AM, or 17 hours?
I didn’t understand this. He main meal would still be a 9 p.m. at the same time as you give the insulin. She needs to eat her “main meal” at 9 a.m. when she gets her shots and the other mini meals are to support her BG a little and smooth the cycle and prevent precipitous drops (and keep her happy!)
 
Thank you for the kind words ❤️. Jenny seems to be acting and feeling a lot better than 2 weeks ago. She is gaining weight, and doesn't feel as bony and is more her normal self. I wish she would eat better, but I may be thrown off by how ravenous her appetite was over the last few months and we're calming that now. They have always eaten FF pate so thankfully no change needed there.

I was living with my mom to take care of her during cancer, and one day three baby kittens climbed onto her porch and started playing. We figured out that the mom had the thee kitties under the house. When they got big enough I captured all four, got the mom fixed, and kept the 3 inside to learn to not be feral. Catmom could not be tamed and lived on the porch. The plan was to get the kitties fixed when they were 5 months old and rehome them. But they loved sleeping on my mom's bed with her, so the plan extended. Nine years later here we are :). I'm glad I kept them.
 

Attachments

  • cats on chairs.jpg
    cats on chairs.jpg
    102.5 KB · Views: 11
The orange cat on the left is Jelly/Jello, then Jenny in the middle, then Mindy is the gray cat. Siblings, and all so different. Their mom was a tortoise, so I guess that's where all the colors come from. I'm giving Jenny a break tonight; I've tested her 4 times today and she's curled up sleeping. I appreciate you so much, Suzanne, for holding my hand and teaching me how to manage this.
 
I'm giving Jenny a day to settle into her new dose, so I'm not going to test her between am and pm today. Tomorrow I do a curve for the vet and send it to them.
 
PMPS was 430. Gave 1.5u. Jenny seems very calm and happy, and I can't believe that 2 weeks ago I was almost crying, not able to get blood. Now it takes 2 minutes. The Amazon Cat Burrito calmed both of us down; I wouldn't be without it.
 
How is the curve going today? I don’t see any numbers on the SS. I hope it’s not a bounce day because your vet may just think she needs an increase in insulin if numbers are high for the day. Fortunately, Kenny os not super bouncy. She goes a little high but generally doesn’t stay there for a really long time.
 
I told the vet that she's only been on this dose for 2 days, and she wants me to get in 3 full cycles before the full curve. I'll do my regular testing shortly.

My burrito is a 3ft square blanket, and it sticks to itself, so where ever you fold or wrap, it doesn't come undone. Not velcro or anything inherently sticky, but some magic that makes it stick to itself. I lay Jenny down in the middle, then bring one corner up around her neck like a collar, then just burrito the whole thing. Takes 20 seconds to burrito, and once in she doesn't cry or seem to mind. Seems to calm her down. Gives me two hands, and I can just let her go if I need to. She'll just lay there in her burrito :)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DWMDFPHS?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
This site contains affiliate links for which Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB may be compensated.
Jenny is still bouncing from mid-100's back up to near 400 at the AM/PM pre shot tests. I think I just hold the line? The indicator for going down is a 90; what's the indicator for going up? I don't think she's there, but just want to know what I'm looking for either up, down, or hold. Thanks!
 
With SLGS, you will hold the dose for 7 days unless she drops below 90 as you already know. For newly diagnosed kitties, we usually recommend starting with SLGS for the first 30 days. After that, we should have a good body of data on how Jenny is handling the ProZinc, and it’s generally advisable to move to MPM in order to get her regulated (and get those preshot numbers down.) The target nadir for SLGS is between 90 and 150, so if she’s not consistently having nadirs in that range then you would increase. Now, if her ketones were high, I would fast track her dose to get the ketones back down and reduce the risk of DKA. Fortunately, Jenny has been having lower ketones!
 
Thanks Suzanne. I'm sure I read that, but it was early overload. :) It's very helpful to have it laid out like that. I'm generally happy with where Jenny is right now, so wait and watch is a good thing. I was supposed to do the curve for the vet today, but just called them and asked that I wait until Jenny is on this dose for a week since I'll need to do it anyway for SLGS, and they are fine with that.

I'm feeding all the cats earlier, but that long afternoon stretch between 4pm and 9pm makes them think they are starving. Anytime I walk towards the kitchen I have meowing cats running after me. I've added a half feeding at 9 to help. I might have to bite the bullet and get up at 6 or 7am and move everything back a couple hours. I'll decide that after the first 30.

Thanks again Suzanne!
 
There’s no rush right now, but I would love to see her in better numbers overall and in the healing green numbers. You could have a chance at getting her into remission. That would be awesome. Don’t forget that normal cat blood glucose is about 50-120.

Do you have any clue as to why she became diabetic in the first place? Was it a high carb diet? A steroid shot?
 
Her +6 was 286, which was surprising given her last 5 nadirs all in the 100's.

Jenny has always been prone to UTI's, up to one or two a year sometimes. Her "country vet", who is her only vet for 9 years until this year, would give her an antibiotic shot and an "anti-inflammatory" which I always thought, or was maybe told, was a "steroid shot" to calm her bladder while the antibiotic worked. With her second antibiotic shot 4 days later, she always got over it quickly. So 2 years ago I changed the cats dry food from 100% little friskies (since birth) to 1/2 little friskies dry, 1/2 Purina One Urinary formula, plus keeping their normal FF wet Pate which they've always eaten. And she went almost 2 years with no UTI, a miracle. Until July 27 this year, UTI. She (I assumed it was her) peed on the floor near her litter box. Was showing the signs of uti. Went to the vet, got shots, and got well. But the pee was so weird when I cleaned it up. It didn't smell like cat urine at all, it smelled sweet and was slightly sticky on the tile grout. I asked my husband to check it out, he was like this isn't cat pee, something spilled, but nothing anywhere around. That led to us both googling like crazy, and I made an appointment with a feline specialty clinic in Tulsa.

The drugs the country vet last gave her were norfenicol (antibiotic) and loxicam (nsiad). I don't know if her earlier shots were steroids (as I recall) or not. Or if 1-2 steriod shots a year can impact diabetes.

All that to say, she's always been a chonk since she was a kitty. Her littermates are 9 and 10 lbs, she always rolled around 12 or 12.5. Loved all food, wet and dry and human if possible. Definately a carb eater. I've also seen anecdotal stories of urinary formula dry foods somehow leading to diabetes but I don't know what part is cause or effect. Likely she just loved her carbs and was predisposed to being a sugar cat.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top