Jeddie has a Spreadsheet! (Finally)

Status
Not open for further replies.
:sad: He was 201 this am. After 4 month OTJ, he has been creeping up (BG) as his weight has been going up. There may not be any connection and I don't think he is too fat. I haven't weighed him in a month, but he was 10.5 then and he is a big cat, so probably 12-14 is normal for him. His old vet records say he was 13 lbs a few years ago.

I have not seen him drinking any water, but I do think there has been increased urination by "someone". It's hard to tell because I moved the boxes to do the floor and everyone is using different boxes than they used to. Anyway.... I think above 180 is shootable for someone with experience and I am hoping that he reacts "normally" to insulin - unlike Beau who would severely hypo on .5u. I'll test again in 3 hrs. He is NOT going to like being tested so often. :roll:

4 weeks ago 76
3 weeks ago 107
2 weeks ago 129
1 week ago 134
Today 201
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

Well, the extra weight could do it. But it is hard to say if you don't really know what normal is for him. That 13 pounds was probably free fed and on dry food(?) Does he look better now than he did at 10.5 pounds? Can you weigh him?

Any extra stress lately?

If you are thinking maybe a UTI you can always take in a urine sample to test for his urine specific gravity and submit for a culture & sensitivity and then depending on that take him in for a cystocentesis.

Dr. Lisa says you can do it that way - she explains it with one of her cats here. Scroll halfway down in her post:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... sg-1956947

and here:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... sg-1937736

So how did he do on the .5 unit?
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

he has been doing great on .5u - kinda amazing to think it is TEN times the amount I gave Beau!

So far:
201 .5u <-- his FIRST shot of Lev!
148 +3
93 +6
81 +9.5

ETA: 116 +11.5 (pmPS) so I only shot .25u
80 +3.5 <--- mildly concerned here. I will be feeding in 30 mins and just gave a treat....

Beau's first shot of Lev was .5u also and he started higher, dropped to about the same, but more slowly and shot back up. On his 3rd shot he was at 37 at +3. I don't want to make the same mistake with Jeddie. Planning on testing at +3 before bed.

He doesn't like being tested, but he tolerates it - guess I should be greatfull for that - again, so different from Beau who comes on his own and purrs the whole time just sitting still. Jeddie I have to wrap in a blanket and pin him down with my elbow, but he doesn't struggle and he doesn't growl or whine anymore. They are so different!
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

Looks good, Sheila...considering the shed has to build for the dose to work properly, I think it would be a better idea to stick with the .25u or less.

I think, otherwise, that shed is gonna hit him like a ton of bricks when you least expect it.

While the insulin is probably needed at this time and you ARE being very cautious, I just wanted to mention that I would like to have seen a non insulin mini curve done throughout the day over maybe 2 separate days before the decision to give insulin.

As we say- "it's only one number"....and you'd had such doubts that he was ever really diabetic to begin with when you first got him, right?

I'm wondering, with the spraying and the odd numbers if there is some type of kidney/bladder related something or other....crystals, infection- I don't know- just wondering if there is an underlying issue that needs attention rather than a glucose issue?

of course, you are doing a fine job and I'm sure this is just to keep you on your toes...the boys wouldn't want you to have a moment to relax, right?! ;-)
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

Sunday - 31st
He was 125 at +13 (almost) so I shot .25u

Melissa, I decided to forgo the non-insulin curve because I was see a trend of increasing spot check numbers and I wanted to nip it in the bud. I felt I let Beau get to far on his own when he needed help and didn't want that to happen to Jeddie. I know ECID, but it's really hard to not apply the same "logic" to both of them in this case.

As for him never being FD? Not sure I ever thought that, but that I was mad he was never followed up on after a one BG test dx - not once in a month after they changed his diet and started insulin. Clearly, there was something drastic going on with losing 40% of his weight and his coat getting so thin and rough. I suspect it was the classic cheap, crap, dry food diet and they just too a long time to notice he was sick. Given that, he had the potential to turn around fast with diet change and short course of insulin that we see all the time here.

Now as far as any UTI happening, I am not seeing any of the classic symptoms of one. I have to try and weigh him today, but he has only just begun to eat normally and not clean out all the dishes he can get his nose into so I am hoping that his appetite and weight will stabilize and everything will settle down.

I'm just going to follow Tilly with dose reductions etc - wait to see if he can come down below 50 at nadir etc.
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

ETA: 116 +11.5 (pmPS) so I only shot .25u
80 +3.5 <--- mildly concerned here. I will be feeding in 30 mins and just gave a treat....


How was he after that??

I see he was 125 @ +13 this morning and think you gave the correct dose.

He's in great hands!!
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

Well, he was 71 at +6 this afternoon, so I re-assessed things and decided to not shoot under 140 - which is my cut off when Beau is on insulin. I am not comfortable with Jeddie dropping below 70 while I am at work/asleep.

He was 128 tonight so I did not shoot. I'll see where he is in the am.

He's half-heartedly trying to evade testing. I call to him and he walks away down the hall but hasn't figured out that he can hide under the bed and I can't get him... yet.
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Well, he was 71 at +6 this afternoon, so I re-assessed things and decided to not shoot under 140 - which is my cut off when Beau is on insulin. I am not comfortable with Jeddie dropping below 70 while I am at work/asleep.

He was 128 tonight so I did not shoot. I'll see where he is in the am.

A wise decision....:)

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
He's half-heartedly trying to evade testing. I call to him and he walks away down the hall but hasn't figured out that he can hide under the bed and I can't get him... yet.

But I can just hear him saying, "Mom why are you doing this to me again?" He doesn't understand that it is for his own good. Even after 6 1/2 years Tigger would rather not have ear pricks...and I would rather not have to do them. But he tolerates it. Hopefully this will be short lived and Jeddie won't have to put up with them much longer. :)
 
2-1 update on Jeddie

Well, he was 251 this am so I shot .25u. Maybe he needs a lower dose bid? Like .1 or something. Ya know, I'd rather have a nice .5u kitty instead of these impossible microdose kitties. I have to draw to ,5u and work back from that anyway....

When I gave him the shot, he gave me a "Why are you doing this to me?!" look. Like I just stabbed him in the back or something - well, I did stab him in the back, but not with a big old knife or anything that would HURT him.

And Beau is feeling rejected because I'm not getting everything all set up for HIM! He was sitting there, waiting and then he was like "Why are you bring him over?"
 
Re: 2-1 update on Jeddie

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Well, he was 251 this am so I shot .25u. Maybe he needs a lower dose bid? Like .1 or something. Ya know, I'd rather have a nice .5u kitty instead of these impossible microdose kitties. I have to draw to ,5u and work back from that anyway....

Ack! 251! Come on down from there Jeddie!

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
When I gave him the shot, he gave me a "Why are you doing this to me?!" look. Like I just stabbed him in the back or something - well, I did stab him in the back, but not with a big old knife or anything that would HURT him.

And Beau is feeling rejected because I'm not getting everything all set up for HIM! He was sitting there, waiting and then he was like "Why are you bring him over?"

LOL...that is funny about Beau. Maybe you need to do a pretend run with him so he feels included! :)
 
Tuesday 2-2

Last night's PS was 133 ~ .25u, +5 was 78

This amPS was 128 ~ .25u (I hope he will be ok on that).

His nadir was about +9 on Saturday - a time I can't test for during the week, but I checked him during the night and he was responsive and acting ok when I woke him up. He was sleeping on the end of me bed - I wasn't going to get up and test him ;-)

Pamela, I pretended to test Beau this morning, lol. He seemed a little less put out, but maybe that is me projecting my feelings on things. I had to make the meter beep though so he though it was "doing its thing".
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

I had to make the meter beep though so he though it was "doing its thing". You're so good!!!

Jeddie's numbers are looking great!! He'll be otj (knocking wood) in no time again.
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

Today's numbers (Tues 2-2):

amPS 128 ~ .25u
pmPS 183 ~ .25u

I'm going to spot test in a few minutes because I wonder if .25u is too much and the 183 was a bounce. ETA: Well, I n ever got the test in. He was sleeping and I didn't want to disturb him.

Weds am: I did not need the blanket to test him! He sat through the whole thing! He is not purring yet though :smile:

amPS 159 ~ .25u
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Weds am: I did not need the blanket to test him! He sat through the whole thing! He is not purring yet though :smile:

amPS 159 ~ .25u

Well, he is holding his own right there in the blue's (giving Terri a bad time) ;) But still those numbers are encouraging Sheila.

No blanket to test him! That is progress. Is Beau still getting his pretend test too! I find that is so funny. :)
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

No, Pamela, I actually HAD to test Beau this am! He got his thyroid med and I kissed his head and told him he could get down, but he wouldn't - and he was purring, so I tested him, lol. What a baby. He was 94, btw.

More cuteness from these boys: at about 4 am I had to get up to, er, nevermind. When I came back to bed, Beau had jumped up there and I patted him, then I had to pat Jeddie who was there (mmmerrrpp!) too. Jeddie likes to stand up and make nests, but he does this funny "ocean liner" thing where he actually moves very slowly across the bed while making nests and can end up full circle. But this am he "bumped" into Beau and since they were both purring he licked his head. Then Beau licked his face back. They took turns washing each other for a few minutes until Jeddie meandered off. That's the first time I have seen "extended" contact between them.
 
Re: Now it's Jeddie's turn: 201 this am ~ .5u

I love the cuteness stories by the way - thank you!! And the 'oceanliner' thing is hysterical!

No blanket needed? WOO HOO! Don't push it with the purring :smile:
 
Well, I finally got around to making a SS for Jeddie. Now that he has more than OTJ to share, sigh....

But he is doing very well, all things considered. Looks like .25u is holding him in good numbers. And NO blanket needed for testing now! I am so proud of him.

This is the guy that was a snarling, angry mass of flying claws and teeth the first time I tried to test him, bit me HARD the next day when I put his food down, and fought me even in wrapped in a blanket and tried to bite again the 3rd time.

Now I pick him up like a baby (paws in the air and on his back) to carry him to the testing table and kiss his head (which I would have lost my face if I had tried in the beginning). He sits quietly (after sort of trying to get away). He has come a long way.

amPS 149 ~ .25u
pmPD 132 ~ .25u
+4 97
 
Oh, that's beautiful! Great story about his behavior changing. And your being a complete stranger makes it even more remarkable - nothing you did in the beginning made him hate you, LOL.
 
nothing you did in the beginning made him hate you

You mean he just automatically hated me...? LOL. I think he was just so confused and had his whole life turned upside down that he didn't trust anyone back then and I was trying to restrain him and poke him with sharp things. Poor boy. Now he trusts me . I wonder how much he remembers of his old life? When I watch him running around playing with the two youngest kitties I KNOW he has a better life here.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
nothing you did in the beginning made him hate you

You mean he just automatically hated me...? LOL. I think he was just so confused and had his whole life turned upside down that he didn't trust anyone back then and I was trying to restrain him and poke him with sharp things. Poor boy. Now he trusts me . I wonder how much he remembers of his old life? When I watch him running around playing with the two youngest kitties I KNOW he has a better life here.

No, I mean that you could have easily traumatized him so that he would never have warmed up to you.

No doubt you're right. I know cats are considered solitary animals, but they do much better if they have a companion(s).
 
How is he doing with the urinating? Has the room change modifications made a difference?

Can just picture you carrying him like a baby - adorable!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top