Jade @ 67 at +3.5

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
Happy Thanksgiving week! Let me start this condo by saying how truly thankful I am for this FDMB and all of you. I know that at some point, everyone here was new to all of this and scared and anxious and that so many of you have dedicated your time, knowledge and empathy to this cause is really special. So, thank you.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
On to Jade....I'm certain last night was a fur shot.:banghead: Her +5 was 402 and that hasn't happened in quite some time and this mornings AMPS was higher than usual also. I knew it when I could smell the Lantus on her last night after she had her shot. I can detect that scent from a mile away.
I do think the new antibiotic is working. She has been peeing although yesterday she went quite awhile without and seemed uncomfortable (agitated) right before I left for work. It made me kind of sick to my stomach to think that she was going to have another "episode" of straining. I left some food out and mixed 25mg of gabapentin in it. When I came home, I went straight to the liter box and nada. We did our evening routine of playing, eating and insulin and then......she peed! Overnight she has peed twice more. The vet is coming tomorrow to get a urine sample straight from the bladder. I did ask her to send me Jade's blood work from mid October and she hasn't done that. I said that I would like to have a file of all of Jades records since we have been to 3 different places for various reasons in the past couple of months. I will bring it up again when she is here tomorrow.
I hope everyone (and their sugar babies) have a lovely day.:cat:



https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-22-jade-amps-285-2-295-pmps-280-2-394.255783/
 
Last edited:
So happy for the pee, Jill! What a wonderful comment about this site and the blessings it has given to so many of us who have struggled with FD. I was truly terrified in the beginning until so many folks gave me wonderful, calming advice. I don't know what I would have done without this site. Just wish my Susie was still here to continue the journey. I hope your girl comes down soon, Jill, and have a very Happy Thanksgiving!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Happy Thanksgiving week! Let me start this condo by saying how truly thankful I am for this FDMB and all of you. I know that at some point, everyone here was new to all of this and scared and anxious and that so many of you have dedicated your time, knowledge and empathy to this cause is really special. So, thank you.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
On to Jade....I'm certain last night was a fur shot.:banghead: Her +5 was 402 and that hasn't happened in quite some time and this mornings AMPS was higher than usual also. I knew it when I could smell the Lantus on her last night after she had her shot. I can detect that scent from a mile away.
I do think the new antibiotic is working. She has been peeing although yesterday she went quite awhile without and seemed uncomfortable (agitated) right before I left for work. It made me kind of sick to my stomach to think that she was going to have another "episode" of straining. I left some food out and mixed 25mg of gabapentin in it. When I came home, I went straight to the liter box and nada. We did our evening routine of playing, eating and insulin and then......she peed! Overnight she has peed twice more. The vet is coming tomorrow to get a urine sample straight from the bladder. I did ask her to send me Jade's blood work from mid October and she hasn't done that. I said that I would like to have a file of all of Jades records since we have been to 3 different places for various reasons in the past couple of months. I will bring it up again when she is here tomorrow.
I hope everyone (and their sugar babies) have a lovely day.:cat:



https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-22-jade-amps-285-2-295-pmps-280-2-394.255783/
Hi Jill. I’m very happy to read that the new antibiotic is helping. Email me if you need anything. I hope things go well with the vet tomorrow!
 
So happy for the pee, Jill! What a wonderful comment about this site and the blessings it has given to so many of us who have struggled with FD. I was truly terrified in the beginning until so many folks gave me wonderful, calming advice. I don't know what I would have done without this site. Just wish my Susie was still here to continue the journey. I hope your girl comes down soon, Jill, and have a very Happy Thanksgiving!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Jill. I’m very happy to read that the new antibiotic is helping. Email me if you need anything. I hope things go well with the vet tomorrow!
:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Jill.
Well done handling that low number. You did all the right things.
Now that Jade is back up in safe numbers, you can feed low carb food and test again in 30 minutes. I will watch for update.
Can you also update the Ss when you have time.
 
Hi Jill.
Well done handling that low number. You did all the right things.
Now that Jade is back up in safe numbers, you can feed low carb food and test again in 30 minutes. I will watch for update.
Can you also update the Ss when you have time.
1 hour later and she’s back up to 140. Safe to sleep yet if I leave out some MC food?
 
1 hour later and she’s back up to 140. Safe to sleep yet if I leave out some MC food?
No not yet. You need to make sure she is staying up on her own without the help of any of the higher carb food.
When did you last give any of the higher carb food?
And what are you up to now…+ what?
 
No not yet. You need to make sure she is staying up on her own without the help of any of the higher carb food.
When did you last give any of the higher carb food?
And what are you up to now…+ what?
Up to 140 one hour after hitting the 67, I gave haven't given her high carb for almost an hour but gave her a bit of MC about 30 minutes ago.
 
No not yet. You need to make sure she is staying up on her own without the help of any of the higher carb food.
When did you last give any of the higher carb food?
And what are you up to now…+ what?
Shot at 9:30 pm (201)
11:30= 168
1:00=67 HC
1:15=87
1:40=108 MC
2:10+139
 
Up to 140 one hour after hitting the 67, I gave haven't given her high carb for almost an hour but gave her a bit of MC about 30 minutes ago.
You really need to have not fed any of the higher carb food for 2 hours to make sure that she is not going to wobbly and drop again without some food support.
 
You did all the right things. Now it is just a wait and see how she goes,
When should I test again and what should I look for? I would like to try to limit the pokes as much as possible as I know she's getting tender. I'm obviously not going to shoot later so she will be getting a break altho the vet is supposed to come to get a urine sample via her bladder....poor Jade
 
I would test1 hour after the last test. You are wanting to see that the BG is able to stay up on its own without food support and is not dropping again.
Becasue you are doing SLGS you need to reduce the dose to 0.5 units next dose.
 
I would test1 hour after the last test. You are wanting to see that the BG is able to stay up on its own without food support and is not dropping again.
Becasue you are doing SLGS you need to reduce the dose to 0.5 units next dose.
Ok. So at 3:10 if she hasn't dropped at all, we are good? I'll drop to .5 tonight.
 
I would test1 hour after the last test. You are wanting to see that the BG is able to stay up on its own without food support and is not dropping again.
Becasue you are doing SLGS you need to reduce the dose to 0.5 units next dose.
Side note: had I been following my vets advice, I would NOT be testing at all and I would still be giving her 1U each cycle. Jade would be dead.
 
Ok. So at 3:10 if she hasn't dropped at all, we are good? I'll drop to .5 tonight.
I have no idea of your times really as I live in Australia so it’s better if you talk in + times.
You need to have 2 hours from when you last fed any higher carb food and she is managing to stay up on her own,
Would you mind taking down the 911 now please?
 
I have no idea of your times really as I live in Australia so it’s better if you talk in + times.
You need to have 2 hours from when you last fed any higher carb food and she is managing to stay up on her own,
Would you mind taking down the 911 now please?
If I test in about 20 minutes, it will be 2 hours since she hit that 67 and I fed her HC food.
 
Happy Thanksgiving week! Let me start this condo by saying how truly thankful I am for this FDMB and all of you. I know that at some point, everyone here was new to all of this and scared and anxious and that so many of you have dedicated your time, knowledge and empathy to this cause is really special. So, thank you.:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
On to Jade....I'm certain last night was a fur shot.:banghead: Her +5 was 402 and that hasn't happened in quite some time and this mornings AMPS was higher than usual also. I knew it when I could smell the Lantus on her last night after she had her shot. I can detect that scent from a mile away.
I do think the new antibiotic is working. She has been peeing although yesterday she went quite awhile without and seemed uncomfortable (agitated) right before I left for work. It made me kind of sick to my stomach to think that she was going to have another "episode" of straining. I left some food out and mixed 25mg of gabapentin in it. When I came home, I went straight to the liter box and nada. We did our evening routine of playing, eating and insulin and then......she peed! Overnight she has peed twice more. The vet is coming tomorrow to get a urine sample straight from the bladder. I did ask her to send me Jade's blood work from mid October and she hasn't done that. I said that I would like to have a file of all of Jades records since we have been to 3 different places for various reasons in the past couple of months. I will bring it up again when she is here tomorrow.
I hope everyone (and their sugar babies) have a lovely day.:cat:



https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-22-jade-amps-285-2-295-pmps-280-2-394.255783/
How do you get her to eat her food with Gabapentin mixed in? Bama won't touch his if that nasty, bitter stuff is in there. I got it compounded into another nasty, bitter liquid that he hates and has occasionally thrown up after I've given it. He thinks I'm trying to poison him. :rolleyes:
 
How do you get her to eat her food with Gabapentin mixed in? Bama won't touch his if that nasty, bitter stuff is in there. I got it compounded into another nasty, bitter liquid that he hates and has occasionally thrown up after I've given it. He thinks I'm trying to poison him. :rolleyes:
It’s chicken flavored and Jade rarely turns down a meal! :cat:
 
Are you sure you don't want to give her her insulin this morning? She's almost 300 and and earned a reduction. What plus hour is the vet coming today?
 
Are you sure you don't want to give her her insulin this morning? She's almost 300 and and earned a reduction. What plus hour is the vet coming today?
I’m not home to monitor her this afternoon and evening. I believe that’s a food high as I left MC/ LC out for her this morning when I went to bed. Vet comes at +2 ( if I shoot right now)and I leave at +4 I can’t chance that. I would be insane at work, worrying.
 
How do you get her to eat her food with Gabapentin mixed in? Bama won't touch his if that nasty, bitter stuff is in there. I got it compounded into another nasty, bitter liquid that he hates and has occasionally thrown up after I've given it. He thinks I'm trying to poison him. :rolleyes:
Jade acts like I'm poisoning her sometimes as well... that made me chuckle!
 
Back
Top