Alexandra A
Member Since 2017
Thank you in advance for reading and for any advice you can give.
My cat Jelly Bean was diagnosed diabetic in early January, prescribed 1 unit Lantus 2x daily. At the same time she was diagnosed with a urinary infection and was being given an antibiotic 2x a day. I did not immediately start home testing and was trying to all of a sudden learn everything about cat diabetes etc. I was extremely overwhelmed with everything. 3 weeks into it she had a hypoglycemic attack and my mom found her having a seizure. She was hospitalized and they weren’t sure if she was going to make it, was admitted at 30 BG level. 3 days later they weren’t sure if she could see, walk, if she had brain damage, but I was able to take her home and she can see and walk fine now. She was taken off insulin and I was testing her BG every day. Within a week she had high levels (350+) again so we started her on ½ unit 1x a day of Lantus.
This brings me to my issues. I now test her every day with her p.m. shot. Her #s were high (350) so my vet suggested I do a BG curve. It showed that her BG was 389 at 0 hours, 339 at 5, 305 at 10, 369 at 16, 377 at 20. Vet had me increase to ½ unit 2x a day. Now her #s are even higher, I’m getting pre-shot BG levels of as high as 440 last night.
My problem is that she went from being so hypersensitive to Lantus that she was hospitalized within 3 weeks to how it is now. I’m scared to increase her dose and I honestly cannot afford to go back to the vet right now. I’m trying to be a good cat-mom but I feel like I’m failing her. She is back to having increased urination and insatiable hunger.
I feed her purina DM ½ can wet food and a scoop of the dry 2x a day.
My cat Jelly Bean was diagnosed diabetic in early January, prescribed 1 unit Lantus 2x daily. At the same time she was diagnosed with a urinary infection and was being given an antibiotic 2x a day. I did not immediately start home testing and was trying to all of a sudden learn everything about cat diabetes etc. I was extremely overwhelmed with everything. 3 weeks into it she had a hypoglycemic attack and my mom found her having a seizure. She was hospitalized and they weren’t sure if she was going to make it, was admitted at 30 BG level. 3 days later they weren’t sure if she could see, walk, if she had brain damage, but I was able to take her home and she can see and walk fine now. She was taken off insulin and I was testing her BG every day. Within a week she had high levels (350+) again so we started her on ½ unit 1x a day of Lantus.
This brings me to my issues. I now test her every day with her p.m. shot. Her #s were high (350) so my vet suggested I do a BG curve. It showed that her BG was 389 at 0 hours, 339 at 5, 305 at 10, 369 at 16, 377 at 20. Vet had me increase to ½ unit 2x a day. Now her #s are even higher, I’m getting pre-shot BG levels of as high as 440 last night.
My problem is that she went from being so hypersensitive to Lantus that she was hospitalized within 3 weeks to how it is now. I’m scared to increase her dose and I honestly cannot afford to go back to the vet right now. I’m trying to be a good cat-mom but I feel like I’m failing her. She is back to having increased urination and insatiable hunger.
I feed her purina DM ½ can wet food and a scoop of the dry 2x a day.
