Jeddie - May 2nd (ish)

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK, did not end up doing a split dose to get him back on track. May try it tomorrow evening. Right now I am feeding at +10 and shooting at 10:15 pm. Ugh. He needs to come back 2.25 hours. Actually, I am going to have to bring him back at least 45 mins tomorrow am so I can get to work.

I am just going to see what .5u does for him. Period. He dropped to 54 last week and I guess I should have left him at .5u. It's just that I have so little data for him at low numbers that anything below 70 makes me nervous.

I had been shooting a skinny half unit for a few days, but gave a full half this am and tonight and he was 100 points lower tonight at PS - both PS were about two hours after eating.
 
Ack, so hard when you can't be there to get shots done on time and to monitor afterwords. That has to be so frustrating....just not knowing what is going on. You will get it under control Sheila.

I hope your Aunt Wynn is recovering and feeling better so you don't have to worry about her too.
 
If it's any consolation, a 54 on Levemir is, I hesitate to use the word typical, but if you remember that normal BG range for healthy cats can go that low, it's not danger zone unless it's a steep drop and not surfing. Did he surf on that 54?
 
Vicky & Gandalf said:
Did he surf on that 54?
I have no idea! I took a nap after that (recovering from the concert :roll: ) and then I skipped the evening test and shot... I know, I know...

Why can't they give the first 50s when I can be home, not doing anything, for the next 3-4 hours. It wasn't a steap drop though, he was 151 at PS and it was +6 or something.

I think my nervousness is because all the time he was OTJ, he was in the 90s.
 
The 54 on the .05 would have made me nervous as well. It's not the 54 that necessarily scares me, but the thought of her (Molly) or him (Jeddie) going lower than that when we're not around.

A split dose to get him back (in time)? I have only ever used split dosing to push shot time forward. Did you shoot the 45 min. earlier? I know you know this but just remember that decreased time ='s increased insulin (i just heard you say "no sh*t" by the way :razz: I was just reminding you!).

You'll get him back on track in no time.
 
No, no, no, Vicky, I was rolling my eyes at myself for needing a nap the next day....

Yes, Michele, I know early=increase, late=decrease... I chant that to myself whenever I am changing times. I did shoot 45 mins early this am, then left tonight as +12. Tomorrow I will shoot am 30 mins earlier and leave tomorrow night at +12, etc.

He went from 379, to 272, to 247, to 199 over the last 4 PS's... might be getting somewhere.

I was thinking that I can probably shoot a full dose (.5u) down to 150, but might want to lower it some amount below that. Thoughts?

ETA: He was 270 this am at +11.5.... so no real gains there.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
No, no, no, Vicky, I was rolling my eyes at myself for needing a nap the next day....
if you say so... :razz:

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Yes, Michele, I know early=increase, late=decrease... I chant that to myself whenever I am changing times. I did shoot 45 mins early this am, then left tonight as +12. Tomorrow I will shoot am 30 mins earlier and leave tomorrow night at +12, etc.

You guys are losing me on this. If you're shooting earlier, you should decrease dose, not increase. Do you mean since you have to shoot late and then shoot an earlier than +12 dose the next time that's why you should decrease?

Just need some clarification on the terms and what you mean because others may be reading who aren't posting and may get confused. Thanks.

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
He went from 379, to 272, to 247, to 199 over the last 4 PS's... might be getting somewhere.

I was thinking that I can probably shoot a full dose (.5u) down to 150, but might want to lower it some amount below that. Thoughts?

ETA: He was 270 this am at +11.5.... so no real gains there.

You probably are getting somewhere. I usually see preshots dropping when we're on the best dose, especially if the previous doses were too low.

You all know I'm not real fond of scales for Levemir based on preshots. The way it should work is the best dose should hold them at/below a preshot of even 150. There shouldn't be as much curve as some of us are seeing. I know in my case it's because I'm having to change shot times every week and I think schedule changes are a lot of what you're seeing with Jeddie's BG movement.
 
He was 277 tonight...

What I meant, and I think Michele mean,t was:

If you shoot early it is the same as a dose increase (early=increase) and if you shoot late it is the same as a dose decrease (late=decrease) - when shooting the same actual amount of insulin. Does that make sense? The funny thing is that I think the first time I heard it like that was from you, Vicky....

His coat is changing again. He is getting really long mutton chops that stick out to the sides. When I first got him, he had no ruff and short mutton chops, then they grew and stuck out. Then the ruff filled in and everything blended. Now they are longer and sticking out again.

Oh, oh, oh, he is asleep on the bed and just tuned his head over (so the top is on the mattress) and the right mutton chop is sticking straight up in the air! Damn, I went to get the camera and he woke up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top