Jelly Bean: Issues regulating Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexandra A

Member Since 2017
Thank you in advance for reading and for any advice you can give.

My cat Jelly Bean was diagnosed diabetic in early January, prescribed 1 unit Lantus 2x daily. At the same time she was diagnosed with a urinary infection and was being given an antibiotic 2x a day. I did not immediately start home testing and was trying to all of a sudden learn everything about cat diabetes etc. I was extremely overwhelmed with everything. 3 weeks into it she had a hypoglycemic attack and my mom found her having a seizure. She was hospitalized and they weren’t sure if she was going to make it, was admitted at 30 BG level. 3 days later they weren’t sure if she could see, walk, if she had brain damage, but I was able to take her home and she can see and walk fine now. She was taken off insulin and I was testing her BG every day. Within a week she had high levels (350+) again so we started her on ½ unit 1x a day of Lantus.

This brings me to my issues. I now test her every day with her p.m. shot. Her #s were high (350) so my vet suggested I do a BG curve. It showed that her BG was 389 at 0 hours, 339 at 5, 305 at 10, 369 at 16, 377 at 20. Vet had me increase to ½ unit 2x a day. Now her #s are even higher, I’m getting pre-shot BG levels of as high as 440 last night.

My problem is that she went from being so hypersensitive to Lantus that she was hospitalized within 3 weeks to how it is now. I’m scared to increase her dose and I honestly cannot afford to go back to the vet right now. I’m trying to be a good cat-mom but I feel like I’m failing her. She is back to having increased urination and insatiable hunger.

I feed her purina DM ½ can wet food and a scoop of the dry 2x a day.
 
Hi Alexandra - Welcome. Glad you have made the decision to move forward with home testing! The very best recommendation I can make to you right now is to start a spreadsheet. The data in the sheet will help others understand Jelly Bean's response to insulin. Please see these instructions.

There are stickies in the forum that can explain how Lantus works - you will want to read these and stick with the same dose each 12 hours. Please do continue to test before each shot you will also want some mid cycle tests.

Given she has already had a hypo event, please also be sure to read, print and prepare a kit based on these instructions.

Please don't beat yourself up now - best to look forward and provide the best care you can - this forum is an excellent resource. There are many experienced folks who are eager to help. Another thing that will help them to help you is an informative signature (you will see mine below). One suggestion you will get immediately is to stop dry food - canned DM is OK. :cat:
 
Welcome Alexandra and Jellybean,


yes... the dry food is keeping her numbers up. Most dry foods are too high in carbs , but there is one IF you have an addict who won't switch.
If she's eating canned already, then she will probably cooperate just fine switching to more of it.

here is our latest food chart and the best advice for feeding cats


secondly, we need to help you to get to testing more frequently.
You should be testing at the very least every pre-shot. You don't want to put insulin into a tiny cat blindly.

Obviously that 1 unit was too much.... it may still be. Their needs can change over time.

We would love to get a spreadsheet up for you. Here are the instructions..... setting up a spreadsheet
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
If you aren't tech savvy, we do have some here who will help you get it done.
This is the best tool for us to give advice on dosage and you can see progress this way.

Thirdly,
There is microdosing. Many here are giving less than 0.5u.
We try to continue supporting the pancreas as long as we can to have a stronger remission. And remission is possible.
Just know that remission isn't cured.... it's just a break until they need insulin again, often due to changing health issues.
So we shoot down to 1 drop of insulin.


The higher numbers you mention might be a bounce response from her having a lower number than her body is now used to.
That's why we need the chart..... Her low number of the cycle might not be a hypo number, just lower than her body is now used to.
We need to find that out and you do that with testing.

I would love it if we could get you testing at preshots...
and at least one other test, randomly during the 12 hour cycle.....

so shot time.... amps..... then another test, maybe 4 hours later....
and then next shot time... pmps.... and another test, maybe 2 hours later....

the +2 test is a good indicator as to whether or not you need to test more often to keep jellybean safe.
Sometimes, you will need to monitor when there are lows.... ( not necessarily hypos)


I hope you will stick around, and post daily ( we call these condos)
We can help you manage this.

http://catinfo.org/
 
Hi Welcome, !!

There are really great people here that can help you and Jelly Bean, I see they have already gave you a lot of information, it does requiere a little patience, and probably a magnifying glass to be able to get the mini doses right ;)

Keep posting and asking
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top