Andrea Bruesch
Member Since 2020
Hi. I could use a bit of advice. I was really good at keeping his spreadsheet up and doing curves but then the last few weeks I haven't done the best.
A bit of history: Jack was on 7 units of Lantus when we switched him from CD to DM/ fancy feast/ Wellness pates. He eats what I have on hand currently. He has a history of stones so I was worried I needed to feed him the DM. After a transition week of 1/2 CD and 1/2 DM his numbers looked good - January 18th. Then after a week of being on the DM completely did another curve and his numbers were lower - January 25th.
Vet advised to go to 5 units. This seemed ok at first until February 2nd. He was lethargic in the afternoons and I checked and sure enough he was falling into the 60s. I was concerned and called the vet because that evening his BG was 100 and I didn't feel I could give his shot. Vet told me his numbers were not in the context of a curve so they didn't have any meaning and if he eats give him the shot and if he doesn't give half the dose. Jack had NO APPETITE this night and so I skipped the shot. I was so worried.
I halved his dose for a few days and then based on some other advice went to 1 unit and worked up every 6 cycles to where we are now. I am realizing I should have done a proper curve before moving him from 2.5 to 3.
Yesterday Jack's BG went down all day. He again had NO APPETITE and we were concerned. my husband gave him some icecream to see if he would injest anything and his BG spiked to 500 and so I gave him 2 units. Today his appetite seemed improved. I am thinking he had too much insulin maybe. I am thinking I should go back to 2.5 tonight?
A bit of history: Jack was on 7 units of Lantus when we switched him from CD to DM/ fancy feast/ Wellness pates. He eats what I have on hand currently. He has a history of stones so I was worried I needed to feed him the DM. After a transition week of 1/2 CD and 1/2 DM his numbers looked good - January 18th. Then after a week of being on the DM completely did another curve and his numbers were lower - January 25th.
Vet advised to go to 5 units. This seemed ok at first until February 2nd. He was lethargic in the afternoons and I checked and sure enough he was falling into the 60s. I was concerned and called the vet because that evening his BG was 100 and I didn't feel I could give his shot. Vet told me his numbers were not in the context of a curve so they didn't have any meaning and if he eats give him the shot and if he doesn't give half the dose. Jack had NO APPETITE this night and so I skipped the shot. I was so worried.
I halved his dose for a few days and then based on some other advice went to 1 unit and worked up every 6 cycles to where we are now. I am realizing I should have done a proper curve before moving him from 2.5 to 3.
Yesterday Jack's BG went down all day. He again had NO APPETITE and we were concerned. my husband gave him some icecream to see if he would injest anything and his BG spiked to 500 and so I gave him 2 units. Today his appetite seemed improved. I am thinking he had too much insulin maybe. I am thinking I should go back to 2.5 tonight?