Jackson PMPS 363 PMPS at +11.5 freezing

Friday: AMPS 360, +6 321
No ketone test (yet) today. He usually only pees once in the morning and sometimes it is before I wake up.

Increasing to 2 units tomorrow. Hoping my car will be back from the mechanic by then for just in case.
 
Saturday - new dose 2.0 units
AMPS 414, +3 356, +6 427
Come on insulin work!!
Is my insulin bad? Maybe I'll try a different pen.
Is this new dose wonkiness? It seems like the more insulin I give him the higher he goes.
Or was it the 8 pokes that it took to get that +6?

In other news: My car has been at the mechanics since Thursday. I saw the brake light on on Wednesday. They had to replace all the brake lines, and then they saw that the fuel line needed to be replaced and told me I was lucky it didn't catch on fire. I am hoping to get it back today. I am not looking forward to driving through the snow to go get it, but I need a car.
 
New Dose Wonkiness is a possibility, though cycle 2 more possible start.

How is Jackson feeling acting? His peeing volume down any? Grooming? Playing?

Good luck with the car, you'll feel so much better knowing all that is fixed now.
 
New Dose Wonkiness is a possibility, though cycle 2 more possible start.

How is Jackson feeling acting? His peeing volume down any? Grooming? Playing?

Good luck with the car, you'll feel so much better knowing all that is fixed now.
My car has to stay another day at the shop. The mechanic drove me home and Jackson didn't get his shot until +13.5.
He wrestles with his little 1.5 year old sister, and is always hungry. He only drinks for a few seconds a day (sparingly) from his bowl, but I add water to all his six meals per day. He seems to pee once per day in the morning, and the past two days it must be before 5 or 6 am when I get up. The volume is a lot, but he seems to save it for once a day.
His last test it took 4 pokes and his ear is so sore. He hates the pokes, but he always gets treats and then food after so far.
 
Sunday: AMPS 410, +4.5 351.
I fell deeply asleep and only got a +6 last night of 292 (at least I saw yellow).
I tried to poke a couple holes to get both the glucose with the Relion, and ketones with the NovaMax but got ER04 on the NovaMax. I really wish he would pee when I'm awake and watching.
Lots of snow here, and I'm supposed to get my car back after work.
 
Question: I forgot to ask. I put a teeny dab of Neosporin with Pain Relief cream on his ear where I have been poking after I did the two tests just now. Will that affect the next tests if it's on his ear? I basically test in the same area on the same ear each time. I would like to move the tests around more or to the other ear.
 
Don't use the Neosporin with Pain Relief (or anything similar) 🫣 The pain medicine is harmful to cats. Plain Neosporin is fine but you really don't need it. Cat ears heal just fine on their own even after years or being poked. You can alternate ears and the poke spot.
 
Monday AMPS 344
I was suspecting he was peeing at 3:00am and I did a BG test at 2:30am and sure enough he peed at 2:45am and I was awake. Urine ketones negative.
 
Tuesday - AMPS 347
Urine ketones negative. He peed at 6:00am this morning Yay! (it wasn't 3:00am, like normal).

I did not raise his dose this morning. Because I am still trying to get used to sleeping in between night time tests (sometimes I wake up at 2:00am to test and can't get back to sleep at all until the next night), and thus exhausted I fell asleep when his PMPS was due last night and woke up to all these alarms going off. His PMPS was late at 7:37pm and I shot this morning at 7:00am (tomorrow at 6:30am, hopefully). I found his insulin pen was left out all night last night, so I started a new pen this morning.

In other news; I finally got my car back yesterday and it is such a relief to have a vehicle should I need it. It's supposed to be a Feels Like of 1 degree outside this morning.
 
Wednesday - AMPS 356
No ketone test, yet.
I shot a half hour early again this morning to get to a better shooting time. Still not ideal, but better. I barely heard my alarm clock ringing last night, so spent some time on the internet in the middle of the night to fix it.
I plan to increase to 2.5 units tomorrow morning.
 
I hope I'm not getting sick. I don't usually get sick. I got my flu shot and covid shot.
Yesterday after work at 4:00pm, I could have fallen asleep at my desk, and then had to stay up another 3 hours to give Jackson his shot. Then I was woken up all night last night coughing with a tickle cough, and today I am coughing and sneezing.
Maybe it's just the combination stress of Jackson, and ketones and him not peeing in front of me, and the lack of sleep, and being without my car of 5 days, and freezing weather (it was a feels like of -5 this morning).
I think of how in May I will reach full retirement age, and that I could sleep whenever I want in the day time if I retired, BUT I do plan to keep working. We'll see.
 
With a PMPS of 499, I had to increase his dose tonight.
I hope it's not the "high before the break" but that's a high number.

Luckily he peed just about an hour ago and urine ketones are negative.

I have set an alarm for +2.5 (9:00pm) and +4.5 (11:00pm).
 
Good luck with the increase, Dyana. Come on Jackson, time to start working that juice. Hard to see what he’d be bouncing from, right now he’s just looks comfy in those higher numbers. I always used to say with Mav that waiting for some action was like watching paint dry :p
 
I have set an alarm for +2.5 (9:00pm) and +4.5 (11:00pm).
I somehow turned off both alarms without waking up. And, I updated my iphone just a day ago and it now requires a touch and slide feature to turn it off.
I don't remember the alarms going off at all.
I woke up without any alarms at 2:00am and fed him twice (two 1/2 cans of FF).
I then tested the alarm again, and it seemed not very loud again.
 
Friday - AMPS 357
Urine ketones negative.

I had an alarm set for 9:00pm and 11:00pm last night and I woke up at 2:00am to my phone screen showing an alarm going off with the big orange Snooze button lit up, but complete silence... no sound. I tested it by setting a new alarm and it went off just fine. Maybe, it stops making noise after so many hours of not being responded to?
 
Question: Has anyone seen a cat like this before that just stays in the same numbers no matter what the dose?
AMPS 357, 5.5 354, PMPS 345
He had some yellow number before he started insulin, and now is at 2.5 units.
 
Saturday - AMPS 356
Urine ketones negative.

I bought some chicken thighs and boiled them last night and fed some to the cats after their regular dinner.
Then I slept all night and did not test. I know I'm bad.
Today, I plan on sleeping as much as I can.
Tomorrow, since I work from home, I may be one of the few "at work", so it may be a crazy long day for me.
Yesterday, I went and bought another lantern and batteries, and some hand warmers, in case we loose electricity tomorrow.
 
So, I didn't sleep today. :rolleyes:


I am as ready as I can be for the snow / ice storm tomorrow and Monday.
One great thing and a big relief is that I found a high school kid that will clean my car and my parking spot of ice and snow sometime on Monday or Tuesday after the storm.
I filled my car with gas, in case we loose power and all of us (me and my cats) have to sit in the running car with the heater going. I googled if I can light my gas stove with a match, and I think I can, should I need coffee. I had my tire pressure checked and fixed, and then I went to Tractor Supply to buy some bird food (fruit and nuts) to put out on my deck with a bowl of water for the critters (if they come).

One thing I found cute about Jackson, is that he knows the words "food" and "treats" so well. Maybe, I already mentioned this.. but he was sleeping and I tested it: I said in a low voice "treats" and instantly he woke up and turned his head and looked at me.
I tested it again when he was sleeping and said in a whisper "treats" and again he instantly woke up and looked at me. Does he read my mind or know the words? Lol
I always thought Ginger read my mind. Such a "smart" intuitive girl, she was 😥 tears.
 
PMPS 363 at +11.5 363
My thermestat is at 70, but it feels like -30 close to the windows.
I fed the kitties some of the chickon thighs, but they only ate a bit of if.
On to Fancy to Feast. and God Bless to and all creatures (not and human)
who feel cold tonight to get through this storm.
 
Back
Top